SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2020, 04:17 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
HD300 Gets Very Hot

One of my HD300's, which I have used for years, has suddenly started to get very hot. A few times, it just froze and I needed to power cycle it.

Suggestions on what I could do to stop it from getting so hot?

Alternatively, a method to keep it cool?

Thanks
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2020, 06:05 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,126
This might work to help keep it cool: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...94&postcount=4
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i3-7100T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.8.3, SageTV & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, 2 x Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 Dual TV Tuner Boards
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2020, 08:27 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 379
Many years ago, i had the same problem... the unit got so hot I couldn't put my hand on it for more than a few seconds. I simply put a 1"x1" piece of wood stock under the front of it, raising it off of the shelf. I just checked and can lay my hand on it for as long as I want. It is warm but not hot by any measure.

FWIW, the unit has never been turned off except for very short periods (minutes). I have used this same hack on several other HTPC devices with positive results.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-02-2020, 12:14 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
Just got one of these: https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00G059G86/

Went from very hot to cool to the touch.
https://i.imgur.com/alMU1YL.jpg
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-02-2020, 09:52 PM
xjim1's Avatar
xjim1 xjim1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: colorado
Posts: 198
Nice fan. But it makes me wonder what's making them heat up so much all of a sudden?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2020, 05:01 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by xjim1 View Post
Nice fan. But it makes me wonder what's making them heat up so much all of a sudden?
They are old. Even electronics wear out.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU; 8GB (2 x 4GB); 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: (2) HD300
Client: Mini-Client, ShieldTV
Client: (2) Mini-Client, Fire TV Stick 4K
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-05-2020, 07:03 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,302
Make sure the vents haven't been clogged with dust. That could easily explain the sudden change in cooling performance.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-05-2020, 08:27 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
Make sure the vents haven't been clogged with dust. That could easily explain the sudden change in cooling performance.
You have an HD300 with vents?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2020, 08:49 AM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
You have an HD300 with vents?
My HD300 has vent holes on the backside and the bottom. Yours doesnít?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2020, 10:34 AM
graywolf's Avatar
graywolf graywolf is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 1,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by peternm22 View Post
My HD300 has vent holes on the backside and the bottom. Yours doesnít?
I have 2 1x1 blocks that I sit mine on so it gets warm but not hot
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-05-2020, 10:54 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by graywolf View Post
I have 2 1x1 blocks that I sit mine on so it gets warm but not hot
That is essentially what I did -- as I said in message 3 above. Two blocks would probably be better but increasing the distance between the unit and the shelf by any amount/means has major impact on the temperature.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-2020, 07:21 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 418
I think Routerunner's Automatic Power Off plugin is valuable to extending the life of HD300s by making sure they are turned off when not in use. You can find the plugin here.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-06-2020, 01:09 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
I think Routerunner's Automatic Power Off plugin is valuable to extending the life of HD300s by making sure they are turned off when not in use. You can find the plugin here.
cool. didn’t even know it existed. Looks like it works with HD200’s as well. Super
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 08-06-2020 at 04:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-06-2020, 04:33 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
cool. didnít even know it existed. have you tried it with HD200ís as well?
Does it actually power it off or just put it in standby mode, which is the same as pressing the power off button? I need to keep mine in standby mode as I have a home automation system and I use a script that telnets into the extender and starts up the SageTV process that allows full IP, as opposed to IR, control of the extender.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-06-2020, 05:37 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Does it actually power it off or just put it in standby mode, which is the same as pressing the power off button? I need to keep mine in standby mode as I have a home automation system and I use a script that telnets into the extender and starts up the SageTV process that allows full IP, as opposed to IR, control of the extender.
Pressing the 'Power Off' button doesn't turn it off?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-06-2020, 05:52 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
I think Routerunner's Automatic Power Off plugin is valuable to extending the life of HD300s by making sure they are turned off when not in use. You can find the plugin here.
Do you use this plugin? I'm experimenting with it, and either I don't understand HOW it's implemented (likely), or, it doesn't work.

What is supposed to happen when either of the dwell times set in the plugin's configuration page is reached, i.e you 'Playback Timeout' or 'Inactivity Timeout' to a 'seconds' figure, and then what?
What operating status/mode does an HD300 have to be in for those dwell times to mean something?
Confused.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 08-06-2020 at 06:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-06-2020, 07:19 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
Pressing the 'Power Off' button doesn't turn it off?
No, it puts it in standby mode. The SageTV Extenders run a slimmed down version of Linux (Linux version 2.6.30-sigma) and still respond to pings when in standby and you can log into the extenders using telnet. When in standby it is running the "waitpower" process. If you kill the waitpower process it starts the "miniclient" process to run in extender mode, the same as pressing the power on button.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-06-2020, 07:36 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Does it actually power it off or just put it in standby mode, which is the same as pressing the power off button? I need to keep mine in standby mode as I have a home automation system and I use a script that telnets into the extender and starts up the SageTV process that allows full IP, as opposed to IR, control of the extender.
I believe it can do both. I think the default is standby which is what I use for my extenders, but I remember routerunner also mentioning you can also configure it to power down extenders if that is desired.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB HD300 heatvent SageTV Marketplace 0 01-12-2014 02:47 PM
WTB: HD300 AtariJeff SageTV Marketplace 0 04-29-2012 04:04 PM
Why does the HD300 Remote Control turn on/off HD300 in other room? mkanet Hardware Support 2 09-21-2011 10:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.