SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 03-10-2015, 06:23 PM
Wirenut Wirenut is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 183
big thanks!

Very good news. Very good indeed.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 03-10-2015, 06:48 PM
7up 7up is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 171
I'd love to see a SageTV server app for Synology NAS
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 03-10-2015, 06:53 PM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 391
I'm hoping that with this coming back to life that silicondust will work with us to get the cable card support. I also hope route runner can work his magic on an extender based on android or rpi if he has the code from the extenders.

Last edited by mechling-burgh; 03-10-2015 at 07:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 03-10-2015, 06:55 PM
7up 7up is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 171
Depending upon the Android device, decoding of mpeg2 may be problematic.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 03-10-2015, 07:41 PM
briands briands is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Any development I'm involved in will maintain backwards compatibility with extenders going back to the MediaMVP. There's no reason that should get broken.
snip
Welcome back Jeff - very exciting news.

Do you think there would be a way to do a builder version of an extender?
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 03-10-2015, 07:45 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
I've been playing with Plex and the Rasplex client on a Pi2, but despite all the eye candy, the one thing I've learned is nothing beats that Sigma based HD300 for video quality. If there was a way the community could continue a relationship with Sigma Designs to produce more (or newer gen ones), that would be awesome. Only after that would I care about the artwork and flash that comes with XBMC/Kodi/Plex.
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 03-10-2015, 07:57 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Thank Jeff. Excellent news.

Ditto to Valnar's last comment.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 03-10-2015, 08:23 PM
phelme's Avatar
phelme phelme is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
If we're throwing ideas around ...

Would it be possible to make SageTV natively recognize the cablecard tuners (Prime, Ceton)?
yes, as much as I appreciate everything Andy has done with SageDCT, native support would be fantastic.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 03-10-2015, 08:53 PM
mrsupport mrsupport is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: northeastern Ohio
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
I've been playing with Plex and the Rasplex client on a Pi2, but despite all the eye candy, the one thing I've learned is nothing beats that Sigma based HD300 for video quality. If there was a way the community could continue a relationship with Sigma Designs to produce more (or newer gen ones), that would be awesome. Only after that would I care about the artwork and flash that comes with XBMC/Kodi/Plex.
Count me in. I have tried many alternatives and have been unable to stop using my Sage, especially for OTA recording with 3 HDHR tuners.

Thanks for the email Valnar, it made my day.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 03-10-2015, 09:18 PM
TimmyToo TimmyToo is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
...because the extender was one of the best things about SageTV IMO.
This is so true! SageTV extenders were ahead of their time and still hold up.

I had just purchased BeyondTV in early 2007 along with the Media MVP. I was having issues getting the Media MVP to work as an extender for BeyondTV. I installed the SageTV 6 trial to see if that would work. The wow factor with SageTV running on the Media MVP converted me that day.

I still have three Media MVP's, the HD100, HD200, and a couple of HD300's. The HD300 devices get daily use in our household.
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 03-10-2015, 10:07 PM
mibsy mibsy is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 57
This is fantastic news! When I first saw that there was an announcement, I clicked on the link nervously, worried that the bad news was lurking on the pages. Then I read in disbelief the great news, first checking the calendar to see if perhaps it was the 1st of April. After the calendar disproved my original hypothesis, I pinched myself and determined that I was in fact awake.

I was recently just considering options after seeing much of the "old guard" leave or speak of imminent departure. Thanks so much to Jeff and Google for making this happen!
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 03-10-2015, 10:31 PM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,410
Aww man I carp my self today when I saw this cool
Sweet time for hacking that SageTV Box againe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
Funny that Google Fiber TV currently has a 4-box limit on TV boxes. Hmm.
Cable has a limit of 6-box limit per acct so there nothing new there

Quote:
Originally Posted by jchiso View Post
... and a Raspberry Pi client ...
There are lot of option now day unlike before a few years back
Mini PC / Thin Client / Mini / Booksize Barebone PCs

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
First thing get rid of the JAVA limitation.
Agree we really need to move it 64bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Does this mean that we will no longer need keys to run the software under the current available installers?
That right if goes Open Source in "Near" Future we will no longer need keys any more

Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
I wonder if this will mean the end of the EPG data being provided by Google?
I'm sure that will be the case but not worry there are other option as it become open-sourced there becomes non-commercial software, so it automatic qualify for schedules direct use.

Last edited by SHS; 03-10-2015 at 10:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 03-10-2015, 10:47 PM
jreichen's Avatar
jreichen jreichen is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,192
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Database was massively enhanced; biggest thing is now there's read/write locks rather than plain locks for operations so you won't get the spinny circle of death when it's doing EPG updates anymore.
Does this mean there's no more Wiz.bin?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
...because the extender was one of the best things about SageTV IMO.
No doubt!
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5 760 Quad, Gigabyte GA-H57M-USB3, 4GB RAM, Gigabyte GeForce 210, 120GB SSD (OS), 1TB SATA, HD HomeRun.
Extender: STP-HD300, Harmony 550 Remote,
Netgear MCA1001 Ethernet over Coax.
SageTV: SageTV Server 7.1.8 on Ubuntu Linux 11.04, SageTV Placeshifter for Mac 6.6.2, SageTV Client 7.0.15 for Windows, Linux Placeshifter 7.1.8 on Server and Client
, Java 1.6.
Plugins: Jetty, Nielm's Web Server, Mobile Web Interface.

Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 03-11-2015, 04:42 AM
dgeezer dgeezer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 293
This really is great news. When I first read the original post I imagined a scenario where Google would allow Jeff to release the code as it was at the time of the buyout for the community here to do with as we could. To have Jeff actively involved in releasing a newer version is Fantastic News.

Maybe, within the next few months, an Android TV box will be released with proper deinterlacing of Mpeg 1080i content. With an android SageTV client plugin this could be the "one box to rule them all" A community supported, free DVR backend could be a great addition to the Android TV experience.

Of course, my wife will probably be disapointed. Our SageTV system has been rock solid with a never changing predictable UI and no new menu items or plugins. Now I will probably start tinkering with it again.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 03-11-2015, 04:49 AM
toony toony is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 339
This is amazing news!!!

Although I recently switched to Plex, Sagetv has still been running and I use it from time to time for DVD Bluray viewing. Pled maybe simple to use and sleek looking but it's got nothing on Sage, plus I miss the tinkering to be honest.
I'm going to be coming back, can't wait!
__________________


2xhd300
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 03-11-2015, 07:23 AM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
What happen? must be real thread it's not April fools day
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 03-11-2015, 08:33 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgeezer View Post
Of course, my wife will probably be disapointed. Our SageTV system has been rock solid with a never changing predictable UI and no new menu items or plugins. Now I will probably start tinkering with it again.
(nods head and grins sheepishly)

__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 03-11-2015, 08:46 AM
daminc daminc is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 70
I knew there was a reason I came back here a couple months ago, and built a new Sage server with 3 grabber cards....
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 03-11-2015, 09:10 AM
psklenar's Avatar
psklenar psklenar is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern New England, USA
Posts: 140
Thank you for the fantastic news Jeff! I'm reallylooking forward to seeing what the community comes up with!

pat----
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 03-11-2015, 09:13 AM
waynedunham waynedunham is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,366
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobPhoenix View Post
Great news!

Some things I would like to see changed on OS version but not necessarily in this order:

  1. Fix HD200 extender so it doesn't crash when playing "XMen 1" blueray and a couple of others. I am trying a rerip on this in case it was just a bad rip but put this out if it is a real is a problem.
  2. Make it 64 bit compatible and on current java version.
  3. Allow recordings to overlap on same channel without using multiple tuners.
  4. Allow recordings on multiple channels with single tuner. I.E. OTA main channel and sub channels can be recorded at same time as well as allowing all QAM channels on same main channel to be recorded from one tuner.
  5. Remove the drive access on remote directories when browsing through recordings. I.E. don't have to spinup NAS drives on my unRAID server when browsing recordings in import directory only spins up when PLAY selected or manual/automatic scan run.
  6. Allow the replacing of the SageTV splitter on M2TS files like you can with MKV. Then I could just rip movies to folders only.
  7. Work on response time and indicators. I.E. I press a remote button multiple times when not needed sometimes because the spinning circle doesn't start up soon enough - this might be adjustable already just haven't researched it yet.
#4 should be #1!! My Comcast has several spots where multiple networks are all on the same channel/sub-subchannel! It would make some nights much easier to deal with conflicts.

I'd put the ability to overlap same channel recordings with a single tuner right up there also. A much needed fix for stupid networks that can't tell time and you end up missing the final scene of show A or the beginning of show B as it starts recording show B on the same channel/tuner. Right now there is a few seconds dropout.
__________________
Wayne Dunham
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
open source


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV Setup "Video Source Capture" Problem Mandingo609 Hardware Support 6 01-04-2011 08:05 AM
"Backdrops" "SageTV" "Covers" folders - what's creating them mp328 Sage My Movies 4 09-20-2010 05:31 PM
Can I use "Send To..." to open a file with another player? horseflesh SageMC Custom Interface 0 12-23-2008 04:23 PM
Any plan adding a ""unsupported" Closed Caption on the HD-100 in future update? TechBill SageTV Media Extender 5 08-16-2008 08:58 AM
Open "Browse - Video Menu" First lambda379 SageTV Studio 2 09-02-2007 12:37 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.