SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

View Poll Results: Are you using Sage this season for recording shows?
Yes, using SageTV. Full speed ahead. 158 91.86%
Sort of using SageTV. I have a backup plan, or in conjunction with another method. 7 4.07%
Not using SageTV anymore. I have moved on. 7 4.07%
Voters: 172. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2011, 06:18 AM
valnar valnar is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,235
Send a message via ICQ to valnar
New TV Season starts soon. Are you Sage'ing it?

So in the aftermath of the Google purchase, how many of us die-hards are sticking to our guns and relying on SageTV to record this season of TV favorites? I'm in with both feet. I have no other alternative and no other source of EPG data just yet.

How about you?


Edit: Of course, I realize my poll will be skewed. Those who have moved on will probably not be around to vote...but still....
__________________
Server: ASUS Q87M-E, Intel i5-4590S, 8GB RAM, DR-400-6 RM case, 2x Addonics Disk Array 3SA, 9TB disk, 2x HDHomeRun, HD-PVR 1212, Win8.1-64bit, Sage 9
Client 1: HD300 on Panasonic Plasma TC-P50ST60
Client 2: HD300 on Vizio 40"
Others: Sage Client & Placeshifter

Last edited by valnar; 09-12-2011 at 06:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2011, 06:40 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
SageTV is TV in my house. I still can't wrap my head around it being any other way... Someday that will change, until that day it's SageTV all the way.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2011, 07:06 AM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrems View Post
SageTV is TV in my house.
+ + +

Nothing but DRM-free recordings for me! Sage full-speed ahead!
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2011, 07:20 AM
matt91's Avatar
matt91 matt91 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 1,185
As long as SageTv continues to operate (i.e., EPG works, with or without a "hack"), it'll be used. We are all very accustomed and reliant upon it.
__________________
Server: Ubuntu 16.04 running Sage for Linux v9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2011, 07:23 AM
cobrew cobrew is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 70806
Posts: 21
So far I am sage'ing it but... I have been prepping for a changeover at my house. I may go back to WMC. I really love SageTV, but I need to expand my system and I refuse to pay $300+ for the extenders. However, it doesn't take long to do the math and figure I can sell my three hd-300's and pay for any system i want.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2011, 07:32 AM
mechling-burgh mechling-burgh is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 392
I will keep using Sage till it dies or I hear from Narflex it is truly dead and that Google buried it. I think he had to much heart and soul in this product to just let it die. I do believe they have plans and it's just a matter of time till we hear something about what those plans are. Besides that it still tuns like a champ why would you get rid of something if it works so great and there's nothing better out there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2011, 07:50 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by mechling-burgh View Post
I will keep using Sage till it dies or I hear from Narflex it is truly dead and that Google buried it. I think he had to much heart and soul in this product to just let it die. I do believe they have plans and it's just a matter of time till we hear something about what those plans are. Besides that it still tuns like a champ why would you get rid of something if it works so great and there's nothing better out there.
YEP! Couldn't have said it better.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-12-2011, 08:15 AM
HelenWeathers's Avatar
HelenWeathers HelenWeathers is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,321
I have my spare ATSC tuners and a spare HD-PVR. Also spare PC components. I'm covered hardware wise (HD300s and Client licenses as well).

I love SageTV and will use it as long as it works (years, I hope).

If Google comes thru I'll consider that when it happens.
__________________
Server: SageTV 9, Win10/32, Intel DP55KG Mb, Intel QC i5 2.66GHz , 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM, 2 Hauppauge 2255s for 4 OTA ATSC tuners, HDHRPrime w Comcast, 3 STP-HD300s 20101007-0 firmware, nVidia Shield. Java v7u55. Plugins:SD EPG, OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-12-2011, 08:30 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,842
Football season + SageTV + SRE =
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-12-2011, 10:10 AM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
Football season + SageTV + SRE =
Since I finally have a broadband connection I got to use SRE for the first time yesterday. I don't have to worry about missing the end of a game now.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-12-2011, 10:24 AM
PhilH's Avatar
PhilH PhilH is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edinburg, TX (Deep South Texas)
Posts: 95
Still have SageTV in this house. Will run it until it runs no more..
__________________
SageTV v7.1.9 Gemstone WHS + 3 HD200's, 1 Client & 1 Placeshifter
WHS - Dual Xeon 2.8ghz - 3gig ECC Ram - 25 Drives - 30 Terabytes
Blu-ray Titles 498
HD-DVD Titles 166
DVD Titles - Too Many To Count..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-12-2011, 10:56 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Sage works. It still works and I don't see it stopping.

My "backup plan" was to double down on sage. Purchased backup extenders, backup tuner hardware and am building a new client to prove I can (in case I lose some extenders).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-12-2011, 11:13 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobrew View Post
So far I am sage'ing it but... I have been prepping for a changeover at my house. I may go back to WMC. I really love SageTV, but I need to expand my system and I refuse to pay $300+ for the extenders. However, it doesn't take long to do the math and figure I can sell my three hd-300's and pay for any system i want.
So WMC is your plan for expandability? In my mind, lack expandability is WMC's worst drawback...
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-12-2011, 11:45 AM
Qusix Qusix is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 66
I didn't want to switch, but 2 of my 3 extenders have died. I setup WMC with a ceton tuner this weekend. So far so good, but its no SageTV.

I will keep my sagetv linux server with an analog tuner and HDHR for placeshifter viewing.
__________________
Linux Headless Server
Tuners: HD Homerun, 2 HD-PVR, PVR-150

Clients:
2 HD100 Extenders
1 HD200 Extender
SageTV Client
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-12-2011, 01:48 PM
gplasky's Avatar
gplasky gplasky is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 9,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qusix View Post
I didn't want to switch, but 2 of my 3 extenders have died. I setup WMC with a ceton tuner this weekend. So far so good, but its no SageTV.

I will keep my sagetv linux server with an analog tuner and HDHR for placeshifter viewing.
So then how are you watching TV in place where you had the 3 extenders?

Gerry
__________________
Big Gerr
_______
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-12-2011, 02:17 PM
panteragstk's Avatar
panteragstk panteragstk is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 3,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
So then how are you watching TV in place where you had the 3 extenders?

Gerry
I would like to know this as well. Good question.
__________________
SageTV Server: unRAID Docker v9, S2600CPJ, Norco 24 hot swap bay case, 2x Xeon 2670, 64 GB DDR3, 3x Colossus for DirecTV, HDHR for OTA
Living room: nVidia Shield TV, Sage Mini Client, 65" Panasonic VT60
Bedroom: Xiomi Mi Box, Sage Mini Client, 42" Panasonic PZ800u
Theater: nVidia Shield TV, mini client, Plex for movies, 120" screen. Mitsubishi HC4000. Denon X4300H. 7.4.4 speaker setup.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-12-2011, 02:36 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
exactly, wmc is not a valid move from sage. You'd be far better off spending your effort on a play-only solution to play back from your still functioning sage server (like boxee).
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-12-2011, 04:32 PM
PLUCKYHD PLUCKYHD is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,257
Quote:
Originally Posted by gplasky View Post
So then how are you watching TV in place where you had the 3 extenders?

Gerry
Quote:
Originally Posted by panteragstk View Post
I would like to know this as well. Good question.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
exactly, wmc is not a valid move from sage. You'd be far better off spending your effort on a play-only solution to play back from your still functioning sage server (like boxee).
Umm the linksys and xboxs work perfect as tv extenders. No issues there I am sure that is what he is doing. WMC was more than a valid move from sagetv for me on the tv side. I finally have reliable premium tv Each person has there own solution tv but to say WMC isn't a valid replacement for tv and extenders isn't right. Tv and clients is a different story. But tv and extenders work perfect on WMC.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-12-2011, 04:32 PM
tomatodave's Avatar
tomatodave tomatodave is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Illinois
Posts: 42
I'm sageing it

My plan is to use sage till something better comes along. Now that I think about it that has been the plan all along - even before the buyout.

My Sage system is and has been very stable and reliable for quite a while now. I really love my Sage TV. I'm not planning to switch anytime soon.

My longterm plan has been to add another TV to my house with an extender, when I have a bit of extra cash, but that time is not now. I feel pretty hopeful that there will be a good option when that time comes. If not I can build a pc and shuffle a client license around or there will always be ebay.
__________________
8 gig ram windows 10 64 bit, sage V9.2.0.441 64 bit running in a VM on a ESXI 6.0 host - Xeon 1246 E3 - 32 GB ram, 2 TB recording drive with the controller passed through and 5 TB recording drive spave in a Freenas server, 1 silicon dust HDHR DUO and 1 Quatro for 6 OTA tuners, 1 HDHR Prime for 3 cable tuners, 2 BM1000-HDMI network encoders for cableboxes, 2 Placeshifters, 3 extenders, 1client
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-12-2011, 04:38 PM
will will is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 797
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Umm the linksys and xboxs work perfect as tv extenders. No issues there I am sure that is what he is doing. WMC was more than a valid move from sagetv for me on the tv side. I finally have reliable premium tv Each person has there own solution tv but to say WMC isn't a valid replacement for tv and extenders isn't right. Tv and clients is a different story. But tv and extenders work perfect on WMC.
And if you want to trans-code the HBO movie you recorded (and paid for) to watch on the airplane on your iPad what do you do?

I know WMC works but I would never consider it an option. And if I remember correctly, Linksys got out of the WMC game long time ago, right?
__________________
Will

OS: Windows 7
Hardware: Intel Core i7-920 with 12GB RAM & an Adaptec 5805 with a Chenbro 36-port SAS Expander
Case: Antec 1200 with 4 iStarUSA trayless hot-swap cages (20 drives max)
Drives: 8 Toshiba/Hitachi 2TB drives in a RAID 6 & 7 Toshiba 3TB drives in a RAID 6
Capture Cards: HDHomeRun Connect Quatro 4, Hauppauge 60 HD-PVR
Players: 5 HD300s, 2 HD200s, 1 Client, 1 MiniClient
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Now that Season and Episode are included ThePaladinTech SageTV Beta Test Software 2 04-20-2011 07:21 AM
Series and season premiers dwk SageTV Beta Test Software 3 09-02-2010 09:28 PM
TV Season DVD Sets ghostlobster SageMC Custom Interface 18 12-02-2009 10:45 AM
season pass mtfred99 SageTV Software 14 07-24-2005 06:26 AM
Unfortunate behavior when fav #5 starts at 11:05pm but fav #15 starts at 11:00pm rmellor SageTV Software 16 03-23-2005 03:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.