SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-04-2010, 09:43 PM
skiingwiz skiingwiz is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 357
What metadata for importing videos into TV recordings? (7.0.13)

Quote:
12. Added property "enable_converting_imported_videos_to_tv_recordings" which defaults to true. If set to false, then video files imported that have TV metadata will NOT be automatically tagged as 'TV Recordings' and will show up in the 'Imported Videos' section instead of the 'TV Recordings' section.
What metadata is required for this to work? I have tried several media files with properties files that I thought would get them into the TV Recordings, but I have had no luck so far.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2010, 09:46 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
I believe the TV metadata it refers to is the metadata added by SageTV to TV recordings it makes. If you move one of those recordings to an import directory, it will still be considered a recording even if you rename it because of the metadata inside the file.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2010, 09:49 PM
skiingwiz skiingwiz is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 357
Ah, I see. Thanks for the clarification. I misunderstood what that feature did.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-05-2010, 02:11 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
yeah, this isnt so much a new feature, but a way to disable the v7 recognition of previously recorded content. for moving non sage-tagged vids to recordings, there's still BMT or my manual move plugin.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-05-2010, 03:54 PM
mcaron1234's Avatar
mcaron1234 mcaron1234 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 110
BMT imported metadata

Will imported videos that are tv shows with metadata added to them by BMT get moved into recordings with this property in the default state?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-05-2010, 05:42 PM
skyeclad skyeclad is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NY DMA
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by skiingwiz View Post
Ah, I see. Thanks for the clarification. I misunderstood what that feature did.
Me too. I tried to rescan in hopes that it would automagically move tv shows into the SageTV recordings view.

Isn't BMT not automatically moving shows anymore?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2010, 06:35 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
BMT now has the option to move them. It was removed for a bit, because sage had a crosslinking problem. the crosslinking has been fixed, and the feature readded to bmt (in 4.3 i believe).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2010, 06:47 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcaron1234 View Post
Will imported videos that are tv shows with metadata added to them by BMT get moved into recordings with this property in the default state?
That's my question too, I want to make sure that doesn't happen (imported media in recordings list).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2010, 06:51 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
I think this has to do with the embedded metadata that sage now stores in its recordings when those files are reimported. BMT does not do this, it modifies the metadata AFTER sage has imported it. I haven't verified this, but it should be fine.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2010, 07:30 PM
skiingwiz skiingwiz is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
for moving non sage-tagged vids to recordings, there's still BMT or my manual move plugin.
Thanks, I am also looking into both of those as options.

My other thought is an STVi that would make the recording list source agnostic. (i.e. to show both recordings and imports that are marked as TV)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-05-2010, 08:19 PM
skyeclad skyeclad is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NY DMA
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
BMT now has the option to move them. It was removed for a bit, because sage had a crosslinking problem. the crosslinking has been fixed, and the feature readded to bmt (in 4.3 i believe).
Is this something one would need to enable using the webui interface? Right now I don't think it's working for me and I have 4.3.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-2010, 08:45 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Yes, the option is in the Web UI. I believe it's called Move Imported TV Shows to Sage Recordings or something like that. It won't retroactively go back and move files it's already scanned, but any future scans that are detected as TV will be moved. You can either remove your existing files, and let them get rescanned, or use my 'Move Imported TV to Sage Recordings' plugin.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-08-2010, 01:08 PM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
Enable_converting_imported_videos_to_tv_recordings Usage Question

Quote:
12. Added property "enable_converting_imported_videos_to_tv_recordings" which defaults to true. If set to false, then video files imported that have TV metadata will NOT be automatically tagged as 'TV Recordings' and will show up in the 'Imported Videos' section instead of the 'TV Recordings' section.
I've got a few questions about this new feature. Can someone tell me if I have to have the TV metadata available at the time of the import? If so, how do I do this? I'm using BMT to get meta data for recordings now.

Also, I tried doing this with converted avis from a DVD Tv series. The shows showed up in the Videos section and not TV recordings. I looked at my sage.properties on the server and did not see the "enable_converting_imported_videos_to_tv_recordings" variable at all. I am running 7.14 ..

Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

* merged; see info above *
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-08-2010, 01:38 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
There seems to be some misunderstanding about this property. It's not intended to enable new functionality. It's intended to disable new functionality instead. In V7; metadata for TV recordings is automatically inserted into the recorded files. Then if SageTV imports those files again; it would put it into the TV section. Setting this property to false will disable that functionality of automatically putting those files in the TV section. This allows moving TV recordings to the imported videos area which was requested by quite a few users.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Not importing new videos can3gxw Batch Metadata Tools 7 07-31-2010 02:22 PM
Videos metadata? aflat SageTV Beta Test Software 2 05-21-2010 07:56 AM
Confused about Creating MetaData and Importing TV Recordings Diego Garcia SageTV Customizations 1 05-07-2009 02:15 PM
Importing videos into SageTV Recordings nathanm SageTV Studio 2 12-11-2006 06:49 PM
Importing videos hoody SageTV Software 2 07-06-2004 09:38 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.