SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Mac Edition

Notices

SageTV Mac Edition Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Mac edition. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Mac edition should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2011, 09:53 PM
benjatelcom benjatelcom is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 92
Will the MAC client ever REALLY work with HD video?

Greetings apple users,

Have a macbook AL in the midst of a PC world here at the ranch. SageTV client running on it. It can't play back any HD content from my tuner system, an R5000 connected dishnet IRD. Apparently SageTV MAC is leaning on some outdated media player as a rendering backend, it can't leverage GPU video acceleration which was made available in API when 10.6 was released.

SageTV support says - mplayer won't do HD so you are out of luck.

Is the Mac version just going to dry up or are we expecting a major technology refresh here soon? I've loaded bootcamp and win7x64 just so that one mac user can play some TV, which works flawlessly.
__________________
Intel NUC i7 SageTV and Plex
Synology NAS 4TB
Nextcom R5000 on Dish VIP211
Tablo DVR
4 HD300 Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:47 PM
flavius flavius is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 1,257
Sage won't tell if there's going to be OS X support for v7. The v6 Mac Placeshifter works to some extend with the v7 server, HD content included.

However, recently I have started utilizing my Parallels XP VM which I had anyway and run v7 Windows Placeshifter. Works much better, especially HD content.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-22-2011, 12:33 PM
sandor's Avatar
sandor sandor is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Posts: 621
i would have to look back into my emails, but sage support helped me force playback via Quicktime (editing the plist file) and with perian, etc, Sage client played back mpg HD with no problems. Never could get mkv to work well.
__________________
MacBook Core2Duo 2 ghz
nVidia 9400M GPU
46" Sammy HLP4663 720p DLP
2x HDHR, all OTA
QNAP TS-809:
12.5 TB for Recordings/Imports/TimeMachine/Music
HD200 via 802.11n in Living Room
802.11n client in bedroom
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No video on BBC HD on Mac client MCE-Refugee SageTV Beta Test Software 5 07-22-2009 02:13 PM
Sage Mac Client plays sound but no video... merneric SageTV Mac Edition 3 08-16-2008 04:25 AM
Video slightly too bright on mac client jimbobuk SageTV Mac Edition 5 01-23-2008 04:13 PM
SageTV Client for Mac stuttering video sgraves66 SageTV Mac Edition 13 01-22-2008 02:30 PM
Will mac client work on my laptop? camus SageTV Mac Edition 3 08-17-2007 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.