SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-30-2015, 05:40 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstanley View Post
I actually bought my brackets from eBay but I wanted to find a reliable link to show what they looked like. I followed this guide here:
https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/Mounting...PVR_Internally

I have Molex tools and used cut off cables from dead power supply's that I had from old HD-PVR's

Dwight
This is a great idea, indeed. I thought I was the only one who was replacing HDPVR power supplies I've bought them from several places, but I now usually just end up buying them direct from Hauppauge. The last time I bought twice as many as I needed, and I'm already on my last set
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-02-2015, 06:12 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Sorry it took me so long to get back. Apparently I got it and my HDHomeRun power supply mixed up. I had ordered one from Digi-Key. The one on my HD-PVR is and old D-Link power supply, model AF1805-A 5.0v 3A.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-02-2015, 02:07 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 398
I've been investigating spare power supplies for my HD-PVR also. Based on the experiences shared here, that's the weakest link, so I should have a spare or two. Due to the room layout, my HD-PVR is about 10 feet from the SageTV server computer. USB works OK over that distance, but I'm thinking there might be too much voltage drop on 5V DC unless I used really large wire. Although I like the "PC power supply and bracket" approach, I'm going to stick with a standalone power supply. (also, there might be "ground loop" issues - differences between the PC's ground potential and the component video input ground. I know that's a common problem with audio, but I'm not sure if it would be equally problematic with analog video).

There are many 5V 3A power supplies available, with varying levels of quality.
From my measurements, the HD-PVR power connectors is 5.5mm OD and 1.3mm ID.
Most of these off the shelf power supplies have 5.5mm by 2.1 or 2.5mm ID connectors. So you can hope it is reliable with a bit of mis-alignment, or cut off the plugs from bad power supplies and solder them on the new.

Here's an example of one that looks very similar to the original, but has the 2.5 mm ID plug.

I'm thinking that if 3A supplies have a short lifetime, maybe 4A or 5A capacity would be less stressed and last longer?

One I found is from All Electronics
CAT Number PS-544. This is a laptop-style 5V 4A inline supply, rather than a wall-wart style.

Edit June 2016 - PS-544 is gone, but PS-534 is a 5V 3A supply http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a...-supply/1.html

There are also a number of open-frame type 5V 5A supplies for LEDs (such as this). They appear to be Chinese imports of unknown quality. One commenter mentioned excessive ripple so they may not be usable for HD-PVRs.

From commercial distributors like Mouser, there are some options:
That is 5V 5A but the plug is 2.1mm ID. It's a bit expensive for quantity 1 because Mouser is a commercial distributor and doesn't want small orders. I'm not convinced buying a product from a unknown manufacturer like "Meanwell" through Mouser is worthwhile, when comparing to a similar product from an unknown manufacturer (UpBright) on eBay at half the price.

I think I'll order one or two from All Electronics and see how it performs.
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.

Last edited by timg11; 06-10-2016 at 04:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-09-2015, 12:48 PM
timg11's Avatar
timg11 timg11 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by timg11 View Post
One I found is from All Electronics
CAT Number PS-544. This is a laptop-style 5V 4A inline supply, rather than a wall-wart style.
I have received the PS-544 from All Electronics. I can confirm that it works with the HD-PVR. I did have to change the plug, since the one it comes with is the wrong diameter.
__________________
HD300 extender with SageTV V9.1.10 (service mode), Running on Windows 7 (32 bit), E8400 3GHz dual core CPU, 4G RAM, Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L motherboard. NVidia 8600GT; Viewsonic LCD on one output and Mitsubishi WD57734 HDTV via DVI/HDMI on other output. HDHomeRun tuner, HD-PVR Rev E1. HD-PVR 2 connected to Google Fiber GFHD200.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-09-2015, 05:04 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
I finally started doing the same thing Stuckless does, I just buy them from Hauppauge.

You folks that have had a few of these go out, are there telltale signs, other than the unit simply won't record anymore? Over the last two months or so, my in-service HD-PVR has started to pause for about 8 seconds as it starts to record. I have my recording delay set quite short as I recall, but when I dialed that in, it was working very well. I wonder if something changed on the STB.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-09-2015, 05:24 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I finally started doing the same thing Stuckless does, I just buy them from Hauppauge.

You folks that have had a few of these go out, are there telltale signs, other than the unit simply won't record anymore? Over the last two months or so, my in-service HD-PVR has started to pause for about 8 seconds as it starts to record. I have my recording delay set quite short as I recall, but when I dialed that in, it was working very well. I wonder if something changed on the STB.
The problem is that constantly using power supplies that will go out is that then could eventually cause permanent damage to the attached device.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-10-2015, 09:51 PM
ccsmoke ccsmoke is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
I finally started doing the same thing Stuckless does, I just buy them from Hauppauge.

You folks that have had a few of these go out, are there telltale signs, other than the unit simply won't record anymore? Over the last two months or so, my in-service HD-PVR has started to pause for about 8 seconds as it starts to record. I have my recording delay set quite short as I recall, but when I dialed that in, it was working very well. I wonder if something changed on the STB.
When mine went out, I started noticing a delay, then started getting some sound dropouts. About 2 weeks later I rebooted the computer and it wouldn't recognize the device under usb. I replaced with Dlink one.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-21-2015, 02:50 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Thanks for the recommendation here...I did the 5V+ molex connector to the HDPVRs this past weekend and it's working beautifully.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-22-2015, 03:10 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
Got a photo of that connection, Narflex?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-22-2015, 04:02 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Got a photo of that connection, Narflex?
No photo, sorry. But it's really easy to do.

1. Cut the transformer/adapter off the dead HDPVR power supply and strip each of the wires. Identify which is +/- using a continuity tester.

2. Prepare a molex connector with the red (+5V) and black (GND) wires stripped.

3. Solder the negative from the HDPVR cable to the black molex wire, and the positive from the HDPVR cable to the red molex wire, then wrap them in electrical tape.

4. Hook it up. (I found a bracket from an old VGA card that had a big enough hole in it, then just put that in the backplane of my server case and fed the wires through that)
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 08-22-2015, 05:34 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
.... Identify which is +/- using a continuity tester.
Fingers crossed, I don't burn the house down.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 08-25-2015, 06:29 PM
Olias's Avatar
Olias Olias is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 177
Don't these newbies know to search before they ask questions?
Here's a long running thread about HD-PVR power supplies and replacements.

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57010
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 08-26-2015, 01:14 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
It's a shame is that the HD-PVR2 runs on pesky 6V instead of the much happier 5V.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 08-26-2015, 05:45 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
No photo, sorry. But it's really easy to do.

1. Cut the transformer/adapter off the dead HDPVR power supply and strip each of the wires. Identify which is +/- using a continuity tester.

2. Prepare a molex connector with the red (+5V) and black (GND) wires stripped.

3. Solder the negative from the HDPVR cable to the black molex wire, and the positive from the HDPVR cable to the red molex wire, then wrap them in electrical tape.

4. Hook it up. (I found a bracket from an old VGA card that had a big enough hole in it, then just put that in the backplane of my server case and fed the wires through that)
four pictures are worth 4,000 words
if you ever get time, it would be great to see those four steps in color
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-26-2015, 06:52 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,576
I did the same thing - here is my photo. I used butt connectors rather than soldering.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/zw...=w1104-h828-no
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-26-2015, 07:36 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
the HDPVR is up on top?
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-26-2015, 07:39 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,576
Yes - it is on a shelf a few feet away with my cable boxes. I have three cable boxes and two HD-PVRs although I will soon be hooking up a third HD-PVR.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-26-2015, 08:56 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,363
excellent idea labelling the end of the drives
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-26-2015, 08:59 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
excellent idea labelling the end of the drives
You learn by experience! In fact it is a good idea to have different drive sizes or manufacturers to know which one to pull when the drive goes bad. Luckily this server doesn't have two of any of the same drive, unlike some of my previous hardware.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 09-15-2015, 06:32 PM
rickgode rickgode is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
No photo, sorry. But it's really easy to do.

1. Cut the transformer/adapter off the dead HDPVR power supply and strip each of the wires. Identify which is +/- using a continuity tester.

2. Prepare a molex connector with the red (+5V) and black (GND) wires stripped.

3. Solder the negative from the HDPVR cable to the black molex wire, and the positive from the HDPVR cable to the red molex wire, then wrap them in electrical tape.

4. Hook it up. (I found a bracket from an old VGA card that had a big enough hole in it, then just put that in the backplane of my server case and fed the wires through that)
THIS! BEST IDEA EVER! I knew I read it somewhere. I just spliced my power supply from the CPU to my HD-PVR and it is working perfectly now! I only went through two Hauppauge power supplies!

Thanks guys!

Ricky
__________________
Dell Inspiron 530 desktop, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.8 ghz, 6 gigs of RAM, 1 WesternDigital 750 gig hard drive partitioned in 75 gig/675 gig, 1 Seagate 2 TeraByte Hard drive: 1 HDHR Prime-CC, 1 Hauppauge HD-PVR with Hauppauge 45 button remote with blaster to control 1 Explorer 4640HDC, Windows 7 64bit SP1 all updates applied, SageTV 9.1.7.757, Java v1.7.0_79, SageTV Webserver v3.3, SageTV Mobile Web Interface v2.1.0.47, 2 Hauppauge MediaMPVs & 1 Helius MPV.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD PVR power supply tvmaster2 Hardware Support 13 01-12-2012 03:13 PM
HD Theater 300 Power Supply Oddity SageTV Media Extender 3 12-06-2010 01:13 PM
Power supply drowned! radiopaque SageTV Media Extender 4 11-17-2010 01:09 PM
HD PVR power supply Fingergottes Hardware Support 1 09-22-2008 01:13 PM
Weak Power Supply ? 65 W Droid Hardware Support 4 03-04-2004 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.