SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Mac Edition

Notices

SageTV Mac Edition Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Mac edition. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Mac edition should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2009, 04:17 PM
cnr1089 cnr1089 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 18
SageTV wake a sleeping computer to record?

If SageTV is running on a computer and it has a show scheduled to record at 8pm. Can it go to sleep safely and have SageTV wake it up to record?

I can probably figure it out faster then someone can post, but I would like to know if it is a feature of SageTV or not.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2009, 04:39 PM
cnr1089 cnr1089 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 18
Hmm, I guess not.

Set up recording for 6:30 and put computer to sleep at 6:20.

Woke it up at 6:35. It was not recording. Launched SageTV and eventually it started recording (at about 6:38).

Bummer. Need to write up a bug.

Can I write a plugin that runs native (Mac) code? If so, I could have it wake up the computer before recordings (I am 99% sure that functionality is built into Mac OS X).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2009, 07:11 PM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
I have no idea if it works on Mac, but with the PC, the wake works, however (as with most things PC) BIOS support seems to be the limiting factor.
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2009, 03:48 PM
cnr1089 cnr1089 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 18
Interesting, then it should definitely be workable on the Mac, it is just up to Sage to implement it. I guess I will file a bug.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-01-2009, 02:11 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
You said that after you woke it up, you ran the sagetv software. If sage wasn't running when it went to sleep, it's not going to be able to set the wake-up time. (wake-up event time has to be set before the computer sleeps). I don't even know if the mac version has a 'service' mode like the windows one, but if so, make sure that the service is running, or if it doens't have 'service mode', make sure SageTV is running, and try again.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2009, 08:58 PM
griley griley is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 16
I've had the same experience as cnr1089. I've made sure that the SageTV Service is set to start automatically under the "Preferences" menu and verified that the "Power Management" options in Sage are set correctly.

Sage still refuses to wakeup and record a show.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-2009, 08:27 PM
cnr1089 cnr1089 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 18
SageTV was running its server in the background (I don't need the app running for it to record). According to support, it should work. I am going to do a few more experiments to know for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-16-2010, 01:18 PM
mcbrems's Avatar
mcbrems mcbrems is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 78
SageTV wake a sleeping Mac to record?

Hey All,

(Been a while - Finally upgraded to the newest MacMini and am running Snow Leopard and the latest SageTV and SageMC release versions without issue - it rocks!)

This thread is old, but I'm "waking" it back up to inquire if there's any resolution to this issue. SageTV waking the computer for a scheduled record doesn't seem to be an issue on the PC side. Shouldn't it work correctly for the Mac? I'd like to give my brand new cooling fan and drive a rest during most days and the wee AM when nothing is scheduled. I used to leave my old Mini running 24/7 or suffer the wrath of the wife if one of her dance shows didn't record. It never got a rest and started sounding like a old Ford pickup warming up on a cold morning. The old Intel GMA ran pretty hot also, creating enough fan noise that I upgraded.

Thanks - MCB
__________________
MacMini 2GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB SDRAM OSX v10.6
Nvidia GeForce 9400M
Sony SXRD-A502000
Silicon Dust HDHomerun Dual OTA Tuner
2TB My Book External Firewire
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2011, 03:47 AM
uaflyer uaflyer is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: beansed@yahoo.com
Posts: 1
I have been looking at this for a long time.

After finding that the COMCAST DVR uses north of 40 watts, even when off.
That costs $50+ a year in electricity.

I hope someone knows if this can wake up a linux pc or laptop, as I plan to use it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-19-2011, 08:41 AM
hotwire hotwire is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 45
I'm curious about this as well. I've never tried it myself because I run SecuritySpy on the same Mac that I use as my SageTv server.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can SageTV wake itself up to record a show then return to sleep/standby? blueroom SageTV Software 16 05-20-2009 04:18 PM
Sometimes computer doesn't wake up wtsitmn SageTV Software 1 07-30-2008 09:11 PM
How do I wake my computer from standby mode. Kev SageTV Media Extender 4 04-06-2007 07:55 AM
Computer won't wake up anymore from S3 DKT Hardware Support 7 03-14-2005 04:23 PM
Haupauge remote won't wake sleeping client sometimes, and possible reason. mdmint Hardware Support 2 05-28-2004 09:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.