SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations

Notices

SageTV v9 Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV version 9 application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss plugins for SageTV version 9 and newer.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 12-14-2018, 07:42 PM
Brewer's Avatar
Brewer Brewer is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colfax, CA
Posts: 28
Nice work on the plugin! How hard would it be to add support for more concurrent cities like the old weather plugin which allowed 4 cities?
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 12-15-2018, 06:30 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewer View Post
Nice work on the plugin! How hard would it be to add support for more concurrent cities like the old weather plugin which allowed 4 cities?
Not too difficult. It would only require STV work, the java already supports multiple weather instances. I didn't add multiple cities because I never used it and was not sure how many people did.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 12-15-2018, 11:48 AM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
Anything you can do for us few Canadian users with the weather plugin?
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 12-15-2018, 12:47 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstanley View Post
Anything you can do for us few Canadian users with the weather plugin?
I'm not really sure. The trick is to see if there is a good API available and I haven't looked at that.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 12-15-2018, 05:07 PM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I'm not really sure. The trick is to see if there is a good API available and I haven't looked at that.
This is all 'goobly-goop' to me - but maybe makes sense to someone - ha!

https://docs.ckan.org/en/latest/api/index.html

Found as looking for a Canadian Weather API.

Dwight
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #46  
Old 12-16-2018, 06:39 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstanley View Post
This is all 'goobly-goop' to me - but maybe makes sense to someone - ha!

https://docs.ckan.org/en/latest/api/index.html

Found as looking for a Canadian Weather API.

Dwight
That's a generic site for anybody who wants to publish datasets online. The datasets can be most anything. Do you know that the Canadian weather info in in there?
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 12-16-2018, 07:00 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brewer View Post
Nice work on the plugin! How hard would it be to add support for more concurrent cities like the old weather plugin which allowed 4 cities?
Try the attached. Upzip the .xml into the Sage install directory then go to the plugin manager and update the plugin. It will allow you to enter multiple cities in the configuration menu.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SageTVPluginsDev.zip (1.0 KB, 24 views)
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 12-16-2018, 08:08 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
That's a generic site for anybody who wants to publish datasets online. The datasets can be most anything. Do you know that the Canadian weather info in in there?
I think OpenWeatherMap covers Canada and the US.

k
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 12-16-2018, 10:22 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
I think OpenWeatherMap covers Canada and the US.

k
Yes, I've been looking at that one. Unsurprisingly, it's very different than the NWS API and will require more development. It's currently the best free one I've seen for international weather.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 12-16-2018, 10:31 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Yes, I've been looking at that one. Unsurprisingly, it's very different than the NWS API and will require more development. It's currently the best free one I've seen for international weather.
In Phoenix/Gemstone we took an approach of creating a WeatherAPI and then provided implementations for various weather providers. In this way the UI can be written once for 1 api, and then just plug in different providers. Not sure you went down that common API approach or not, but, might be worth looking into, as you add more weather providers for the default stv.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 12-17-2018, 08:52 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
In Phoenix/Gemstone we took an approach of creating a WeatherAPI and then provided implementations for various weather providers. In this way the UI can be written once for 1 api, and then just plug in different providers. Not sure you went down that common API approach or not, but, might be worth looking into, as you add more weather providers for the default stv.
I wasn't that smart

The OpenWeatherMap API was much simpler than the NWS API. I have a good chunk of the Java written and am starting to put it into the STV.

I guess I don't mind editing the STV to add additional providers. When new provides are added it will always take additional coding and to me it doesn't matter if it's STV coding or Java coding.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12-17-2018, 01:43 PM
deanm deanm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North East, UK
Posts: 293
Hi Tom

Have you ever looked at Dark Sky? https://darksky.net/

Seems to have a good API. Just wish I had the skills or time to implement this.

Dean
__________________
Darkside: DVB-C x4 DVB-T2 x2 HD-300 x4
Lightside: DVB-C x2 DVB-T2 x4 HD-300 x3
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12-17-2018, 02:39 PM
dstanley's Avatar
dstanley dstanley is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: LaHave, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanm View Post
Hi Tom

Have you ever looked at Dark Sky? https://darksky.net/

Seems to have a good API. Just wish I had the skills or time to implement this.

Dean
This also appears to work for Canada too ...
__________________
SERVER: Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz - UnRaid Server 6.7.2/DVB LibreELEC with Docker stuckless-sagetv-server-java9 MOTHERBOARD: ASRock-Z77 Extreme4 / 32GB RAM CACHE DRIVE: SSD 1TB ARRAY: 24TB/7 DRIVES PARITY: 8TB
EXTERNAL DEVICES: 4x HD-PVR's Firewire Channel Changing
TUNERS:NO LONGER RECORDING LIVETV
CLIENTS: 2xHD300 2xHD200 SONY ANDROIDTV MINI-CLIENT
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 12-17-2018, 03:35 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 2,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanm View Post
Hi Tom

Have you ever looked at Dark Sky? https://darksky.net/

Seems to have a good API. Just wish I had the skills or time to implement this.

Dean
This appears to be a pay based service so would only work if every user had an account and entered their own api key and paid for use beyond 1000 requests per day...likely as an individual level it would stay below the 1000 but you would have to read the terms to see if an app can require every user to signup.

k
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 12-17-2018, 07:26 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanm View Post
Hi Tom

Have you ever looked at Dark Sky? https://darksky.net/

Seems to have a good API. Just wish I had the skills or time to implement this.

Dean
No, I haven't looked at that. I'm making good progress with OpenWeatherMap however.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 12-18-2018, 02:57 AM
deanm deanm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North East, UK
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
This appears to be a pay based service so would only work if every user had an account and entered their own api key and paid for use beyond 1000 requests per day...likely as an individual level it would stay below the 1000 but you would have to read the terms to see if an app can require every user to signup.

k
I have been using Dark Sky as a replacement for WU on Domoticz (Domoticz.com) and works very well. It polls the site every 5 mins, so it is well under the 1000 limit.

It requires you to request your own API key, but noticed the following line in the Terms Of Server and it states you at NOT alowed the following.

Quote:
direct your end-users to sign up for their own API account (The Dark Sky API not intended to be used directly by end-users)
So I guess this is a no go unless someone pays for an API key which I donít think is going to happen. And Domoticz is breaking the Term of Service.

Dean
__________________
Darkside: DVB-C x4 DVB-T2 x2 HD-300 x4
Lightside: DVB-C x2 DVB-T2 x4 HD-300 x3
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 12-19-2018, 06:27 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanm View Post
Hi Tom

Have you ever looked at Dark Sky? https://darksky.net/

Seems to have a good API. Just wish I had the skills or time to implement this.

Dean
I looked at this as well as OpenWeatherMap. The OpenWeatherMap API was very simple and I have written most of the code to implement it. The good news is that it has data for A LOT of cities. The bad news is that OpenWeatherMap is too simple and does not supply very much data.

The darksky API is also fairly easy and provides more of the data needed and there are some open source Java APIs available. I plan on implementing that one as well and then give the user the choice of which to use; NWS, OpenWeatherMap, or Darksky . If they want to use Darksky they will have to sign up and get their own key.

That's the plan I have in mind. If nothing else I'll end up with some nice Java classes that can be used to access these weather services.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 12-23-2018, 11:44 AM
Rob23 Rob23 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Try the attached. Upzip the .xml into the Sage install directory then go to the plugin manager and update the plugin. It will allow you to enter multiple cities in the configuration menu.
I installed this and updated, but the configuration menu doesn't appear to allow for entering multiple sites. When I select enter new location and enter a zip code, the configuration changes to the new zip code site, but I don't see how to then toggle among multiple sites. What am I overlooking?
__________________
Sage Server: Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz, Windows 7 x64, Hauppauge WinTV-quadHD, AverMedia M780. HD200 Extender.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12-23-2018, 11:50 AM
Rob23 Rob23 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 100
I've been experimenting with this plugin and comparing it to the previous weather underground layout, and I have a few suggestions/requests for updates.

1) It would be nice under the extended forecast to have the option to show the week in a grid format without the narrative detail. This was an option under the weather underground format.

2) In the extended forecast, when precipitation is forecasted, the weather underground format would include the forecasted amount of precipitation. Does the NWS provide this data and could it be included?

3) On the current conditions tab, where barometric pressure is displayed, is it possible to indicate weather the pressure is rising or falling?

Thank you for developing this plugin tmiranda.
__________________
Sage Server: Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz, Windows 7 x64, Hauppauge WinTV-quadHD, AverMedia M780. HD200 Extender.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 12-24-2018, 05:44 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob23 View Post
I installed this and updated, but the configuration menu doesn't appear to allow for entering multiple sites. When I select enter new location and enter a zip code, the configuration changes to the new zip code site, but I don't see how to then toggle among multiple sites. What am I overlooking?
When you enter the second site the options on the menu should appear to allow you to select the other site. If it does not, it's a bug. Try adding one or two more locations and then send me the logfile.

I'm taking a break at the moment due to the holidays.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird weather on Weather Underground sacrament055 Gemstone for v7 13 05-27-2013 10:13 AM
The Weather Channel eliminating free weather data feed iolaus SageTV Software 69 08-26-2012 11:17 AM
Downloaded Google Weather Update, No weather? symgryph SageTV v7 Customizations 3 11-18-2011 08:55 AM
Using Weather Network as a feed for Canadian Weather Fastrack SageTV Customizations 2 03-22-2009 09:47 PM
weather.com weather extractor for mlbdude2 1.8.7 (v1.0.1 / July 6) nielm SageTV Customizations 105 10-08-2004 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.