SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-06-2008, 02:04 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
FanArt for SageMC - Tutorial & Finding Images

As many SageMC users already know by now SageMC 6.3.8a was released last night. And with that release came a bunch of new "behind-the-scenes" improvements and bug fixes. But what some may not have realized yet is one new feature can add the "cool UI" factor to your SageMC setups. That feature is FanArt

Some who are familiar with FanArt & HTPCs already know what I'm talking about but if not I describe what FanArt is, how to set it up in SageMC and where to find your custom FanArt backgrounds in this GeekTonic post about FanArt in SageMC

If you're just looking for places to find your FanArt background images here's the list I've found thus far (also noted in the GeekTonic article):

If you know of other locations for FanArt, post a reply below to let everyone know.

By the way, thanks to Mike (MeInMaui) for a job well done and for bringing us this FanArt feature as well as the last few updates to SageMC - we REALLY appreciate it!

Last edited by Brent; 12-12-2008 at 11:51 PM. Reason: Added SageMC Fanart Pack 1.1 Link
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-06-2008, 02:43 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Very nice writeup on GeekTonic, Brent. Thanks!

Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-06-2008, 02:45 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Very nice Brent, Some handy links
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-06-2008, 02:47 PM
QueOnda's Avatar
QueOnda QueOnda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,093
Again, you continue to be a great source of information and news.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-06-2008, 04:19 PM
viperdiablo viperdiablo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 216
Cool feature. Followed the instructions on Geektonic but I cant seem to get it to work. I downloaded the image for The Last Samurai. Put it in the media fanart videos folder. When i download the image do I have to change the name of the file to the last samuria or leave it alone. I changed the path to the correct folder. And I changed the GUI option to enabled. Any help is greatly appreciated thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-06-2008, 04:26 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by viperdiablo View Post
Cool feature. Followed the instructions on Geektonic but I cant seem to get it to work. I downloaded the image for The Last Samurai. Put it in the media fanart videos folder. When i download the image do I have to change the name of the file to the last samuria or leave it alone. I changed the path to the correct folder. And I changed the GUI option to enabled. Any help is greatly appreciated thanks.
oops. My instructions missed a step. I just added it as step #3.3 but I'll repeat it here. This is for the situation where you are storing your image files in a central directory:


Quote:
Rename all image files to match the name of your media file exactly. For television shows, it should match the TV show name (like Fringe.jpg for Fringe), for Music it should match the artists name (like Aerosmith.jpg for Aerosmith), and finally for Movies it should match the movie title (like DarkKnight.jpg for a movie you've named DarkKnight). [NOTE: If you have any media files with the following characters in the name: ( \ / : * ? " < > | ) leave out these characters when naming your FanArt background files.]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-06-2008, 04:26 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
When you use the centralized database the fanart image must be named exactly the same as the movie.


edit:

Ooops, beaten by a few seconds.
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:21 PM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
Followed the steps and the images arent appearing.

Do you need to refresh something?

I did the Single Folder with the sub folders option.

DVD Path: DVDs\Cars\Cars.mkv

Fan Art name: FanArt\Movies\Cars.mpg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:26 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by vexhold View Post
Followed the steps and the images arent appearing.

Do you need to refresh something?

I did the Single Folder with the sub folders option.

DVD Path: DVDs\Cars\Cars.mkv

Fan Art name: FanArt\Movies\Cars.mpg
Your fanart name should be:
Quote:
FanArt\Movies\Cars.jpg
instead of mpg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:27 PM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
LOL sorry, they are jpg not mpg

Working on too many things at same time
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:44 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
It should show up then. Exit the Cars details screen and then re-enter - it should show up.

  • Are you using the latest version of SageMC 6.3.8a?
  • Did you set the Settings>SageMC>Paths>Media Bkgrnd File Path to FanArt\Movies\
  • Did you enable FanArt Settings? >SageMC>Main>GlobalUI Options>Display>
If you've done all of these things I'm not sure why its not working for you.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:51 PM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
yes, unfortunatley ave done all of those things.

Ive tried refreshing meta, import folders, restarting sage, etc


Oh well, guess Ill just mess around and see if I can get something to click right.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-06-2008, 05:54 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
You shouldn't have to refresh anything. It just appears after you put the image in the proper file folder with the proper name and then you exit that media screen and re-enter and it appears.

Try copying that cars.jpg image file to your DVDs\Cars folder and rename the image file to background.jpg

See if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-06-2008, 06:03 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
Does the name gave to match exactly? For instance, episodes of recorded TV have all kinds of stuff besides the Show title in it.

btl.
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-06-2008, 06:18 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by vexhold View Post
yes, unfortunatley ave done all of those things.

Ive tried refreshing meta, import folders, restarting sage, etc


Oh well, guess Ill just mess around and see if I can get something to click right.

Thanks.
Try a diffrent film with fanart, does that work?

Or

Try closing sage, remove the film from your movies folder, open sage and rescan for movies, make sure cars isnt still listed, close sage, copy the movie back to your movie folder, open sgae and rescan movies again. This normally works for me if it doesnt appear first time.

Your image must also be a .jpg and not a .png which I've noticed some fanart sites use.
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:00 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 607
I noticed that the themoviedb.org has an API available. Any chance of this being used to automatically grab fan art in the future?

Also themoviedb.org seems to have Plot descriptions, actor listings, and crew information. Perhaps this might be more reliable than IMDB since there is an actual API available for it (not just screenscraping IMDB). The IMDB search seems to break every now and then when IMDB changes their site around.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-06-2008, 09:23 PM
viperdiablo viperdiablo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 216
I just cant seem to get this to work. Just wondering in settings it says i am running stv version 6.3.8a but for sagemc.jar version it says 6.3.8 is this correct? Java is 1.6.0_07
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-06-2008, 10:14 PM
dflachbart dflachbart is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by viperdiablo View Post
I just cant seem to get this to work. Just wondering in settings it says i am running stv version 6.3.8a but for sagemc.jar version it says 6.3.8 is this correct? Java is 1.6.0_07
Yep, this is correct, the jar did not change for 6.3.8a


Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-06-2008, 10:34 PM
bialio's Avatar
bialio bialio is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 3,445
How do you name files for TV shows that have a special character in the Title. For instance,

"Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles"
__________________
PHOENIX 3 is here!
Server : Linux V9, Clients : Win10 and Nvidia Shield Android Miniclient
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-06-2008, 10:40 PM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by bialio View Post
How do you name files for TV shows that have a special character in the Title. For instance,

"Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles"
FYI, if there are any characters in the title that are invalid for windows file names, just strip them out. Also, if you are using the central folder, keep in mind that it should be local to each client you are using, not on the server (unless you are running the UI on the server or are using an extender or placeshifter client).

Aloha,
Mike
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sage not finding XMLTV during install harryf SageTV United Kingdom 2 11-02-2008 10:29 AM
IMDB description not downloaded and Where do TV series images come from? dinki SageMC Custom Interface 9 07-28-2008 02:37 PM
Movie database images jaminben SageTV Media Extender 0 06-09-2008 05:47 AM
Background Images sagetvkid SageTV Studio 1 06-02-2006 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.