SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Mac Edition

Notices

SageTV Mac Edition Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Mac edition. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Mac edition should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2015, 07:45 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Running Placeshifter Through Wine

Thought I'd post this here because I've successfully gotten the Windows Placeshifter to run on my Mac via Wine. I cannot yet attest to its performance since I've so far only been using it over VNC. But it does run and play videos. I could not use the installer though. I had to copy an existing installation from my other Windows machine.

I also got the Windows SageTV Client to run. I can navigate the menus but playing a video gives a playback error.

Thought this was at least interesting. At least over VNC I get some visual problems during menu animations. When I get a chance to have some time at the keyboard I'll try it and report on actual performance.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2015, 08:11 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,540
I'm pretty sure I saw a post that someone actually compiled the placeshifter and ran it on a Mac (ie, the v9 build)... although video playback still wasn't working, if I recall, but I thought he was going to try and rebuild the mplayer under mac.

On a related note, since I've been knee deep into this extender stuff, the github project, separated out into "core" and "android", where the "core" is code that is not platform specific in any way. Eventually when I finish the Android piece, I was going to create a "desktop" project and pull in vlcj instead of mplayer, and use that for the video rendering engine. If someone wants to start it first, then I won't be offended

I also have a macbook, so I have interest in seeing this work as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2015, 08:20 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
As I said, I thought it was at least interesting. Native apps would, of course, be preferable. I had just never thought of running Wine on my Mac. Did it just to try and see if it could/would work.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2017, 10:02 AM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taddeusz View Post
I also got the Windows SageTV Client to run. I can navigate the menus but playing a video gives a playback error.
I know this is a very old post, but would you document which wine version and what winetricks if any you used? Or post a review at WineHq.org ?

I get a fatall error about ACL when trying to install V9 Client on wine 2.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2017, 10:10 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASegredo View Post
I know this is a very old post, but would you document which wine version and what winetricks if any you used? Or post a review at WineHq.org ?

I get a fatall error about ACL when trying to install V9 Client on wine 2.1
I honestly can't answer that. That machine has long been reformatted. Not to mention I don't recall what I did to get it to work. Sorry.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2017, 11:11 AM
ASegredo ASegredo is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 107
Thanks for the response.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using wine from exec() in a plugin tmiranda SageTV Studio 7 08-02-2010 06:02 AM
Linux Comskip without Wine? btf1962 SageTV Customizations 3 04-27-2010 08:16 PM
Anyone running Placeshifter in Linux? Chriscic SageTV Linux 2 02-24-2010 08:39 PM
ANybody running placeshifter on SLED 10 DDuckles SageTV Placeshifter 0 03-20-2007 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.