SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2009, 06:02 PM
Deuce24 Deuce24 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
HD200 and Blu-Ray playback?

Hey all, my intention is to run a Windows Home Server machine with an internal SATA Blu-ray player connected directly to the HD200. If I just share the Blu-ray drive over the network is the HD200 capable of just using it to stream/playback without me actually copying/converting the file to the hard drive first? This would be ideal just to pop in a disc and watch it without having to convert it all.

Also is this possible for standard DVD playback as well, sharing the drive over the network for SD DVDs?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-24-2009, 06:11 PM
HawgGuy's Avatar
HawgGuy HawgGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: west texas
Posts: 513
If the media is not copy protected, you can browse to the DVD and play the VIDEO_TS folder or browse to the STREAM folder of a BR disc and play the largest *.m2ts file.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-24-2009, 06:29 PM
Deuce24 Deuce24 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks for the reply Hawg. I have never burned Blu-Ray media before, but I want to make backups of my collection to WHS and not have to deal with pulling them out, but still want the capability to use standard "insert disc, watch movie" functionality.

I have AnyDVD HD, which removes the encryption. Is the largest .m2ts file always the entire movie file?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-24-2009, 09:39 PM
toony toony is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawgGuy View Post
If the media is not copy protected, you can browse to the DVD and play the VIDEO_TS folder or browse to the STREAM folder of a BR disc and play the largest *.m2ts file.
I thought this only applies to DVD's not bluray, though you did say no copy protection so that may change things. It is my understanding there is no support for bluray at all... plus the bluray folders do not have video_ts folder the m2ts files are in the stream folder.

The only way to watch bluray is to backup and do ones magic with the m2ts file, copy that to the server and play away.
__________________


2xhd300

Last edited by toony; 02-24-2009 at 09:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-24-2009, 09:46 PM
toony toony is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deuce24 View Post
I have AnyDVD HD, which removes the encryption. Is the largest .m2ts file always the entire movie file?
Although usually the largest m2ts file is the entire movie, sometimes it's not. In the case of movies with extended play and theatrical release versions, also the odd movie, you will have to append the m2ts files together, you can do this in anydvd.

use a program like BDinfo, it will show you what m2ts files on a disc make up the main movie.
__________________


2xhd300
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:14 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
HawgGuy has this one absolutely correct. You set up the blu-ray drive on the Sage server as a shared drive, browse to the drive and to the subfolder containing the m2ts files, pick one and play.

For movies with seamless branching (multi m2ts files used to build the movie) you would have to play each seperately. Like if you were to go to the DVD video_ts folder and play each vob file seperately).

You need any dvd hd software loaded and resident. But no copying is required.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:25 PM
jkohn jkohn is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 234
But I'm guessing the HD200 cannot bitstream the high-res formats over HDMI, or can it? It would be a bummer to be stuck with compressed audio...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-24-2009, 10:36 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkohn View Post
But I'm guessing the HD200 cannot bitstream the high-res formats over HDMI, or can it? It would be a bummer to be stuck with compressed audio...
The HD-200 seems to default to the first audio track it can understand. If there's an AC3 track that's what plays. DTS gets passed through though. As far as True HD and DTS HD (if they were the only audio streams) you would probably get no sound at all.

Hopefully that will change to at least pass thru for the HiDef audio streams, if it hasn't already.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT

Last edited by HelenWeathers; 02-24-2009 at 10:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-25-2009, 08:03 AM
Beefcake550 Beefcake550 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 706
If the first audio track is truHD with a DD5.1 core, it will play the core. Likewise for DTS-MA. Unfortunately, an LPCM track gets you 2.0 stereo. All this is out the HDMI or SPDIF. If using stereo outs, I'm not sure what happens, but it ain't pretty....I think onyl DD5.1 core would work sicne the HD200 can decode that.

I ALWAYS take the HD audio track and create an AC3 5.1 track from it using eac3to. I make it the first audio track and the HD200 couldn't be happier. My PCH A-110 can bitstream the HD audio track, so I make that track 2 and life is good.

-Brian
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-25-2009, 08:29 AM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Thanks for posting this info, Beekcake550. I was unsure about the passthrough, as I don't have any of mine hooked up to an amp yet (TVs only).

EDIT: With DTS (any version) I get video but no audio from the stereo outs.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT

Last edited by HelenWeathers; 02-25-2009 at 08:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-25-2009, 12:14 PM
Clift Clift is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
HawgGuy has this one absolutely correct. You set up the blu-ray drive on the Sage server as a shared drive, browse to the drive and to the subfolder containing the m2ts files, pick one and play.

For movies with seamless branching (multi m2ts files used to build the movie) you would have to play each seperately. Like if you were to go to the DVD video_ts folder and play each vob file seperately).

You need any dvd hd software loaded and resident. But no copying is required.
Couldn't you just create a playlist for all those files?
__________________
Server:W7 Ultimate, SageTV 7.1.9
Capture Devices: HVR-2250, 2x HD PVR 1212
Clients:
1x STX-HD100
3x STP-HD200
@cliftpompee
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-25-2009, 12:33 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clift View Post
Couldn't you just create a playlist for all those files?
Or use eac3to to stitch them all back together for you.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-25-2009, 12:35 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Or use TSMuxer to stich them all back together.

EDIT: OOps taddeusz: you beat me to it.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-25-2009, 12:37 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clift View Post
Couldn't you just create a playlist for all those files?
You could, but you have to figure out what they are. In the case of something like Hancock, it's easilly 10-20 ts files. And I doubt Sage plays a playlist as smoothly as you'd get if you used an external app to stitch them together.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-25-2009, 01:41 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Blu-ray support is getting better and better:

http://forums.freytechnologies.com/f...ad.php?t=39920

Thank you SageTV.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-25-2009, 02:03 PM
S_M_E S_M_E is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by HelenWeathers View Post
Blu-ray support is getting better and better:

http://forums.freytechnologies.com/f...ad.php?t=39920

Thank you SageTV.
I noticed that but I wonder why it's only supported in the extenders not the server, client or placeshifter?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-25-2009, 02:20 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_M_E View Post
I noticed that but I wonder why it's only supported in the extenders not the server, client or placeshifter?
The HD-200 support gives me reason for optimism. At the very least, we now know that Blu-ray is being worked on actively.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-25-2009, 02:25 PM
evilpenguin's Avatar
evilpenguin evilpenguin is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_M_E View Post
I noticed that but I wonder why it's only supported in the extenders not the server, client or placeshifter?
This is something that I was worried would start happening when first released the extender. From a development perspective its orders of magnitude easier for them to implement a new feature on an HDextender where they have complete control over the hardware/software vs. a user environment where they're at the mercy of wide variety of software/hardware configurations.

Hopefully (for other people, not me. I'm all about the extenders ), this isn't a move in the direction of creating features only supported by extenders but rather just them having finished the extender implementation before the other platforms and deciding to release it now rather than making people wait while they finish the mac/linux/windows work which I imagine is much more complex.

Last edited by evilpenguin; 02-25-2009 at 02:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-25-2009, 02:47 PM
S_M_E S_M_E is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
Oh, I'm also optimistic and ep's comment about controlling the HW/SW so it's easier to finish first makes sense too. I just figured that the extender is basically a placeshifter which is almost the same as the client so I figured they'd all be just as easy as the extender. The difference being that the server/client/placeshifter would require the right decoder(s)/renderer(s) in order to work since they don't have control over that. They may very well add support for other players in later betas. I still haven't taken the BR plunge but until they offer BDMV support for clients, I'll still have to rip them to something that is supported until they do.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-25-2009, 04:55 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_M_E View Post
I noticed that but I wonder why it's only supported in the extenders not the server, client or placeshifter?
Probably because there's an utter lack of Directshow support for Blu-ray features on the PC (lets be clear that Placeshifter doesn't support DVDs either, AFAIK).

I don't know if Sage can snag libraries for Blu-ray play back from the Sigma dev kit for the SOC their using, or if it's just a matter that the extender's architecture is just easier. But on the PC, Sage would basically have to write a Directshow Blu-ray splitter/navigator.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD or Blu-ray Digital Copy Playback PLC101MAN SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 4 02-10-2009 02:21 PM
Playback of blu-ray rips via the extender and how it works for you Deacon Crusher SageTV Media Extender 1 10-16-2008 03:47 PM
Full Blu-Ray disc playback solutions? Halstead SageTV Customizations 2 08-08-2008 07:57 AM
Does SageTV support playback of Blu-Ray DVDs? ptaylor SageTV Software 2 07-23-2008 10:37 AM
Playback of blu-ray backups Muchacho SageTV Media Extender 5 12-30-2007 01:55 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.