SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-05-2012, 02:35 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Google Fiber GFHD100

Anyone notice the news today about the Google Fiber GFHD100?

http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/05/g...t-top-box-fcc/

http://gigaom.com/video/google-fiber-gfhd100-google-tv/

I kind of like the model number they chose.... HD100 anyone? Yeah, I know that's probably just a coincidence but I couldn't help but notice the name similarity. The box is supposedly manufactured by Humax

Last edited by Brent; 06-05-2012 at 02:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-05-2012, 04:46 PM
darcilicious's Avatar
darcilicious darcilicious is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Venus
Posts: 1,306
Yeah... some posts about here it here: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...&postcount=941
__________________
SageTV Server 7.1.x w/Gemstone and Plex Home Theater v1.0.10 w/PlexPass
HD-PVR w/v1.5.6 drivers / Hauppauge IR blaster / FiOS Extreme HD / Motorola QIP6200 / SPDIF+720p Fixed Output
on HP Media Center 8400F (Phenom 9500 QuadCore 2.2GHz, nVidia GeForce 8500 GT)
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-05-2012, 05:43 PM
Sparhawk6 Sparhawk6 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 323
I'm terribly disappointed if this is the end result of the SageTV acquisition - a STB for google fiber.
__________________
Server: Gigabyte EP43-UD3L; Intel Core2Duo E5200; 4 GB DDR2 RAM; NVidia GeForce 9400GT; 6 tuners: Hauppauge HVR-1600 NTSC/ATSC/QAM combo, Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual Hybrid QAM, HD Homerun Prime (using SageDCT); 3.06TB total space: Seagate 160 GB, Maxtor 500GB, Seagate Barracuda 400GB, Hitachi 2 TB
Extender: HD200
Netgear MCAB1001 MoCA Coax-Ethernet Adapter Kit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2012, 05:54 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparhawk6 View Post
I'm terribly disappointed if this is the end result of the SageTV acquisition - a STB for google fiber.
What is it you were hoping for? I'd be terribly surprised if they went with something exactly like what we have had with SageTV. I guess you never know though.

You would think they will use some of what Jeff has learned in his days at SageTV though. How about some sort of SageTV DVR that is Google-Fiber connected? That would honestly thrill me.

Last edited by Brent; 06-05-2012 at 05:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2012, 06:15 PM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
What is it you were hoping for?
I was hoping for something that would be a useful successor to SageTV for people who do not live in KC.

Drew
__________________
Server HW: Xeon CPU E3-1270, 16GB RAM, 9TB Raid-Z + L2Arc,
Server SW: Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64, ZFS on Linux, Java 1.6.0_21, SageTV 7.1.9.1
Tuner HW: Pinnacle 800i, Pinnacle 801e USB, HDHR
Client: HD300, HD100
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2012, 06:31 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewg View Post
I was hoping for something that would be a useful successor to SageTV for people who do not live in KC.

Drew
I can't imagine it would ONLY be for people in KC long-term. But as a KC guy I am sort of excited with hope. Although I have yet to see anything concrete yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-05-2012, 07:20 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
You would think they will use some of what Jeff has learned in his days at SageTV though. How about some sort of SageTV DVR that is Google-Fiber connected? That would honestly thrill me.
Google-Fiber only helps those where it is, KC, so for you, sounds great. But unless it works with other services it's really useless for most of us.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-05-2012, 07:51 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Google-Fiber only helps those where it is, KC, so for you, sounds great. But unless it works with other services it's really useless for most of us.
True. But the box could easily be "beta" for google fiber and then rolled out to more of the masses after. At this point its all speculation on everyone's part until it happens. Google does what Google does.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-05-2012, 08:22 PM
mistergq's Avatar
mistergq mistergq is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 740
For those of us with FIOS, it will be interesting to see if this is some sort of IP based TV that I can use FIOS bandwidth to get. Probably still stay with FIOS TV, but would like to see alternatives as well.

I am still hopefully for a Sage TV DVR box, that than has server and client model for us hardcore users to continue to use.

But that probably won't be announced for awhile.
__________________
Media Server: Win 7 Home (32 bit), GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard, Intel Core 2 Quad Q9505 Yorkfield 2.83GHz, 4 GB Ram, Geforce 9600 GT PCI-E, 1x HD PVR, HD homerun (2x for OTA, 1x for FIOS QAM), 1 x HD Homerun Prime with cablecard from FIOS.

Client: Windows 10 Pro

Media Extenders: HD-200 x 3, HD-200 x 2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-05-2012, 08:23 PM
PiX64's Avatar
PiX64 PiX64 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,991
For google to roll out something ... anything that is a FIBER only would IMO be extremely short sighted, and seriously cripple their push into the market. To make something that is really compatible they would have to offer this thing, whatever it is on any HSI (cable, etc.)

but who knows...its all speculation anyways right?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-05-2012, 08:41 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by PiX64 View Post
For google to roll out something ... anything that is a FIBER only would IMO be extremely short sighted, and seriously cripple their push into the market.
Depends on the goal. What I mean is their goal may not be to create a new "product". Look at it this way, they're rolling out their own TV service, they're going to need hardware and software to deliver that.

Now they could go to Scientific Atlanta or Motorola (which they own) like all the other providers do, but it seems they want to make a statement with this whole Google fiber thing.

So what better to do than to buy up a little know, but very powerful DVR software, and "port" that into your new service/devices.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-05-2012, 10:02 PM
nycjoe's Avatar
nycjoe nycjoe is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 104
Jeff, is this the project the former sagetv folks are working on?

(the answer I'm hoping for is either "no, it isnt" or "I cannot comment on that")
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-06-2012, 05:38 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by nycjoe View Post
Jeff, is this the project the former sagetv folks are working on?

(the answer I'm hoping for is either "no, it isnt" or "I cannot comment on that")
The response you are going to get is probably no response at all.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-06-2012, 06:34 AM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
True. But the box could easily be "beta" for google fiber and then rolled out to more of the masses after. At this point its all speculation on everyone's part until it happens. Google does what Google does.
Unfortunately for me, I live in a low-density suburb where I doubt Google would build out any FTTH. FiOS stops a mile away at the county line (though Verizon keeps taunting me with brochures) and I currently have a choice of exactly one ISP / TV provider -- Comcast. If I lived in a higher density area, I'd be more hopeful. But I anticipate we'll get FTTH around the same time we have a balanced budged and a Mars colony.

Drew
__________________
Server HW: Xeon CPU E3-1270, 16GB RAM, 9TB Raid-Z + L2Arc,
Server SW: Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64, ZFS on Linux, Java 1.6.0_21, SageTV 7.1.9.1
Tuner HW: Pinnacle 800i, Pinnacle 801e USB, HDHR
Client: HD300, HD100
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-06-2012, 11:15 AM
IVB's Avatar
IVB IVB is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oak-town, CA
Posts: 1,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewg View Post
But I anticipate we'll get FTTH around the same time we have a balanced budged and a Mars colony.

Drew
So...2023 then?
__________________
------------------------------------
My Home Automation YouTube channel
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-13-2012, 11:04 PM
pez's Avatar
pez pez is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by IVB View Post
So...2023 then?

I think you got the 0 and 3 mixed up.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-14-2012, 12:27 PM
Naylia's Avatar
Naylia Naylia is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 754
What's interesting is that they bothered to get whatever it is RoHS Certified. This is only needed if you plan on shipping the units to the EU.
__________________
You can find me at Missing Remote. Or playing FF XIV. For XLobby users: XLobby MC
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-14-2012, 01:06 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naylia View Post
What's interesting is that they bothered to get whatever it is RoHS Certified. This is only needed if you plan on shipping the units to the EU.
It would be stupid to make this thing only for KC. I don't believe that is the plan from Google. That doesn't mean it will happen the way they are planning but....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long Run Ethernet or Fiber dgeezer The SageTV Community 11 11-17-2011 10:31 PM
Google TV? stuckless General Discussion 101 10-28-2010 11:19 AM
Fiber to the Home hemicuda The SageTV Community 6 01-12-2010 12:08 PM
Google with PVR-350 allen SageTV Beta Test Software 2 10-15-2006 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.