SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2020, 04:23 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,258
SageTV & Sling TV?

Not familiar with Sling but is there a means of integrating with SageTV?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2020, 07:07 PM
Wayneb Wayneb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 32
There might be if there is a way to use .m3u streams, I have Channels DVR and I insert the Channels I want from Channels DVR into NextPVR so I can use them with Kodi and the NextPVR client.

Channels DVR supports TVE and I believe Sling TV is one that might work with TVE (TV everywhere), Channels has a 30 day trial and then it is $80 a year.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2020, 06:28 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,792
There are two ways to integrate Sling.

- Put the output of a Sage Extender into Sling. This lets you Placeshift anything that the Extender can play. The advantage over using SageTV Placeshifter is that there is less playing around with firewalls and you can play back on other devices like phones and tablets. SageTV Placeshifter also struggles with 1080i content.

- Use Sling as a capture device to take the AV coming over HDMI and save the content into a video file. I believe that this should work as well but you may need something like OpenDCT. I think there are threads here about doing this.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2020, 10:57 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,113
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
There are two ways to integrate Sling.

- Put the output of a Sage Extender into Sling. This lets you Placeshift anything that the Extender can play. The advantage over using SageTV Placeshifter is that there is less playing around with firewalls and you can play back on other devices like phones and tablets. SageTV Placeshifter also struggles with 1080i content.

- Use Sling as a capture device to take the AV coming over HDMI and save the content into a video file. I believe that this should work as well but you may need something like OpenDCT. I think there are threads here about doing this.
Are you thinking of the DirecTV Slingbox and not the streaming service Sling TV?

(side note, I have always been amazed that the FTC let both exist with their names)
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-11-2020, 11:36 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,258
Sling TV and if there was a way to get "recordings" from it into SageTV.
Preferably if there was a way to schedule from within Sage.

Just trying to think of alternate options that might be available for "cable" news (CNN/FNC) without Satellite or Cable along with a small amount of channels potentially.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-11-2020, 11:38 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,792
I am referring to Slingbox. I am pretty sure that it is the same company (or was the same company) so I guess that is why the FCC keeps the names the same.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2020, 11:18 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayneb View Post
There might be if there is a way to use .m3u streams, I have Channels DVR and I insert the Channels I want from Channels DVR into NextPVR so I can use them with Kodi and the NextPVR client.

Channels DVR supports TVE and I believe Sling TV is one that might work with TVE (TV everywhere), Channels has a 30 day trial and then it is $80 a year.
I did the same with EMBY ... I too have a Channels DVR subscription. I guess SageTV cannot accept m3u as a tuner. SlingTV does work with TVE in Channels.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2020, 08:38 AM
Wayneb Wayneb is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I guess SageTV cannot accept m3u as a tuner. SlingTV does work with TVE in Channels.
That is unfortunate, being able to use m3u streams is a great feature.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-13-2020, 09:01 AM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wayneb View Post
That is unfortunate, being able to use m3u streams is a great feature.
I believe this is possible with opendct. m3u8 does not work, but I think m3u does.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-13-2020, 03:53 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
I believe this is possible with opendct. m3u8 does not work, but I think m3u does.
Does anyone know how to do this in opendct.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sling TV hardware deals Dargason The SageTV Community 0 03-03-2016 01:40 PM
Sling TV and PlayLater wayner General Discussion 19 07-17-2015 09:05 AM
New Sling Device possible way to get HD to our SageTV box?? m1abrams General Discussion 7 01-06-2008 09:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.