SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2018, 03:53 PM
bclenney bclenney is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 164
FireTV Recast

So, this is a new thing...

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074J1GPB8/?tag=aftvn-20&th=1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2018, 06:12 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,075
Just saw that this evening, along with the upcoming Echo Auto (voice commands for inside the car through your phone).

Looks like a really viable option for folks like me who are primarily OTA. If you have Echoes or other Amazon devices, you can control your playback to any video device with either the Amazon video app, or a Fire TV/stick.

I could see this some day replacing Sage in our house (or some similar thing by another brand which will likely follow if this shows any success)...

Limits/questions I see:
- You can only watch two shows at once. With Sage you can watch on more than two extenders/locations at once.

- It would be nice if it could be tied into a home network and access locally-stored media (there's not really any word on any network compatibility, that I can see).

- Does this box have hard drives in it or is it saving everything in the cloud? It doesn't say. It's tied to the internet with an ethernet port so it would have a fast wired connection for streaming out, but this could also be for uploading recordings to the cloud if that's what they are doing.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2018, 04:29 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,580
I guess it competition for TabloTV.
https://www.tablotv.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2018, 12:32 PM
bclenney bclenney is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 164
Internal hard drive. More tech info here: http://www.aftvnews.com/video-record...ire-tv-recast/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2018, 08:09 AM
bclenney bclenney is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 164
I wish it could take external drive space.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2018, 05:26 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I guess it competition for TabloTV.
https://www.tablotv.com/
Haha I think TabloTV has all ready won this round
Watch and record up to four shows at once.
Stream to up to six devices at once.
Up to 8TB
Now has 5.1 Surround
vs
Record up to four shows at once.
Stream to up to 2 devices at once.
500GB 2 tuner or 1TB with 4 tuner model

Quote:
Originally Posted by bclenney View Post
I wish it could take external drive space.
Your still better off building your own PC and SageTV will still rain king over all of the other DVR out there and yes know it cost more
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2018, 09:53 AM
patja's Avatar
patja patja is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 94
I am assuming these have zero capabilities in the way of automatic commercial skipping.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-25-2018, 09:01 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Haha I think TabloTV has all ready won this round
Watch and record up to four shows at once.
Stream to up to six devices at once.
Up to 8TB
Now has 5.1 Surround
vs
Record up to four shows at once.
Stream to up to 2 devices at once.
500GB 2 tuner or 1TB with 4 tuner model


Your still better off building your own PC and SageTV will still rain king over all of the other DVR out there and yes know it cost more
All true for folks like us but the average consumer wants to plug it in, turn it on, set it up, and have it work flawlessly within their Amazon ecosystem without needing any tech knowledge whatsoever.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-26-2018, 03:56 PM
bclenney bclenney is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 164
More news regarding the device - external USB storage support is on the way too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android client on FireTV stick? wayner SageTV Clients Development 8 07-30-2018 11:59 AM
Getting IJK player working in Miniclient on FireTV WellThen SageTV Clients Development 1 01-22-2017 07:58 PM
4k FireTV $99 Wayneb General Discussion 2 10-06-2015 01:24 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.