SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2010, 08:09 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
HD300 wake on lan

Any chance of getting WOL for the HD200 or does it require hardware than only the HD300 has? If it's just code, can it be ported to the HD200 firmware?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2010, 03:29 PM
RocKKer RocKKer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 196
Would this work?

Run from the server or somewhere else on your network.
__________________
SageTV Server v9.2.2, Ubuntu Server 18.04.4 x64, Java 1.8.0_252, Xeon E5-2690, 32GB, 6X6TB WD Red - Software Raid 6, 2X HDHR3 (OTA), 3X HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2010, 03:50 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocKKer View Post
Would this work?

Run from the server or somewhere else on your network.
Hmm. Thanks for the reply, but that's not really what I'm trying to do. I guess I could have been a bit more descriptive.

What I'd like to do is be able to have my sage server put itself to sleep when it's not doing anything but have the ability to have the hd200 wake it up when I power on the hd200. I think the hd300 can do this and am wondering if they can port that code to the hd200.

I've also seen the program/service that looks for the extenders to power on and send the WOL to the sage server. The problem with that method is that it needs an always-on pc and I'm trying to get away from that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2010, 05:23 PM
RocKKer RocKKer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 196
Gotcha, I understand now.
__________________
SageTV Server v9.2.2, Ubuntu Server 18.04.4 x64, Java 1.8.0_252, Xeon E5-2690, 32GB, 6X6TB WD Red - Software Raid 6, 2X HDHR3 (OTA), 3X HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-2010, 01:54 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,252
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
The GNU wol command is very small and should be easy to implement. I'd like to understand why they can't.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-2010, 03:41 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
I've sent an email to support and hope to get an official answer soon.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-10-2010, 01:35 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
Did you hear anything back?
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2010, 08:05 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
I've been out for a bit and hadn't gotten a chance to post. Here's the reply:

Quote:
Unfortunately that is not currently supported on the HD200. I don't know
if/when it will have that support. I will pass this along as a suggestion to
the developers.

Thanks,

George Oms
SageTV, LLC
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-11-2010, 05:00 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
OK thanks, hopefully they can add this to HD100 & HD200
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-02-2013, 10:50 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
I've been out for a bit and hadn't gotten a chance to post. Here's the reply:
did you ever find a way to make the HD200's send a wake up command, or did Sage get sold before this ever got done....
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-02-2013, 11:16 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,755
I never found a solution to this, but when I was using the HD200's, I found a WOL app for my Android phone and was able to wake the server. It wasn't what I'd call elegant, but it worked. It was also fairly handy in testing the WOL capability of the server.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-02-2013, 11:32 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I never found a solution to this, but when I was using the HD200's, I found a WOL app for my Android phone and was able to wake the server. It wasn't what I'd call elegant, but it worked. It was also fairly handy in testing the WOL capability of the server.
cool...I use android phone. better than nothing...do you have the app name handy?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-03-2013, 04:20 AM
routerunner's Avatar
routerunner routerunner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I never found a solution to this, but when I was using the HD200's, I found a WOL app for my Android phone and was able to wake the server. It wasn't what I'd call elegant, but it worked. It was also fairly handy in testing the WOL capability of the server.
If you're currently using the Logitech Squeezebox way to listen to music, you might like to know that I've implemented WOL magic packets support to all extenders (MediaMVP inclusive) as part of the Squeezeslave project.

Cheers
Eddy
__________________

Automatic Power Off | Squeezeslave | DVB-S Importer | DVB Decrypter & Card Client | Tuner Preroll


Every man is a damn fool for at least five minutes every day; wisdom consists in not exceeding the limit. ~ Elbert Hubbard
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-03-2013, 06:35 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,755
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
cool...I use android phone. better than nothing...do you have the app name handy?
There are quite a few available. I think it was the first hit in the Google Play search for Wake on Lan:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...roid.wakeonlan
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-03-2013, 06:36 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,755
Quote:
Originally Posted by routerunner View Post
If you're currently using the Logitech Squeezebox way to listen to music, you might like to know that I've implemented WOL magic packets support to all extenders (MediaMVP inclusive) as part of the Squeezeslave project.

Cheers
Eddy
Thanks, Eddy. That's a slick feature.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300? jpaddock3000 General Discussion 64 07-04-2010 06:16 PM
Wake on LAN / EPG updates? Dingdul SageTV Beta Test Software 1 05-31-2010 08:12 PM
HD-200: Wake On Lan or similar? Moskus SageTV Media Extender 4 05-03-2009 07:55 AM
STX-HD100 wake on lan? Skybolt SageTV Media Extender 10 01-30-2009 02:04 PM
Client issues. shuttering frames on wireless lan not wierd lan IKK SageTV Software 8 01-17-2004 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.