SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2020, 02:34 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
Streaming Box Choices

I am looking for another Streaming TV box that will play SageTV.

So far I have two 4K FireTV sticks, a Shield and a Roku.

I like the menu system on the Roku best, but it does not support SageTV.

Shield also has a great menu system, but it is expensive.

Amazon keeps screwing around with the menu system on the firestick and it is a mess. But it is cheap.

What are other people using?
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-14-2020, 07:47 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I am looking for another Streaming TV box that will play SageTV.

So far I have two 4K FireTV sticks, a Shield and a Roku.

I like the menu system on the Roku best, but it does not support SageTV.

Shield also has a great menu system, but it is expensive.

Amazon keeps screwing around with the menu system on the firestick and it is a mess. But it is cheap.

What are other people using?
Google Chromecast TV.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2020, 09:09 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Google Chromecast TV.
Chromecast can do SageTV? Iíve got one, but never tried.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2020, 03:07 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Chromecast can do SageTV? Iíve got one, but never tried.
The new Chromcast with GoogleTV can do Sagetv.

https://store.google.com/product/chr...20~%20Features
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-15-2020, 10:07 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Chromecast can do SageTV? Iíve got one, but never tried.
Only the newest one that came out a month or two ago. It is essentially an AndroidTV device. Older Chromecasts were much less capable devices.

I haven't used a Shield, but I tried using SageTV on a Firestick and a MiBox and I still prefer a HD300 or HD200.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2020, 06:47 AM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,372
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Only the newest one that came out a month or two ago. It is essentially an AndroidTV device. Older Chromecasts were much less capable devices.

I haven't used a Shield, but I tried using SageTV on a Firestick and a MiBox and I still prefer a HD300 or HD200.
When was the last time you used the SageTV MiniClient ... It is now fully supported and has been updated .. to be able to transcode and remote access works. New release was recently uploaded to google Play store and FireTV Store. Remote access even works on my Samsung Tablet/Note 9.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.

Last edited by nyplayer; 11-16-2020 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-16-2020, 09:06 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,923
It has probably been a year since I tried and the device that I was using was either a MiBox or a non-4K Firestick. The main issue was the playback of MPEG-2 files. I prefer Roku as a streaming device as it has the best selection of apps, as well as an API that works well with my Control4 Home Automation system.

I assume that a Shield would work better than the above but I am not sure it is worth buying one as I have a very large inventory of SageTV exetenders. Is a Shield a better solution than an HD300 plus a Roku?

One good thing with my setup is that Control4 can control SageTV using IP controls that are the same as the Web UI. And these appear to be done directly with the SageTV server and work with any and all miniclient. So I don't have the drawback or a crappy remote control with only a couple of buttons.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No ir blaster choices jptheripper Hardware Support 0 07-02-2010 07:02 AM
hardware choices davcbr Hardware Support 4 07-26-2009 01:05 PM
Servers Manger|Settings|Streaming: Video Resolution Choices? PeteCress SageTV Placeshifter 0 05-23-2009 12:36 PM
EPG outside US: What are my choices? Moskus SageTV EPG Service 9 09-11-2008 12:50 AM
Video Out Choices Zub Hardware Support 0 10-02-2004 01:30 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.