SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV EPG Service

Notices

SageTV EPG Service Discussion related to the SageTV EPG Service used within SageTV. Questions about service area coverage, channel lineups, EPG listings, XMLTV, or anything else related to the service or programming guide data for SageTV should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-21-2020, 07:30 PM
jaydub jaydub is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 68
Unable to Connect with Schedule Direct Server

I am no longer receiving updates from Schedules Direct...haven't received anything for two weeks. I went to the SD website, logged in, and everything seems fine and my subscription expires next April. I'm on SageTV V9.2.2.903 and everything was fine before I stopped receiving updates.

I think it might have something to do with changing my password at SD. How is Sage able to retrieve updates from SD unless is knows my user name and password. If that is true, where in Sage do you enter the SD user name and password?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-21-2020, 07:41 PM
peternm22 peternm22 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 661
To change your password:

Setup > Setup Video Source > Select one of your sources that uses Schedules Direct

Choose the option that says "EPG Lineup: ... " then select "Use Schedules Direct Guide Data with this Source"

It should then prompt you if you want to use your existing username/password or if you want to change them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-21-2020, 08:02 PM
jaydub jaydub is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 68
When I do that, a only get a message that says "There was a problem connecting with Schedules Direct server". I've tried removing the video source and then adding it back, but I get the same server error. So, since I can't connect and I didn't save my old lineup, I'm now down to one channel, Channel 1 HDMI, and I have to choose channels on my DirecTV remote.

Last edited by jaydub; 11-21-2020 at 08:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-21-2020, 09:45 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,635
If you think it's an authentication issue and for some reason the UI will not let you change your password, you can delete sdauth in the SageTV folder and be re-prompted for your password when you go to set the lineup next time.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-22-2020, 04:17 PM
jaydub jaydub is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 68
OK, deleting sdauth gets me back to where I can enter the SD user name and password. So I've verified that the user name and password in SD is that same as the one I'm entering into Sage (same combination of UC, LC and numbers). When I go into SD settings "Software You Use", I see that the only boxes checked are:
JSON: "SageTV" and "sdJSON". Are those the ones to use or should I delete one or both or check something else? Or does it even matter?

So I did a complete uninstall of SageTV, and that didn't help. When SageTV reaches out to Schedules Direct, I keep getting the same error, which is "There is a problem communicating with the Schedules Direct server".

It seems to be a Schedules Direct issue. I guess I'll have to ping them as well.

Last edited by jaydub; 11-22-2020 at 04:21 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2020, 01:23 AM
jaydub jaydub is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 68
Well I finally figured it out. The last Windows 10 update results in my problem in connecting with the Schedules Direct server. I re-imaged my drive with a backup made on 11/1/20, I then paused Win10 updates, and I get no communications error. I then downloaded the Win10 updates from later in November and I get the connecting problem!!! Given this fact set, anyone have an idea for a workaround. I can't keep Win10 updates at bay forever.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
extenders unable to connect to server hawkmoon SageTV Media Extender 0 06-08-2012 01:33 PM
PlaceShifter unable to connect to Server RonBoyd SageTV Placeshifter 3 09-11-2010 12:39 PM
"Unable to connect to the SageTV server at the specified address" -- Help, please... morpheus SageTV Software 7 07-08-2005 09:28 PM
Unable to Connect to the Sage Server with Sage Client Snuffy2 SageTV Beta Test Software 5 03-08-2005 07:05 AM
Unable to connect to SageTV Server ldavis SageTV EPG Service 3 09-05-2003 02:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.