SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2011, 06:40 PM
4T2 4T2 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
DTV Serial control broken in windows 7 when running as a service?

I've been running sage for many years now.
I've just taken the plunge and re-built a new server and loaded up windows 7 ultimate x86.

I've come accross an odd problem with my dtv serial control.
I have 2 hd recievers that have been playing nice with patterson tv translators for years now.
They are connected to 2 HD-PVR's to my sage box.
I am unable to make the serial channel changing work when I have sage set to run as a service.
All works fine if I'm not running it as a service and works fine from a dtvcon.exe app I use to test them.

I'm at my wits end with the issue and wanted to know if anyone else has seen this, or better yet if someone else has seen this and fixed it.

I've tried turning off uac, tried setting the service to run as system instead of a user account, tried completly clean install of sage, all have the same result.


Running Sage version 7.0.23.246

OS = Win 7 Ult x86
CPU = intel core i5 2500k
BOARD = intel sandybridge chipset
RAM = 4GB
HDD = 4 x WD es3 1TB in raid 10
Capture = 2 x HD-PVR, 2 x 1600-ATSC
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-26-2011, 12:46 AM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
I don't have any insights as to why serial tuning isn't working for you, but if your DirecTV boxes have ethernet ports, you might take a look at HTTP tuning as an alternative.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-26-2011, 07:41 AM
MN Freeze MN Freeze is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1
Sage crash w/o admin privileges

Just upgraded my system to use serial control of my DTV box. In doing so, I had to remove my HD PVR as a source and then add it back in and specify serial control rather than IR. Everything works if I log in as admin, but when logged in with a non-admin user account, Sage crashes when it tries to tune in the HDPVR. I don't like running full time as admin due to security issues.

I have made sure my Recorded TV directory has full permissions for all users and verified that. I assume Sage is trying to write somewhere that it can't and that is what is causing the crash?

Don't know if it matters, but I am running latest Sage v7 on Windows 7.

Not sure where the conflict is, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

* merged *
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTV USB/Serial Control MrD Hardware Support 52 05-28-2010 10:47 AM
DTV Serial Control broke?? 4T2 Hardware Support 2 04-16-2008 09:01 AM
DirectTV serial control on dtv only? ryan711 Hardware Support 1 01-13-2006 11:43 PM
serial control of dtv ashenshugar SageTV Software 1 08-06-2003 06:49 AM
Thanks for the DTV Serial control... gpurcey SageTV Beta Test Software 1 08-01-2003 10:43 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.