SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2017, 09:07 AM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
Update/Upgrade Question

So I just discovered that the client on my windows server will no longer connect to the sage on my unraid server because of version differences (been a while since I tried). They are both V9. The windows stuff is behind though. Can I just copy in the latest sagetv7.xml (and where would I find just that file)? Or would I need to run the latest open source installer(s)?

Thanks so much!!

Bobby
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2017, 09:15 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyDing View Post
So I just discovered that the client on my windows server will no longer connect to the sage on my unraid server because of version differences (been a while since I tried). They are both V9. The windows stuff is behind though. Can I just copy in the latest sagetv7.xml (and where would I find just that file)? Or would I need to run the latest open source installer(s)?

Thanks so much!!

Bobby

The Windows stuff just caught up a couple days ago. Run the installer for 9.1.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2017, 11:10 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,806
Sage Clients and Servers must always be running the exact same version number, else you will likely have problems.

This is not so important with Placeshifter clients, but with full Clients you have to upgrade client and server at the same time. There may be some edge cases where you get lucky and two different versions happen to work ok together, but generally you should not expect this to work.

Updating Sage7.xml will not help with this. Sage.jar is probably the most important thing, but there may be other important differences. It is generally not recommended to just update individual files anyway - you should use the installer. Also, if you've manually updated individual files in the past, you will need to run the installer twice and choose the "repair" option the second time or if won't install properly. When you run the installer to update Sage, be sure to double check the installation path to be sure you are installing in the same place (and always make a backup before doing anything).
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2017, 06:38 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
The Windows stuff just caught up a couple days ago. Run the installer for 9.1.7.
Actually the windows 9.1.7 was available prior to the Linux one , but who's counting

They are both available so ALWAYS best to use the installer....just run it a second time (select repair) if previously you manually made changes to files normally installed by the installer.

k
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade to STV9, some plugins will not update Ender SageTV Github Development 6 10-27-2016 06:28 AM
Suggestion: Plugin menu wording... upgrade & update Brent94Z SageTV Beta Test Software 3 06-07-2010 04:15 PM
To upgrade or not to upgrade - That is the question.... scoful SageTV Software 3 05-31-2007 05:35 AM
SageTV's instruction re 6.1 upgrade (update) stevech General Discussion 4 04-13-2007 05:19 AM
EPG Update question Wally SageTV EPG Service 8 08-03-2003 09:11 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.