SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2017, 03:21 PM
tomatodave's Avatar
tomatodave tomatodave is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Illinois
Posts: 42
timeline issues on .MKV playback

Go easy on me as I am an extreme linux NOOB!!! but enjoying the journey.

I have installed SageTV 9 64bit using SageWisdom's script, (which worked great!! Thank you) on Ubuntu 16.04 64bit server running in a VMWARE ESXI 6.5 version 13 VM.

An HDHR digital OTA network tuner is setup and works great.....Playback is great also, with proper timeline, allowing pause, skip and FF. This tuner is recording to a NFS share on a FREENAS box.

I also have some .MKV videos on that same FREENAS box in another share. When I play these files, they playback just fine. The problem is the timeline is 0...meaning 0 length. This makes it impossible to pause, skip or FF. I tried a MP4 file with the same result.

I can playback ripped BD just fine....timeline is proper here.

Playback for all of this is the same results on HD 200 and HD 300 extenders or windows SageTV client.
I have also tried this on Ubuntu 64 bit server 14.04 with the same results.
__________________
8 gig ram windows 10 64 bit, sage V9.2.0.441 64 bit running in a VM on a ESXI 6.0 host - Xeon 1246 E3 - 32 GB ram, 2 TB recording drive with the controller passed through and 5 TB recording drive spave in a Freenas server, 1 silicon dust HDHR DUO and 1 Quatro for 6 OTA tuners, 1 HDHR Prime for 3 cable tuners, 2 BM1000-HDMI network encoders for cableboxes, 2 Placeshifters, 3 extenders, 1client
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-04-2017, 04:02 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomatodave View Post
Go easy on me as I am an extreme linux NOOB!!! but enjoying the journey.

I have installed SageTV 9 64bit using SageWisdom's script, (which worked great!! Thank you) on Ubuntu 16.04 64bit server running in a VMWARE ESXI 6.5 version 13 VM.

An HDHR digital OTA network tuner is setup and works great.....Playback is great also, with proper timeline, allowing pause, skip and FF. This tuner is recording to a NFS share on a FREENAS box.

I also have some .MKV videos on that same FREENAS box in another share. When I play these files, they playback just fine. The problem is the timeline is 0...meaning 0 length. This makes it impossible to pause, skip or FF. I tried a MP4 file with the same result.

I can playback ripped BD just fine....timeline is proper here.

Playback for all of this is the same results on HD 200 and HD 300 extenders or windows SageTV client.
I have also tried this on Ubuntu 64 bit server 14.04 with the same results.
Sadly when this happens, i think the only option is to remux the videos. In the past I'll just convert to mp4 using ffmpeg and then it works.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-04-2017, 03:32 PM
tomatodave's Avatar
tomatodave tomatodave is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Illinois
Posts: 42
stuckless

Thank you very much for your valuable information.
I suspected that was the answer.

Thanks you again
__________________
8 gig ram windows 10 64 bit, sage V9.2.0.441 64 bit running in a VM on a ESXI 6.0 host - Xeon 1246 E3 - 32 GB ram, 2 TB recording drive with the controller passed through and 5 TB recording drive spave in a Freenas server, 1 silicon dust HDHR DUO and 1 Quatro for 6 OTA tuners, 1 HDHR Prime for 3 cable tuners, 2 BM1000-HDMI network encoders for cableboxes, 2 Placeshifters, 3 extenders, 1client
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-05-2017, 07:05 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,869
There have been a lot of posts over the past year about people seeing 0 length timelines for certain types of recordings withe the Linux version of Sage. I didn't pay real close attention since I don't use Linux and haven't had the problem. But I thought I remember in some cases the problem was a missing ffmpeg in the Sage directory. I think Sage uses ffmpeg on Linux (or sageplayer on Windows) to determine playback length for some file formats.

Anyway, you may want to do a Google search of the Sage forums for this issue. Just type your search term into Google, followed by a space and then site:forums.sagetv.com to restrict your search to just this forum.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2017, 07:46 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
There have been a lot of posts over the past year about people seeing 0 length timelines for certain types of recordings withe the Linux version of Sage. I didn't pay real close attention since I don't use Linux and haven't had the problem. But I thought I remember in some cases the problem was a missing ffmpeg in the Sage directory. I think Sage uses ffmpeg on Linux (or sageplayer on Windows) to determine playback length for some file formats.

Anyway, you may want to do a Google search of the Sage forums for this issue. Just type your search term into Google, followed by a space and then site:forums.sagetv.com to restrict your search to just this forum.
I know I've seen this personally, and I know that I do have ffmpeg in my sagetv directory, because I actually use that ffmpeg when I remux mkv to mp4 to fix the issue. Because it's easier to fix the file, I actually haven't tried to figure out "why" the 0 timeline shows up. (maybe the next time, I'll take some time and see where it's getting the 0 from, and why).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-05-2017, 01:46 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,231
Happened once to me on Windows where sagetranscoder.exe was corrupt (0 bytes). A repair fixed it. If I recall, that was Windows ffmpeg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-2017, 02:38 PM
tomatodave's Avatar
tomatodave tomatodave is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Illinois
Posts: 42
0 lenght timeline issue resolved

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
There have been a lot of posts over the past year about people seeing 0 length timelines for certain types of recordings withe the Linux version of Sage. I didn't pay real close attention since I don't use Linux and haven't had the problem. But I thought I remember in some cases the problem was a missing ffmpeg in the Sage directory. I think Sage uses ffmpeg on Linux (or sageplayer on Windows) to determine playback length for some file formats.

Anyway, you may want to do a Google search of the Sage forums for this issue. Just type your search term into Google, followed by a space and then site:forums.sagetv.com to restrict your search to just this forum.
Tiki Thanks for the information. That site specific search helped narrow in on a solution.....I found this and solved the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
For 1, try going to Setup->Detailed Setup->Advanced->Rescan Existing Library Files; I'd expect that to fix the MKV issues. If it doesn't, post a SageTV log file from when you did the rescan.
I did not realize that this scan was different that the scan import directories scan....I had seen it in that menu before and thought it was just another button to do the same thing...

Learned something today!!!
Thank you all for your help
__________________
8 gig ram windows 10 64 bit, sage V9.2.0.441 64 bit running in a VM on a ESXI 6.0 host - Xeon 1246 E3 - 32 GB ram, 2 TB recording drive with the controller passed through and 5 TB recording drive spave in a Freenas server, 1 silicon dust HDHR DUO and 1 Quatro for 6 OTA tuners, 1 HDHR Prime for 3 cable tuners, 2 BM1000-HDMI network encoders for cableboxes, 2 Placeshifters, 3 extenders, 1client
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVR 2250 Timeline issues skyonic Hardware Support 5 02-13-2013 02:40 PM
timeline issues with hauppauge pvr dfitz43 Hardware Support 2 04-14-2009 07:59 AM
Update available for timeline issues in v6.4.2 Opus4 SageTV Beta Test Software 47 10-05-2008 12:06 PM
video timeline issues tchapin SageTV Software 0 04-19-2008 08:55 AM
Fixes for slow UI and playback timeline issues dstay SageTV Software 5 10-05-2006 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.