SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2019, 06:07 PM
BigSwifty's Avatar
BigSwifty BigSwifty is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Burlington, Republic of VT.
Posts: 193
Sage x64 Service and Java issue

I recently decided to "simplify" my system by going from 3 R5000's to a Ceton card + Open DCT. Although I did have some initial issues (Java-related), OpenDCT and my cable card seem to be happy.

On my system, when I first installed Sage x64, Sage64 service would not start unless I had had both 64 and 32 bit Java installed. Weird but it was working.

With much help from the folks on the OpenDCT thread, I was finally able to get OpenDCT happy by removing Java x32 and only using Java x64.

Problem now is that I can't get the Sage service to start. It says:

Could not find jvm.dll
Please install JRE 1.4

I have x64 1.7.0_08 installed.

Can someone offer any advice? Environment issue (not that familiar with this)?
Attached Images
File Type: png java64.png (10.1 KB, 21 views)
__________________
SERVER/CLIENT_1--> AMD Phenom2 X4 925 2.8GHz. 8Gig mem. Asus M5A97. // Win 7 x64 // GTX 1060. //Nextcom r5000 X 3 // SageV9x64 running Gemstone // Lots of HD space.
CLIENT_2--> AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz. 4Gig mem. GIGABYTE GA-MA780G-UD3H// ATI 5570. // // Win 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2019, 07:50 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 429
Please post the sagetv_0.txt log file.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2019, 08:08 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,052
SageTV looks in the registry to locate jvm.dll. Refer to my post here: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...97&postcount=8
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-2019, 08:48 PM
BigSwifty's Avatar
BigSwifty BigSwifty is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Burlington, Republic of VT.
Posts: 193
Reg pic attached. The log ends at about 5pm. I made the changes after that and it doesn't seem to be creating any new logs.
Attached Images
File Type: png system java.png (13.8 KB, 23 views)
__________________
SERVER/CLIENT_1--> AMD Phenom2 X4 925 2.8GHz. 8Gig mem. Asus M5A97. // Win 7 x64 // GTX 1060. //Nextcom r5000 X 3 // SageV9x64 running Gemstone // Lots of HD space.
CLIENT_2--> AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz. 4Gig mem. GIGABYTE GA-MA780G-UD3H// ATI 5570. // // Win 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-2019, 08:49 PM
BigSwifty's Avatar
BigSwifty BigSwifty is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Burlington, Republic of VT.
Posts: 193
Wrong pic
Attached Images
File Type: png reg.png (174.5 KB, 22 views)
__________________
SERVER/CLIENT_1--> AMD Phenom2 X4 925 2.8GHz. 8Gig mem. Asus M5A97. // Win 7 x64 // GTX 1060. //Nextcom r5000 X 3 // SageV9x64 running Gemstone // Lots of HD space.
CLIENT_2--> AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz. 4Gig mem. GIGABYTE GA-MA780G-UD3H// ATI 5570. // // Win 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-29-2019, 09:29 PM
JustFred JustFred is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigSwifty View Post
Reg pic attached. The log ends at about 5pm. I made the changes after that and it doesn't seem to be creating any new logs.
Restarting Sage will give you a new, fresh log.
__________________
System #1: Win7-64, Core2-Quad Q9400, 8 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HDHR-US (1st gen white) tuners. HD-200.
System #2: Win7-64, I7-920, 8 GB Mem, 2TB HD. Java 1.8.0_131. Sage v9.1.6.747. ClearQAM: 2x HDHR3-US tuners. HD-200.
System #3: Win7-64, I7-920, 12 GB Mem, 4TB HD. Java-64 1.8.0_141. Sage-64 v9.2.1 ATSC: 2x HVR2250; Spectrum Cable via HDPVR & USB-UIRT. 3x HD-200.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-29-2019, 10:25 PM
BigSwifty's Avatar
BigSwifty BigSwifty is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Burlington, Republic of VT.
Posts: 193
Sage won't restart either... Same error message. It's not creating new logs.
__________________
SERVER/CLIENT_1--> AMD Phenom2 X4 925 2.8GHz. 8Gig mem. Asus M5A97. // Win 7 x64 // GTX 1060. //Nextcom r5000 X 3 // SageV9x64 running Gemstone // Lots of HD space.
CLIENT_2--> AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz. 4Gig mem. GIGABYTE GA-MA780G-UD3H// ATI 5570. // // Win 7 x64
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-2019, 11:34 PM
wnjj wnjj is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,052
Specifically in the registry, SageTV is looking for the “CurrentVersion” key under “HKLM\Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment”. Then it uses that version appended onto the end of the same path above to look for “RuntimeLib”. Make sure your registry shows “1.8.0_201” under the “CurrentVersion” key.

If that checks out, a 64-bit SageTV.exe or servicecontrol launcher should find and load the 64-bit jvm.dll. Be sure those exe’s are the proper ones.

If you want to prove you’re running the 64-bit SageTV exe’s, you can temporarily modify the contents of “CurrentVersion” to something bogus and the error message should change to “Could not get information on current JVM.”

32-bit exe’s look under HKLM\Software\Wow6432node\JavaSoft\…

Last edited by wnjj; 06-29-2019 at 11:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2019, 07:38 PM
BigSwifty's Avatar
BigSwifty BigSwifty is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Burlington, Republic of VT.
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Specifically in the registry, SageTV is looking for the “CurrentVersion” key under “HKLM\Software\JavaSoft\Java Runtime Environment”. Then it uses that version appended onto the end of the same path above to look for “RuntimeLib”. Make sure your registry shows “1.8.0_201” under the “CurrentVersion” key.

If that checks out, a 64-bit SageTV.exe or servicecontrol launcher should find and load the 64-bit jvm.dll. Be sure those exe’s are the proper ones.
Thank you. This was quite helpful. I had used Java downloads that i had in folders. Once again, I uninstalled all Java, downloaded 1.8 x64 and all is good.
__________________
SERVER/CLIENT_1--> AMD Phenom2 X4 925 2.8GHz. 8Gig mem. Asus M5A97. // Win 7 x64 // GTX 1060. //Nextcom r5000 X 3 // SageV9x64 running Gemstone // Lots of HD space.
CLIENT_2--> AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 Brisbane 2.8GHz. 4Gig mem. GIGABYTE GA-MA780G-UD3H// ATI 5570. // // Win 7 x64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Java version 2.29 issue. panteragstk Sage My Movies 22 01-30-2012 06:00 PM
Service fails to start and client asks for Java 1.4 hemicuda SageTV Beta Test Software 1 02-27-2009 07:37 PM
When running as service why does starting Sage UI say SageTV Service is initializing? GollyJer SageTV Software 2 12-27-2006 09:59 AM
Java VM Crash Running as Service RAlfieri SageTV Beta Test Software 2 10-03-2005 06:58 PM
Sage Service Issue jough SageTV Software 2 08-04-2005 11:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.