SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 09-23-2015, 06:50 AM
dinki's Avatar
dinki dinki is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 643
Sean, if you're to-do list still has some room on it, how's about a KODI PVR add on too?

I think (quite) a few of us already use the SageTV add on but having live tv on Kodi devices would help eliminate the need to run a second PVR server (I'm using nPVR). I _think_ read somewhere that KODI needs a way to connect to the PVR backend via HTTP streaming and I also _think_ I heard Jeff say that that had been added and is included in v9, but I could be sadly mistaken.

Just trying to make sure you've always got a side project to work on! Thanks for all you do.
__________________
Intel Q6600 Quad 2.4GHZ, 8GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, 1 TB of Data
SageTV 9, Silicondust HDHomeRun x2 OTA
HD200
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 09-23-2015, 07:07 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinki View Post
Sean, if you're to-do list still has some room on it, how's about a KODI PVR add on too?

I think (quite) a few of us already use the SageTV add on but having live tv on Kodi devices would help eliminate the need to run a second PVR server (I'm using nPVR). I _think_ read somewhere that KODI needs a way to connect to the PVR backend via HTTP streaming and I also _think_ I heard Jeff say that that had been added and is included in v9, but I could be sadly mistaken.

Just trying to make sure you've always got a side project to work on! Thanks for all you do.
I'll be honest, I don't see myself doing this, although it would be a good project for someone. I think SageTV, with Gemstone and/or Phoenix, is a much better system than the XBMC. I came from XBMC setup originally, and I still install it from time to time, but when I use it, I really don't find it a good experience compared to SageTV. (I think some of that is bias on my part from being immersed into SageTV for so long, but I lack any passion for XMBC/Kodi)
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 09-23-2015, 07:09 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
Secondly, is the mobile usage. This can be handled with either a native approach, in which case, it will be a separate UI, likely different between iOS and Android, due to being developed independently, and only done so because the core STV functionality lacks good touch capabilities. Personally, I'd much rather see this fixed by adding proper touch capabilities to STV than by segmenting the UI's between platform. Remember, we HAVE the core code now, so we can add new input commands. Once added to the core, it will obviously also require tweaks to the STV itself to handle those inputs, but this will allow touch capability on non-mobile (touchscreen desktops for instance) as well. It will also allow STV plugins, tweaks and improvements to be felt across the entire 'product line'.
Having looked at converting MiniClient to iOS I've been giving this a lot of thought. One of the problems I have as far as using MiniClient for mobile (e.g. iPhone & iPad) is its efficiency. Throwing a whole UI from the server is not the most efficient approach. Especially with mobile devices that unless connected to wifi have imposed data usage limitations. Not the best environment to be composing a whole UI through.

My other concern aside from data usage is latency. Users of mobile devices don't want a whole lot of latency. I see enough latency when using SageTV at home on my HD300 & HD200. I can't imagine the latency impact of running the MiniClient on a mobile device over a cellular nework. It may just border on unusable.

For these reasons I'm going to focus my efforts on a native iOS app using sagex. Video can be done somehow. I know the Mobile Web Interface does video streaming. So it is possible. I realize now this could have been done all along. I think the open sourcing of SageTV has given new life to a product on life support.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 09-23-2015, 07:37 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Having looked at converting MiniClient to iOS I've been giving this a lot of thought. One of the problems I have as far as using MiniClient for mobile (e.g. iPhone & iPad) is its efficiency. Throwing a whole UI from the server is not the most efficient approach. Especially with mobile devices that unless connected to wifi have imposed data usage limitations. Not the best environment to be composing a whole UI through.

My other concern aside from data usage is latency. Users of mobile devices don't want a whole lot of latency. I see enough latency when using SageTV at home on my HD300 & HD200. I can't imagine the latency impact of running the MiniClient on a mobile device over a cellular nework. It may just border on unusable.
I agree the latency could be an issue, for a mobile phone, although I haven't tested it yet, so I don't know what it would be like. As for the efficiency of the placeshifter protocol... I think you'd be surprised on how efficient it is. While it does render frame by frame, it is not sending entire frames, it is sending "blocks" that build up a frame, and reusing cached textures to minimize the transfers (not unlike how a native app would so the same in terms of using fanart, etc). That's why, if people have installed the Android version, they'll notice that it's sluggish initially, but it gets faster as you use it, since more of the textures are loaded and cached. That being said, I am seeing that frames with 1000s of textures (like the plugin selection screen) is really slow to render.. But it's not slow to render on the HD300, so I have to wonder what I'm doing wrong

I think a native iOS app would be good. Video playback is always going to be problematic (it was for me on the Android side), and Live TV, is especially problematic. But now that source is opened, there may be things you can do at the server level to ease those pains.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 09-27-2015, 01:14 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
I know the Mobile Web Interface does video streaming.
It does the HTTP live streaming used by Apple on iOS devices and AppleTV, though things have probably improved since the last time the project was updated...

http://sageplugins.cvs.sourceforge.n...ediaStreaming/
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 11-03-2015, 04:44 PM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Air video HD now on appletv 4
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 11-03-2015, 05:06 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by oddjob View Post
Air video HD now on appletv 4
have you tried that combo out yet?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 11-03-2015, 05:08 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Plex for Apple TV 4 is also out.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 11-03-2015, 05:33 PM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
have you tried that combo out yet?

I guess not.

I had very little time check out new toy. It's getting wrapped up for Christmas.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 11-03-2015, 05:42 PM
oddjob's Avatar
oddjob oddjob is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Plex for Apple TV 4 is also out.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 11-04-2015, 12:12 PM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 621
is it possible to integrate Sage recordings into Plex?

i spied Plex on my birthday-gift AppleTV 4 & installed it & the server application, but i am new to Plex.

I have been running Sage v6 quietly & efficiently since the google purchase, and i havent futzed with it at all, so i figure now is the time
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 11-04-2015, 01:19 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandor View Post
is it possible to integrate Sage recordings into Plex?

i spied Plex on my birthday-gift AppleTV 4 & installed it & the server application, but i am new to Plex.

I have been running Sage v6 quietly & efficiently since the google purchase, and i havent futzed with it at all, so i figure now is the time
Yes, it is. It's not really the most elegant solution. The author of the SageTV plugin is attempting to make it more flexible as far as being able to make the watched progress two-way. It still has it's limitations though.

That being said there are a couple methods of integration. The first and, IMHO, better solution is sagetv-for-plexmediacenter. Someone has also created sagetv-phoenix-plex-channel.

In my opinion the Plex channel system is quite limited. Granted, I haven't tried it in some time but the last time I gave it a whirl I felt clumsy in comparison to the scanner & agent.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 11-04-2015, 01:23 PM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Yes, it is. It's not really the most elegant solution. The author of the SageTV plugin is attempting to make it more flexible as far as being able to make the watched progress two-way. It still has it's limitations though.

That being said there are a couple methods of integration. The first and, IMHO, better solution is sagetv-for-plexmediacenter. Someone has also created sagetv-phoenix-plex-channel.

In my opinion the Plex channel system is quite limited. Granted, I haven't tried it in some time but the last time I gave it a whirl I felt clumsy in comparison to the scanner & agent.

Cool.

So, in theory, the sagetv-forplexmediacenter plugin should work fine if i am running SageTV on a windows box & plex on a macintosh box?

I just install the proper components in the correct locations & make sure they are pointed at each other?
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 11-04-2015, 01:28 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandor View Post
Cool.

So, in theory, the sagetv-forplexmediacenter plugin should work fine if i am running SageTV on a windows box & plex on a macintosh box?

I just install the proper components in the correct locations & make sure they are pointed at each other?
Yes.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 11-17-2015, 08:41 PM
Vaskill Vaskill is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
Yes, it is. It's not really the most elegant solution. The author of the SageTV plugin is attempting to make it more flexible as far as being able to make the watched progress two-way. It still has it's limitations though.

That being said there are a couple methods of integration. The first and, IMHO, better solution is sagetv-for-plexmediacenter. Someone has also created sagetv-phoenix-plex-channel.

In my opinion the Plex channel system is quite limited. Granted, I haven't tried it in some time but the last time I gave it a whirl I felt clumsy in comparison to the scanner & agent.
I have now been using Plex on the Apple TV 4 as a SageTV viewer and I have to say I am pretty impressed. There are definitely settings that need to be tweaked, but it is a pretty easy turn key solution.

Pluses:
A great ATV4 interface with a number of media views comparable to a SageTV client
Direct untranscoded playback of h264 ac3 progressive scan video
Syncs "watched" with SageTV

Minuses:
No programme guide or recording management
No live TV

Last edited by Vaskill; 11-21-2015 at 12:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 04-18-2016, 12:08 PM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 621
For now, i am using Infuse to play files directly from my SageTV recordings directory.
And using Channels to play live tv.

It seems Channels is working on a DVR too - it will be interesting to see how this works out. My tuners have always been HDHRs, so using them (currently) with Sage & Channels (on the ATV4) has been working well.
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PlaceShifter on AppleTV? ptaylor SageTV Placeshifter 21 04-09-2011 07:03 PM
AppleTV Plucky's Take PLUCKYHD General Discussion 14 12-05-2010 12:25 PM
No MP4/AppleTV Converting? sandor SageTV Beta Test Software 2 12-24-2008 11:15 AM
Has AppleTV conversion on 6.4.8 changed? Gabriel SageTV Software 9 10-13-2008 10:36 AM
New Appletv Compression Profile fyodor SageTV Beta Test Software 0 08-09-2007 09:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.