SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:12 PM
Snuffy2 Snuffy2 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 93
Unable to Connect to the Sage Server with Sage Client

I just purchased the Sage Client today hoping to be able to watch recorded shows on my laptop in my bedroom (802.11g).

I installed the Latest Java 1.5.0.01 and the latest client & server (RC 2.2.6) & turned on the Server option on the Server.

I ran the client & after a min or so gave me the Sage Menu & I could see what recorded shows were there. BUT when I went to view the show I got the error that the connection had been lost & that it was trying to restore the connection, but it never did.

I took a look at the log file for the client & there are Java errors. I really don't know what they mean, but I'd bet they're why I can't connect. I've attached the log file.

Can anyone help?

Thanx
Attached Files
File Type: txt sagetvclient_1.txt (27.6 KB, 211 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2005, 09:30 PM
Snuffy2 Snuffy2 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 93
Here's the log file from the server as well.

The server IP is 192.168.100.50
Laptop is DHCP, but I believe right now it's 192.168.100.103
Router is 192.168.100.1


Edit: Apparently the log is too big (600kb) to attach.
So here it is: http://www.snuffy2.com/sagetv_0.txt
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2005, 03:58 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
The client logs show that the server is closing the connection
The server logs show some confusion about the IP address of the client (sometimes it uses 192.168.100.1, sometimes 192.168.100.103) -- which could be why it is closing the connection
Code:
Sun 3/6 22:05:26.902 SageTV received connection from:Socket[addr=/192.168.100.1,port=1230,localport=42024]
Sun 3/6 22:05:26.906 Received command of:LISTENER from Socket[addr=/192.168.100.1,port=1230,localport=42024]
Sun 3/6 22:05:26.936 Sending DB to client of size:5249371
Sun 3/6 22:05:35.598 SageTV received connection from:Socket[addr=/192.168.100.1,port=1231,localport=42024]
Sun 3/6 22:05:35.603 Received command of:HOOKED_NOTIFIER /192.168.100.103:1230 from Socket[addr=/192.168.100.1,port=1231,localport=42024]
Sun 3/6 22:05:35.603 Cleaning up c/s connection
Are both (client+server) machines on the same subnet, or both on the same side of the router?

In any case, you should log this as a support request with Frey.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2005, 12:36 PM
Snuffy2 Snuffy2 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by nielm
The client logs show that the server is closing the connection
The server logs show some confusion about the IP address of the client (sometimes it uses 192.168.100.1, sometimes 192.168.100.103) -- which could be why it is closing the connection
...snip...
Are both (client+server) machines on the same subnet, or both on the same side of the router?

In any case, you should log this as a support request with Frey.
192.168.100.103 is the Laptop
192.168.100.1 is the router

Yes they are on the same subnet & on the same side of the router. I will post this as support request as well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2005, 01:51 AM
nielm's Avatar
nielm nielm is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Belgium
Posts: 4,496
yes, I know .1 was the router: its just that there are incoming SageClient connections comming from the router's address in the servers log, and this may be related to your problem...

My client is on 192.168.0.40, and I always see incomming connections from this address, not my routers address... This address confusion could be causing the server problems, which may be why it disconects.

This could be a router problem: Do you have anything special set up on the router (eg one or other machine is the DMZ, port 42024 is forwarded etc)

(server log from a sucessful client startup below)
Code:
Tue 3/8 8:43:15.010 SageTV received connection from:Socket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3468,localport=42024]
Tue 3/8 8:43:16.122 Received command of:LISTENER from Socket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3468,localport=42024]
Tue 3/8 8:43:16.422 Sending DB to client of size:4061929
Tue 3/8 8:43:23.579 SageTV received connection from:Socket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3471,localport=42024]
Tue 3/8 8:43:24.090 Received command of:HOOKED_NOTIFIER /192.168.0.40:3468 fromSocket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3471,localport=42024]
Tue 3/8 8:43:24.094 SageTV received connection from:Socket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3472,localport=42024]
Tue 3/8 8:43:24.112 Received command of:HOOK_LISTENER /192.168.0.40:3468 from Socket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3472,localport=42024]
Tue 3/8 8:43:24.117 SageTV received connection from:Socket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3473,localport=42024]
Tue 3/8 8:43:24.124 Received command of:NOTIFIER /192.168.0.40:3468 from Socket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3473,localport=42024]
Tue 3/8 8:43:26.433 Received command of:GET_TIME from Socket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3473,localport=42024]
Tue 3/8 8:43:27.011 Received command of:ACTION GetServerProperty 2 from Socket[addr=/192.168.0.40,port=3473,localport=42024]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-08-2005, 07:05 AM
Snuffy2 Snuffy2 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by nielm
yes, I know .1 was the router: its just that there are incoming SageClient connections comming from the router's address in the servers log, and this may be related to your problem...

My client is on 192.168.0.40, and I always see incomming connections from this address, not my routers address... This address confusion could be causing the server problems, which may be why it disconects.

This could be a router problem: Do you have anything special set up on the router (eg one or other machine is the DMZ, port 42024 is forwarded etc)

...snip
OK, I see from your logs what you're saying. There are no DMZ computers & port 42024 is not forwarded.

As for anything else 'not normal' I can think of 2 things:
1. I am using a Linksys WRT54GS with the Sveasoft Alchemy pre7a firmware
2. I have a Apple Airport connected as a wireless repeater through WDS

My laptop connects through the repeater to the router. The Sage Server connects via ethernet directly to the WRT54GS.

I'll try having my laptop connect wirelessly directly to the WRT54GS & see if that helps (bypassing the repeater) & if I can, I'll try plugging in to the Router to see if that helps as well. I'll try to get to these this evening.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.