SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2019, 02:36 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Getting lots of spinning circles and crashes all of a sudden...

Windows 7, 32 bit. Either something which was installed recently (Windows update) or a corrupted file, has caused bi-daily crashes of my Sage server. Hung-up system and spinning circle of death with non-responsive Sage software has been happening a few times a day. Recordings are either ruined in the middle or never happen.

Two tuners, one from satellite and one from cable box, but no evidence either one is the culprit. Although, changing channels on my satellite / Colossus card combo seems to cause the spinning-circle crash more often than the cable-box, HDPVR combo.

Plenty of space on the respective recording drives.

While I'm considering doing a complete re-build (it's been a couple of years), anyone have guess why this has started to happen, or maybe it's happening to someone else as well recently?

Thanks, and Happy New Year, Sage faithful...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 12-31-2019 at 02:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2019, 03:24 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,258
Sure sounds like a hard drive going down. Are you recording to the same drive that your operating system is on?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2019, 06:05 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Sure sounds like a hard drive going down. Are you recording to the same drive that your operating system is on?
Nope. OS is on a SSD, and the two tuners have dedicated, 3.5” 2TB record drives. But since you’ve said this, it would be an easy test to just yank the record drives, one at a time, and see if the problem persists...
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-01-2020, 07:50 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,258
You could start there. Will the system crash without Sage running at all (UI or Sage server)?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2020, 09:30 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is online now
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
You could start there. Will the system crash without Sage running at all (UI or Sage server)?
No, I believe the system runs fine. It is Sage only which locks up. I have to bring up Task Manager to end the Sage process at that point.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spinning Circles - how to dump thread stacks? graywolf SageTV Software 0 01-02-2017 04:12 PM
HD200 - Displaying 4x3 media on 1080p display - Get cropped image or oval circles gordykeene SageTV Media Extender 7 01-25-2010 03:58 PM
Circles - Stuttering on Sage Videos and DVDs mike1961 SageTV Software 4 12-24-2009 12:12 PM
Spinning wait circles on Music only mguebert SageTV Software 5 10-27-2008 12:47 PM
Constantly getting "Wait" circles Rurik SageTV Software 9 10-17-2008 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.