SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-09-2005, 10:46 PM
steingra steingra is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 427
Send a message via MSN to steingra
Explain 3D accelaration option in SageTV?

I was wondering if someone can explain what the main purpose of the 3D accelaration option is to be used for in Sage? Is it used in relation to the GUI of sageTV, or is related to something else? I dont understand what its purpose is, and how I can benefit from it.

ALso, it seems like it might be dependant upon having a specific kind of video card/chipset on the HTPC?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-09-2005, 11:03 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
The 3D Acceleration option tells SageTV whether to use DirectX for drawing its UI. Also, if you have 3D Acceleration enabled, you can then choose to use VMR9 for video rendering if you wish, since that is part of DirectX. Some peope prefer overlay; some prefer VMR9.

With VMR9, SageTV can use a semi-transparent UI on top of any video that is playing. With overlay, there is a way to do pseudo-transparency over the video, but it is not true transparency using alpha-blending.

I'm probably skipping a lot in this comparison, so maybe others will add more.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-10-2005, 07:29 AM
lotusvball's Avatar
lotusvball lotusvball is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 476
I tried to get 3D acceleration working with VMR9, but I kept getting stuttering. I am now using overlay with the transparency selected and it works great. I did not see a diference between 3D and VMR9 and overlay with respect to the transparency. Am I missing something?
__________________
Intel Core Duo 2.5mhz, 2gb RAM
Windows Home Server, Sage 7 beta
2 Hauppauge PVR-250, 1 PVR-500 MCE
1 HDHomeRun
4TB Storage, GB Network
2 MVPs, 1 HD100 & 1 HD300
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:53 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
On interlaced displays the different between pseudo-transparency in Overlay and true VMR9 blending is not really noticable at all. So you're not missing anything.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-10-2005, 12:09 PM
lotusvball's Avatar
lotusvball lotusvball is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 476
So what you are saying is when I finally go to a HiDef TV I will notice the difference but for now It doesn't matter. By the way GREAT JOB on v4.0.
__________________
Intel Core Duo 2.5mhz, 2gb RAM
Windows Home Server, Sage 7 beta
2 Hauppauge PVR-250, 1 PVR-500 MCE
1 HDHomeRun
4TB Storage, GB Network
2 MVPs, 1 HD100 & 1 HD300
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-10-2005, 11:26 PM
steingra steingra is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 427
Send a message via MSN to steingra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
The 3D Acceleration option tells SageTV whether to use DirectX for drawing its UI.
So what is it using otherwise? If its not enabled? Is there a speed increase, less CPU usage? Just wondering what some of the other implications are to using it.

And I suppose you have to have everything enabled on the video card (like if you look in the Direct X testing program that is in the Windows Directory. I think there are 3 buttons that show if all that *stuff* is enabled or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
Also, if you have 3D Acceleration enabled, you can then choose to use VMR9 for video rendering if you wish, since that is part of DirectX. Some peope prefer overlay; some prefer VMR9.

With VMR9, SageTV can use a semi-transparent UI on top of any video that is playing. With overlay, there is a way to do pseudo-transparency over the video, but it is not true transparency using alpha-blending.
So is it just matter of preference as to which one a person might choose to use? (Im assuming the said PC would support both)

Is there an easy way to tell if my system will support these features (besides just trying it of course
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-11-2005, 07:58 AM
RedCoat999's Avatar
RedCoat999 RedCoat999 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Avon (Cleveland) OH, USA (Originally Shepperton, London, England)
Posts: 371
I always thought (wrongly) that it was to do with the hardware acceleration of the video and had it enabled since I thought it may help with my very slow system (see sig). But turning this option off, helped speed things up for me!
__________________
Happy Sage customer since 2003

Proud owner of a HD200 connected to a 47" LCD. Loving Sage 7 and Phoenix
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-11-2005, 08:04 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
Quote:
Originally Posted by steingra
So what is it using otherwise? If its not enabled?
Java's internal drawing functions
Quote:
Originally Posted by steingra
Is there a speed increase, less CPU usage?
yes, and better anti-aliasing (look at the edges of fonts and curves while toggling it) -- but only if your graphics card supports it, otherwise it may be slower...

A disadvantage of 3d accelleration when using Overlay rendere, is that you cannot use the semi-transparent blending effect (overlay color keying=on)
__________________
Check out my enhancements for Sage in the Sage Customisations and Sageplugins Wiki

Last edited by nielm; 11-11-2005 at 08:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-11-2005, 11:39 PM
Lodaka Lodaka is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 5
The other thing that at least I noticed was that Closed Captioning is available only when 3D is enabled.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-12-2005, 10:00 AM
steingra steingra is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 427
Send a message via MSN to steingra
Quote:
Originally Posted by nielm
A disadvantage of 3d accelleration when using Overlay rendere, is that you cannot use the semi-transparent blending effect (overlay color keying=on)
What exactly is that, or what does the effect look like? I havent seen it yet because I dont think I have a suitable setup (yet) to enable it, but I am curious what it is supposed to look like.

Do you think the effect looks better than without it?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.