SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #201  
Old 04-26-2009, 08:03 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by rerooks View Post
So, somehow it is partially working. Any thoughts?
It's working as designed. With the phoenix API's the fanart folder structure was changed.

For TV Shows:
Code:
\CENTRAL_FANART_FOLDER\TV\SHOW_NAME\
Under SHOW_NAME can be three folders (backgrounds, banners, posters). The actual filename for the background/banner/poster(coverart) doesn't matter it just needs to be in the right directory (aka in your case with your background drop your "The Office.jpg" into the ..\backgrounds directory and all is well with the world.

PS - There is a script somewhere around here that automates converting the "old style" layout to the new layout.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 04-26-2009, 08:33 PM
rerooks rerooks is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 153
Okay, I was confused. I THOUGHT that the original format was that the fanart file was stored in the recording directories along with the recordings and the new directory structure was a central location under TV, Movies, and Music with the filename the same as the showname. Was I wrong, or is what you describe a third directory structure?

Also, I have noticed that BMT only seems to find TV shows that I have recorded, not movies that I have recorded off the air. Is this tool only for TV shows?

One more question...and I think I have read this...there currently is not a completely automated way to get cover art, right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
It's working as designed. With the phoenix API's the fanart folder structure was changed.

For TV Shows:
Code:
\CENTRAL_FANART_FOLDER\TV\SHOW_NAME\
Under SHOW_NAME can be three folders (backgrounds, banners, posters). The actual filename for the background/banner/poster(coverart) doesn't matter it just needs to be in the right directory (aka in your case with your background drop your "The Office.jpg" into the ..\backgrounds directory and all is well with the world.

PS - There is a script somewhere around here that automates converting the "old style" layout to the new layout.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 04-26-2009, 09:09 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by rerooks View Post
Okay, I was confused. I THOUGHT that the original format was that the fanart file was stored in the recording directories along with the recordings and the new directory structure was a central location under TV, Movies, and Music with the filename the same as the showname. Was I wrong, or is what you describe a third directory structure?
I didn't use the first fanart format so I can't comment definitively on what it was before. I think you could have fanart either centrally (centralfanart\SHOW_NAME.jpg) or with the recording but am not sure. I believe the old folder formats have been depreciated and the new format (described in my last post) is the only place fanart can be stored.
Quote:
Also, I have noticed that BMT only seems to find TV shows that I have recorded, not movies that I have recorded off the air. Is this tool only for TV shows?
not sure about movies off the air (i don't have any) but it does work for videos (imported dvds/videos/bluray). I would check out the bmt thread: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34301
Quote:
One more question...and I think I have read this...there currently is not a completely automated way to get cover art, right?
Some people have been having issues with turning the automatic fanart features of the BMT plugin on but other people use it successfully. Personally i have been using BMT from the command line or the manual search from within sagemc.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 04-26-2009, 10:39 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
I'll be updating the first post of this thread soon - hopefully with some useful information as the fanart methods have changed quite a bit (thanks to the great work of our 3rd party developers) and there are multiple ways to accomplish the task. Stay tuned
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 05-01-2009, 12:59 PM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 919
I'll be waiting for that update! I can't for the life of me figure out how to do this!

I'm using MC_6_3_9a_23 with sage 6.5.9.204. I've manually downloaded
a jpg for the dark knight. I've called it "The Dark Knight.jpg", "The_Dark_Knight.jpg" "Dark Knight.jpg" "TheDarkKnight.jpg"

All were put in g:\centralfanart and in g:\centralfanart\Movies. None come up.

I've set in Settings>Main>GlobalU options>Display>Fanart options>Fan Art Backgrounds - enable
and the same path Fan Art central File path specified as g:\centralfanart

Now the dvd is stored as The_Dark_Knight\Video_Ts but I've saved the IMDB info so the title shows The Dark Knight in Sage

I've been using sage forever with the Non MC version. I'm trying to play with MC to see if it's something I want to change over. (Need WAF too) I feel like such a newbie all over again!

There are so many posts!! I eventaully want to get some automatic tool working to grab the fan art! Feeling overwhelmed!

EDIT: Never mind.... I just had to go a couple posts back to see that the directory structure had changed! I put the stuff in g:\cantralfanart\Movies\The Dark Knight\backgrounds
and it worked fine! now I just have to figure out how to get the automated version to work! Maybe I'll reread this whole thread!!

Jim

Last edited by jbuszkie; 05-01-2009 at 01:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 05-01-2009, 01:15 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbuszkie View Post
now I just have to figure out how to get the automated version to work! Maybe I'll reread this whole thread!!
Check out the BMT (Batch MetadataTools) thread for automating the whole thing. sflamm wrote a pretty concise setup document (it should be linked in the first post): http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34301
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 05-01-2009, 01:19 PM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 919
I had that thread open too! I just hadn't gotten around to reading it yet! I wanted to get one to work first!

Thanks for pointing in the correct direction! now I can just read that thread!

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 05-19-2009, 12:45 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,311
any chance of there being updated fanart packs? That would really be nice.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 05-20-2009, 02:11 PM
venkman781's Avatar
venkman781 venkman781 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 8
Exclamation Banners and Recent Recordings

I've been playing around with the fanart folders and seem to have encountered a strange issue. I am using Sage v6.5.15 and SageMC 6.3.9.

When I select My TV > ShowName (under Recent Recordings), I see the banner for the show only one time. When I go back to the menu and then select the show again to see the Program Info, the banner is missing.

This is the only screen this happens on. When I select My TV > Recorded TV > ShowName, the banner appears consistently.

Any thoughts? The path is the default, not a mapped drive.
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 05-20-2009, 02:27 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
are you running the latest pre-release of SageMC (version _41)? I don't have banners enabled so I'm not sure if it happens on my system. Most of the updates lately for SageMC have been improvements to the fanart so if youre not runnign the latest pre release i would upgrade to that.
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #211  
Old 05-20-2009, 03:12 PM
venkman781's Avatar
venkman781 venkman781 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
are you running the latest pre-release of SageMC (version _41)? I don't have banners enabled so I'm not sure if it happens on my system. Most of the updates lately for SageMC have been improvements to the fanart so if youre not runnign the latest pre release i would upgrade to that.
I did the upgrade to build 41 and made sure I have the BMI 2.3.1 installed, but to no avail. It's not a huge deal, but worth mentioning if it turns out to be a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #212  
Old 05-20-2009, 03:14 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
there is a sagemc bug reporting thread around here somewhere... i would post it there
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #213  
Old 05-27-2009, 11:17 AM
tawd1992 tawd1992 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by razrsharpe View Post
It's working as designed. With the phoenix API's the fanart folder structure was changed.

For TV Shows:
Code:
\CENTRAL_FANART_FOLDER\TV\SHOW_NAME\
Under SHOW_NAME can be three folders (backgrounds, banners, posters). The actual filename for the background/banner/poster(coverart) doesn't matter it just needs to be in the right directory (aka in your case with your background drop your "The Office.jpg" into the ..\backgrounds directory and all is well with the world.
Thank you so much. The only instructions I could find must have been for the old fanart setup & that directory structure obviously didn't work. It was driving me crazy that everybody else seemed to be able to get fanart to work. Your directions worked perfectly.

Is there is a preference where you can change the resolution for fanart? I've got a little border around my fanart pictures & it doesn't matter what resolution picture I use, SageMC seems to resize the same regardless. If I could just stretch the picture out a little more that would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #214  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:06 PM
himay himay is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 26
This is a fantastic plug-in.

One question: on my server, the fanart takes up the whole background of SageMC. On my HD200, the fan art is inset, with the SageMC background visible behind it. Ostensibly, they're running the same SageMC STV version--what do I need to tweak on the HD200 to get the fanart to display in fullscreen behind videos?

Thanks in advance for anyone's help.

Himay
Reply With Quote
  #215  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:40 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by himay View Post
This is a fantastic plug-in.

One question: on my server, the fanart takes up the whole background of SageMC. On my HD200, the fan art is inset, with the SageMC background visible behind it. Ostensibly, they're running the same SageMC STV version--what do I need to tweak on the HD200 to get the fanart to display in fullscreen behind videos?

Thanks in advance for anyone's help.

Himay
i would double check your overscan settings in detailed setup of the default stv. the fanart should scale to cover the full background on the hd200
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #216  
Old 06-07-2009, 06:58 PM
himay himay is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 26
I was able to get it running by updating to the latest SageMC build--I had rebuilt my Sage server from scratch recently, didn't realize I hadn't done that.

All is well now, and thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #217  
Old 06-08-2009, 12:33 PM
rmac321 rmac321 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 194
Bump

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I'll be updating the first post of this thread soon - hopefully with some useful information as the fanart methods have changed quite a bit (thanks to the great work of our 3rd party developers) and there are multiple ways to accomplish the task. Stay tuned
Brent,

This would be such a useful update. Trying to gleen the necessary info from the very long BMT and Mediascraper threads is difficult because of all the changes that have occurred in SageMC and Phoenix in the last few months. It would be nice to have a new/updated version of your tutorial for a new Fanart install based solely on the new standards and folder structure.

Thanks in advance!
__________________
SageTV v9.1.10.479 on Ubuntu
(testing v9.1.10.479 on Debian and Win10)
Reply With Quote
  #218  
Old 08-02-2009, 08:38 PM
xxLJLxx's Avatar
xxLJLxx xxLJLxx is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 150
Help once again!

After reading and re-reading Brent's writeup and all of these posts, I still have an issue with my fanart. I am determined to get it working the simply way before I jump into automatically finding all of my fanart via BMT. I can successfully get my cover art to show for any movie but the backgrounds are whats giving me trouble. I have tried the Central directory and locally with the individual file. No luck. I'm sure it is some small mistake. Any type of help would be greatly appreciated.

I'm running -
SageTV V6.6.2.218
Java 1.6.0_14
SageMC 6.3.9a
sagemc.jar 6.3.8
df_sageutils.jar 2.2
phoenix.jar 1.38
Reply With Quote
  #219  
Old 08-29-2009, 07:55 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
xxLJLxx,
Can you tell me a little more about the issue you're having with fanart? Sorry I never got back to you on your earlier question.
Reply With Quote
  #220  
Old 08-29-2009, 07:58 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
I'll be updating the first post of this thread soon - hopefully with some useful information as the fanart methods have changed quite a bit (thanks to the great work of our 3rd party developers) and there are multiple ways to accomplish the task. Stay tuned
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmac321 View Post
Brent,

This would be such a useful update. Trying to gleen the necessary info from the very long BMT and Mediascraper threads is difficult because of all the changes that have occurred in SageMC and Phoenix in the last few months. It would be nice to have a new/updated version of your tutorial for a new Fanart install based solely on the new standards and folder structure.

Thanks in advance!
Months later I'm getting back to this. So much has changed with BMT that it makes things infintely better and will make this an easier update. Sorry for the very long delay...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage not finding XMLTV during install harryf SageTV United Kingdom 2 11-02-2008 10:29 AM
IMDB description not downloaded and Where do TV series images come from? dinki SageMC Custom Interface 9 07-28-2008 02:37 PM
Movie database images jaminben SageTV Media Extender 0 06-09-2008 05:47 AM
Background Images sagetvkid SageTV Studio 1 06-02-2006 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.