SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-11-2020, 05:08 AM
mwittl mwittl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Need Direction Troubleshooting Recent Playback Problems

As the title says, I need some direction trying to find out what is going on with recent playback issues my wife has been experiencing. I can't give exact timeframes of when these issues started to occur, but I can say they have been within the last 3-6 months. The issues are:

1.) After playing a recorded show then selecting another show to playback she will get audio only and no video...just a black screen. The only way to fix is to stop the SageTV client program and re-launch it. I can leave the service running though.

2.) When viewing a previously recorded show, pause for a while, then when play is hit, no audio unless she backs up a bit.

Windows 10 machine, Sage 9.2.2, LAV filters, everything up-to-date. Been running Sage since the V6 days. This is our main server/client box. Not sure if issue shows up on other clients or our HD300's as those are infrequently used.

Both of these issues are intermittent, unpredictable and both have appeared in the last 3-6 months. I noticed my 9.2.2 upgrade was in May, so that may in fact be when all this started. I don't honestly know. My wife is primary user.

Any direction or conclusions someone can point to would be appreciated! Thank you!
- Mark

Last edited by mwittl; 09-11-2020 at 05:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2020, 10:53 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,290
Grab and post a copy of sagetvclient_0.txt before you shut down the client next time you find yourself needing to.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2020, 10:59 AM
mwittl mwittl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Grab and post a copy of sagetvclient_0.txt before you shut down the client next time you find yourself needing to.
Will do! Like I said, it's sporatic but frustrating for my wife when it occurs!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2020, 02:33 PM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,289
The logs do rotate (0 being the most current) so if you don't grab it right away when it happens, you can check for the timeframe to decide which log file.

Also, you can control the number of log files kept (4 is default) by the .properties entry
num_logfiles_to_keep=##
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-12-2020, 05:22 PM
mwittl mwittl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Here is my Log File

So I was able to grab the log file. We started playback of Big Brother at:

Sat 9/12 18:18:55.228

This time black screen and no audio either. Usually when this happens we will get the black screen but will have audio. I think my wife tried to fast forward a bit...still nothing. I think we went back to menu and tried to restart it a few times after this instance. At any rate, had to kill client and restart to view show.

Any direction you Sage's can give to fix this would be appreciated!

PS: Had to trim a bunch off the front end of file to get a successful upload.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetvclient_0.txt (328.6 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-12-2020, 10:04 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,290
It looks like the client filter graph is setting up ok but then sits waiting for content. Sorry but to you have the server log file from the same timeframe? You may have to look into the sagetv_1 or _2 files.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-13-2020, 02:44 AM
SimeonPilgrim SimeonPilgrim is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 53
Maybe not related, but sound close, so maybe something to try..

I have a similar problem (experienced by my wife), now and then playing a program while it's still recording, there is no audio, if you pause/play/fastforward etc the sound does not return. But if we jump out to another previously recorded program, and play that. Then the sound works in the live program.

This on a HD300. The only gotcha's in the "fix" method is to pause the live program and not press stop, as that kills the recording, so we pause the live, go to the main menu pick something else, get the sound working, pause that, and then play the live again to avoid pressing stop. Not sure if it's needed on the second time through. But we lost some stuff getting the "way to fix" so now she just follows the plan.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-13-2020, 06:05 AM
mwittl mwittl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Not Related

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimeonPilgrim View Post
Maybe not related, but sound close, so maybe something to try..

I have a similar problem (experienced by my wife), now and then playing a program while it's still recording, there is no audio, if you pause/play/fastforward etc the sound does not return. But if we jump out to another previously recorded program, and play that. Then the sound works in the live program.

This on a HD300. The only gotcha's in the "fix" method is to pause the live program and not press stop, as that kills the recording, so we pause the live, go to the main menu pick something else, get the sound working, pause that, and then play the live again to avoid pressing stop. Not sure if it's needed on the second time through. But we lost some stuff getting the "way to fix" so now she just follows the plan.
I don't believe this is related to my issue. We only experience this on the client on our client/server box and not on any remote clients or our HD300's.

I don't know enough to see what's going on in the log I uploaded but would appreciate any insights.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-13-2020, 02:28 PM
mwittl mwittl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
It looks like the client filter graph is setting up ok but then sits waiting for content. Sorry but to you have the server log file from the same timeframe? You may have to look into the sagetv_1 or _2 files.
Looks like they rotated out before I could get them for the same timeframe. I will grab/post both client and server logs the next time this occurs. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-13-2020, 04:37 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,898
Use a HD200 or HD300 for playback in that room. Playback is always way easier on those.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-15-2020, 03:55 AM
mwittl mwittl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Uploaded Files for Server and client

So I was able to grab both the UI client and server files for when my wife started to watch Love Island and had audio but no video (black screen). I can see a bunch of errors in the server file but have no idea what they mean or how to solve this ongoing problem.

If any Sage experts have the time to look at this I (and my wife) would greatly appreciate it!! Thank you.

Playback in client log starts at: 4:52:55.849

I have trimmed excess junk off of the beginning of both files to get the size down to where I could upload.

I should also point out that a regular server reboot is scheduled for 5:00am everyday.
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetvclient_1.txt (127.7 KB, 8 views)
File Type: txt sagetv_1.txt (747.6 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by mwittl; 09-15-2020 at 04:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-15-2020, 10:00 AM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,290
Iím far from an expert at this but can sometimes get to the bottom. One more request: Can you include similar set of logs from a successful playback of the same show or one just like it? That way I can compare the video startup process and look for anything out of the ordinary.
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-15-2020, 02:03 PM
mwittl mwittl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Iím far from an expert at this but can sometimes get to the bottom. One more request: Can you include similar set of logs from a successful playback of the same show or one just like it? That way I can compare the video startup process and look for anything out of the ordinary.
What is generating these in my server logs? I'm getting hundreds of failures. What is the cling package used for? No issues getting to/from this drive for shows so I don't understand what is failing?


Tue 9/15 11:46:35.512 [cling-742@2621d1] Discovery failed: Western Digital Corporation MyBookLiveDuo AP2NC => org.fourthline.cling.binding.xml.DescriptorBindingException: Could not parse service descriptor: org.fourthline.cling.binding.xml.DescriptorBindingException: Could not parse service DOM: org.fourthline.cling.binding.xml.DescriptorBindingException: Root element name is not <scpd>: body
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-15-2020, 06:24 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwittl View Post
What is generating these in my server logs? I'm getting hundreds of failures. What is the cling package used for? No issues getting to/from this drive for shows so I don't understand what is failing?


Tue 9/15 11:46:35.512 [cling-742@2621d1] Discovery failed: Western Digital Corporation MyBookLiveDuo AP2NC => org.fourthline.cling.binding.xml.DescriptorBindingException: Could not parse service descriptor: org.fourthline.cling.binding.xml.DescriptorBindingException: Could not parse service DOM: org.fourthline.cling.binding.xml.DescriptorBindingException: Root element name is not <scpd>: body
It looks like cling is a uPNP package that is a plug-in or part of another one. Itís probably not related unless you only get those when it fails?
__________________
Windows Installer
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recent extreme sluggishness with latest x86 version, troubleshooting help? waylo SageTV Software 11 05-31-2019 12:48 PM
Recent Recordings only shows 1st Run recent sacrament055 Gemstone for v7 2 09-08-2012 03:09 PM
Troubleshooting SageTV client playback stutter Audacity SageTV Software 27 04-06-2011 07:48 PM
Grouped Recent Recent Recordings? wrems Phoenix 1 03-26-2011 05:54 PM
6.3.5 OSD & Direction Arrows Polypro SageTV Customizations 3 12-31-2007 09:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.