SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

View Poll Results: What format do you use for Movies?
.VOB 36 50.00%
.MKV 15 20.83%
.AVI 7 9.72%
.ISO 0 0%
.MPG or .MGEG 9 12.50%
.WMV 0 0%
.XVID 0 0%
Other (Please explain) 5 6.94%
Voters: 72. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2008, 05:48 PM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
Video Formats

Hi all,

Just wondered what file format the majority of people use for Ripped Movies.

Thanks

Last edited by vexhold; 12-23-2008 at 11:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2008, 06:55 PM
MattHelm MattHelm is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,180
Nero's .mp4.
__________________
Server #1= AMD A10-5800, 8G RAM, F2A85-M PRO, 12TB, HDHomerun Prime, HDHR, Colossus (Playback - HD-200)
Server #2= AMD X2 3800+, 2G RAM, M2NPV-VM, 2TB, 3x HDHR OTA (Playback - HD-200)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2008, 08:56 PM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
I use some sly software to rip my Blu-ray movies and TSMuxer to output the movie portion only to .ts files. If Sage likes .ts files, then I do too. I do have to downmix the audio to DD 5.1, but TSMuxer makes that part of the one-step mux process.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2008, 10:17 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
If by movies you mean DVDs, and if by "VOB" you mean DVD file/folder stuctures, then:

VOB

I haven't decided yet how I'm going to handle Blu-ray/HD DVD, but it will be as close to native as possible.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2008, 10:33 PM
S_M_E S_M_E is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
Nero's .mp4.
Ditto, although now I just rip VOBs sometimes too...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2008, 11:07 PM
bastafidli bastafidli is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 728
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_M_E View Post
Ditto, although now I just rip VOBs sometimes too...
The same. Nero .mp4, it supports chapters, multiple audio streams, subtitles. Of course SageTV still doesn't support them.
__________________

TV: Samsung UN46D8000
Server: Intel Core i3 540, 4G RAM, Matrox G450, 70GB EXT3 encrypted software RAID1 system drive, 1TB XFS tv recording drive, 2TB EXT3 encrypted data drive mirror across 2 machines, 2TB EXT3 encrypted media drive mirror across 2 machines, CentOS 6 64 bit, Experimenting with DNLA servers
1Gb wired network
Disconnected after G day[HD 100 Media Extender, Placeshifter 7.x, SageTV 7.x, HDHomeRun]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-24-2008, 09:26 AM
SWKerr SWKerr is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,178
mkv container with h.264 and AC3 audio.

I was using Nero ad Mp4 for awhile but changed to Megui and mkv. The Mp4 has more widespread support on other devices right now but you are stuck with AAC audio.

Nero Recode making an mp4 is easier to use for DVDs but I think the quality is better with Megui. Also Nero will not do the BluRay rips. You can easily do mp4s with Megui if you want.

You can shrink the files size of a VOB by more than half and not see the difference with h.264 files. It is newer and better. The h.264 will take more cpu to decode.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-24-2008, 09:49 AM
rrhorer rrhorer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattHelm View Post
Nero's .mp4.
Add another for Nero's .mp4 (aka nero digital).
__________________
unRAID Basic Server, Sage & OpenDCT Dockers, Core i3-8100, 8G Memory, HDHR Prime, HD300 Extender, Shield & Android Miniclient, Harmony Hub/Remote
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-24-2008, 11:59 AM
TakeFlight's Avatar
TakeFlight TakeFlight is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
If by movies you mean DVDs, and if by "VOB" you mean DVD file/folder stuctures, then:

VOB

I haven't decided yet how I'm going to handle Blu-ray/HD DVD, but it will be as close to native as possible.
I'm with you on this. I hate the thought of knowing what I'm watching is not as good as it can be. I've got a little over 1TB of DVDs on my Sage server on a RAID5 volume. I too don't know what I'm going to do about Blu-ray and have just been holding off on even going down that road because of the tremendous space requirements.
__________________
Pegasus - SageTV/HomeSeer Server: Core2Duo 1.8GHz, 1GB, 1.5TB RAID5, 2.25TB RAID5, Radeon X1050, (2) Hauppauge PVR250 (only used for security cameras now), SiliconDust HDHomeRun, Hauppauge HD-PVR, WinXP Pro
Prometheus - SageTV Client: Core2Duo 2.66GHz, 1GB, 500GB, GeForce 8400GS, WinXP Pro, 848x480 to InFocus SP4805 projector on a 78" screen
HD Theater (HD200) connected via HDMI to Panasonic TH-42PX60U 42" plasma
web server plugin | 2 MediaMVP Extenders | FiOS TV
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-24-2008, 01:55 PM
Lucas Lucas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by TakeFlight View Post
I'm with you on this. I hate the thought of knowing what I'm watching is not as good as it can be. I've got a little over 1TB of DVDs on my Sage server on a RAID5 volume. I too don't know what I'm going to do about Blu-ray and have just been holding off on even going down that road because of the tremendous space requirements.
Same here.

I am also thinking about what to do with BR.

One pleasant thing is that the new HD200 plays my BR m2ts files(STREAM dir) directly without any issues yet(of course no HD audio formats yet).

Rather than using TSMuxer or packaging in mkv I am thinking of just renaming the main movie m2ts file....

I will have to upgrade all clients to HD200 though.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit - Server: C2D, 6Gb RAM, 1xSamsung 840 Pro 128Gb, Seagate Archive HD 8TB - 2 x WD Green 1TB HDs for Recordings, PVR-USB2,Cinergy 2400i DVB-T, 2xTT DVB-S2 tuners, FireDTV S2
3 x HD300s
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-24-2008, 02:14 PM
hemicuda's Avatar
hemicuda hemicuda is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north of Chattanooga, Tennessee
Posts: 1,117
It's a mix for me. VOBs for rips unless I just want the movie then it's MKV/AC3. All my old stuff is DIVX/AVI, but I'll replace that over time. Then there's the stuff available on Netflix Instant Queue. I just dumped about 180Hrs(est.) of programming because I can get it in better quality than on my analog tuners. That's a wee bit OT though.

And I have a 1TB drive arriving today (though I had a WD failing the other day). sheesh
__________________
Server: MS Win7 SP1; FX8350 (H2O cooled); 8GB RAM; Hauppauge HVR-2250 (OTA); HVR-1800 (OTA); SageTV 9.1.5.x; 12+TB Sage Storage

Clients: HD300 x2; HD200 x2; Placeshifter

Service: EPB Fiber (1Gb); OTA (we "cut the cord"); Netflix, Hulu, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-25-2008, 02:44 AM
garmpe garmpe is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 28
VOB's for me too but would also use Nero Digital if it worked in SageTV.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-25-2008, 04:31 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
The question doesn't make sense. If you mean DVD, then DVD format of course. I suppose that is VOB... although it could also be contained within an ISO file too. But since Sage doesn't really support ISO, I rip them to the DVD folder structure. I guess that makes it VOB.

For HD though, I rip to MKV since it supports multiple audio, chapters and subtitles, even if Sage does not (yet). I voted for MKV. As far as Sage support is concerned, I see no reason to use WMV, AVI, MPG or MP4 since MKV is a better container in every way.
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-25-2008, 09:52 PM
mcaron1234's Avatar
mcaron1234 mcaron1234 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North Bend, WA
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by valnar View Post
The question doesn't make sense. If you mean DVD, then DVD format of course. I suppose that is VOB... although it could also be contained within an ISO file too. But since Sage doesn't really support ISO, I rip them to the DVD folder structure. I guess that makes it VOB.

For HD though, I rip to MKV since it supports multiple audio, chapters and subtitles, even if Sage does not (yet). I voted for MKV. As far as Sage support is concerned, I see no reason to use WMV, AVI, MPG or MP4 since MKV is a better container in every way.
What he said!

Matt
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-26-2008, 09:21 AM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by TakeFlight View Post
...I hate the thought of knowing what I'm watching is not as good as it can be...

i used to think like this, then i went on a movie-watching spree, and thought "Why am i wasting 6.5 GB on this crappy movie when i could waste only 2.8 Gb if i give it a good h.264 encode?"

Granted, i am not in to movies, i dont think i have ever looked at the extras, commentary, deleted scenes, etc on a DVD - and i probably never will, i just have no interest in them.


Music, on the other hand, i could never imagine anything but FLAC or ALAC - no matter how close to original quality "they" say the new CODECs may be
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-27-2008, 09:28 PM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
For those using MKVs and handbrake. I have been attempting this format as it supports movie playlists.

What settings in handbrake do you use? I ask because when I use the default settings (either film or animation) I get alot that wont play in SageTV.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-27-2008, 10:08 PM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,220
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
vexhold,
Please see this thread.
__________________
Server: ASUS P7F-E, Intel Xeon x3440, 4GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 7TB disk,
2x Nvidia DualTV, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win7-32bit, Sage 7 latest
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-27-2008, 11:14 PM
vexhold's Avatar
vexhold vexhold is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 353
I am only ripping SD DVD's so HD is not my problem.

I just want to know what settings people are using for handbrake to get the best possible quality without using the .vob which doesnt support playlists.

Last edited by vexhold; 12-27-2008 at 11:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-28-2008, 12:52 AM
S_M_E S_M_E is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by vexhold View Post
I am only ripping SD DVD's so HD is not my problem.

I just want to know what settings people are using for handbrake to get the best possible quality without using the .vob which doesnt support playlists.
I don't know what the actual settings are but I just use this tool to make mkv out of dvd:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34527
It's drag and drop but it uses handbrake.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video files being imported as music, help please? mherce SageTV Software 4 06-13-2008 09:44 AM
Nvidia Decoder / Video quality problems brundag5 SageTV Software 2 01-12-2007 06:58 PM
Video is working, now for sound otakucode SageTV Software 2 01-03-2007 05:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.