SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #61  
Old 10-31-2017, 02:39 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Ok folk the next update SageTV builder we get will address the missing Audio pins with in SageTV for HD-PVR 2 and Colossus 2 like HDMI+S/PDIF and HDMI+LineIN (Analog Stereo) that are missing.
This sounds like good news. I'm assuming "next update SageTV builder " is the next general release of open-source SageTV (Client, Placeshifter, and full) on bintray.com. (currently 9.1.7, so maybe this would be found in 9.1.8?)

By "missing audio pins" you mean the AudioInputPin value that today has to be set using RegEdit, using undocumented values like 6. The new SageTV update will provide a Setup setting to configure it? That would be fantastic!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
Note: HDMI+HDMI Audio can't record AC3 "Dolby Digital 2.0 and 5.1" as there no onboard Dolby Digital Live or Encoder to do this only AAC Stereo is support.
So that is a limitation of the HD-PVR 2 setting with HDMI+HDMI (meaning Video In on HDMI, and Audio In on HDMI)? Can it be avoided by using the Video In on HDMI, and Audio In on optical SPDIF? What is the AudioInputPin value for optical SPDIF?
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.7 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10-31-2017, 03:34 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
This sounds like good news. I'm assuming "next update SageTV builder " is the next general release of open-source SageTV (Client, Placeshifter, and full) on bintray.com. (currently 9.1.7, so maybe this would be found in 9.1.8?)
My code changes have already been pulled into the GitHub repository. You should see them in the next version AFTER v9.1.7.581, whatever that gets numbered.

Quote:
By "missing audio pins" you mean the AudioInputPin value that today has to be set using RegEdit, using undocumented values like 6. The new SageTV update will provide a Setup setting to configure it? That would be fantastic!
That's correct. There will no longer be a need to manually edit the registry in order to select audio inputs. You'll be able to select audio & video inputs from within Sage itself.

Quote:
So that is a limitation of the HD-PVR 2 setting with HDMI+HDMI (meaning Video In on HDMI, and Audio In on HDMI)? Can it be avoided by using the Video In on HDMI, and Audio In on optical SPDIF? What is the AudioInputPin value for optical SPDIF?
I'll let SHS respond to this question.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 1.5TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ATSC: HVR2250; Time Warner Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 10-31-2017, 05:01 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
So that is a limitation of the HD-PVR 2 setting with HDMI+HDMI (meaning Video In on HDMI, and Audio In on HDMI)? Can it be avoided by using the Video In on HDMI, and Audio In on optical SPDIF? What is the AudioInputPin value for optical SPDIF?
The limitation with Video In on HDMI, and Audio In on HDMI with SageTV HDMI option only give you only Stereo no AC3 for that you must use HDMI+SPDIF option if want AC3 support and as I said you must change isAC3enabled to enable it.
See screenshot
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (299.4 KB, 35 views)
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 11-01-2017, 08:56 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 595
I guess my response more accurately should have been, this won't fix the HD300 issues with some channels not recording audio correctly, even if you use HDMI video and SPDIF audio, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 11-01-2017, 09:12 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil_Attorney View Post
I guess my response more accurately should have been, this won't fix the HD300 issues with some channels not recording audio correctly, even if you use HDMI video and SPDIF audio, correct?
If all ready having that problem HDMI video and SPDIF audio then that correct Evil_Attorney it will not fix this with HD300 issues

Last edited by SHS; 11-01-2017 at 09:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 03-19-2018, 07:25 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,165
Check this out MythTV Hauppauge HD-PVR2 / Colossus2 support
https://github.com/jpoet/HauppaugeUSB
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 03-20-2018, 09:31 AM
Evil_Attorney's Avatar
Evil_Attorney Evil_Attorney is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 595
Interesting. I wonder if it can handle the audio issues better than Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 03-20-2018, 12:09 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,471
I wonder if this could be added to the unRAID DVB builds for the SageTV docker under unRAID?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 04-21-2018, 09:46 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,968
Can someone please expand on the HDMI + SPDIF problems when playing back on an HD300 for example? What exactly happens, do you just lose all audio suddenly, or is there static, or else? Does the problem only occur on some channels?

I just set up an HDPVR2 GE Plus (the one with SPDIF) and I'm successfully watching TV on an HD300 at 1080p and 5.1 channel Dolby Digital audio. The picture is definitely sharper than the 1080i I was feeding an HDPVR 1212 via component. I do see there are now settings in Hauppauge Capture software that allow customization of how to handle multiple audio streams, not sure if that helps/hurts the issue.

My TV source is not a set-top-box, but rather an Xbox 360 using EnterNoEscape's Windows Live TV Tuner. I do have an older version of SageTV V9, where HDMI+SPDIF was not an option when first setting up the tuner, so I selected straight up HDMI and then made the tweaks that SHS mentioned in his first post.

Either this is working just fine now, or the problem will raise its head at some point in the future. Anyone that has an thoughts or comments, please chime in, because I'd like to get a second HDPVR2 running on this system and ditch my older HDPVR1212's.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 04-23-2018, 08:12 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,165
Maybe just dumb luck KryptoNyte
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 04-23-2018, 10:12 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,968
I was eventually able to reproduce the dropped audio issue, I'm not sure why I didn't see it right away. Watching live TV is a problem - in other words, selecting SageTV's "Watch Live TV" from the root TV menu, or selecting a program directly in the program guide and "watch now." The fortunate thing is that it only happens when you're right there (never a problem on scheduled recordings), so to avoid the dropped audio, I am able to pick a program in the guide like I normally would and then tell it to "record," and then start watching the recording about 10 seconds later.

I'm very pleased with the picture and the audio, pleased enough that this minor issue won't be a problem, even for "live" TV.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 04-27-2018, 10:07 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 307
I don't have an HD-PVR 2 but I do have a Colossus. On very long recordings (sporting events) the audio would become desynchronized. I verified this would occur either recording through Sage or recording through the Hauppauge recording software.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 04-27-2018, 05:17 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,968
I've had the same experience with the Colossus, and more so with the unreliability of recordings over a few days. I have not had the audio sync problems with the HDPVR2's, or the other unreliability that I had with the Colossus.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newer model of HDHomerun TechBill Hardware Support 1 11-09-2013 12:15 PM
Nvidia 120+Hz on newer TVs AWS Hardware Support 5 09-29-2010 04:35 PM
HD-PVR Cannot rollback to 1.0.5.301 with newer units sportera Hardware Support 10 12-26-2009 02:01 PM
Newer MVP's With Digital Out? Taddeusz SageTV Media Extender 18 04-30-2007 09:09 AM
v6.0.14 overwrites newer files? Patilan SageTV Beta Test Software 3 11-14-2006 06:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.