SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2004, 11:34 PM
ripple ripple is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 72
Question Mpeg recording errors

I had no problems previously with 1.4, then upgraded to beta 14 when it came out and everything seemed okay for the first 5 days. Then last Wednesday I started getting recording problems.

Wednesday night I had 3 separate shows record without audio so I restarted everything. Now since Thursday I've had numerous shows seem to record, but when I play them back there are spots where it seems to freeze for a few seconds and then the counter jumps to the end. When I locate the .mpg file and try media player, it throws an error at those points saying it can't locate the media. If I play around enough sometimes I can find later parts of the show, but typically I just get multiple seconds of freezing and then skipping to the end.

Has anyone else seen this type of behavior with 14? If I can't rely on being able to watch what is recorded I'll probably have to go back to 1.4. All other 14 functionality seems to be okay and it seems like it was working fine for the first 5 days...

Thanks,
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2004, 07:05 AM
mlbdude's Avatar
mlbdude mlbdude is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 4,174
I have had this happen twice to me in my Sage life - once with 1.4 and once with a 2.0 beta. What Hauppauge driver version are you running?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2004, 08:17 AM
delgross delgross is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 65
I have had this happen on occasion with .14. In my case, simply playing another MPEG and then going back to the original allowed me to watch the one I wanted with the audio intact.

Ed
__________________
Edward Del Grosso
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2004, 10:16 AM
ripple ripple is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally posted by delgross
I have had this happen on occasion with .14. In my case, simply playing another MPEG and then going back to the original allowed me to watch the one I wanted with the audio intact.

Ed
delgross:
I also have seen glitches clear up after playing something else but not this time. Audio was missing even after restart of Sage and even when I played the mpg via media player. Frankly this hasn't happened since Wednesday - the thing I'm most worried about is the corrupted recordings I've been getting since then.

mlbdude:
I'll check the drivers tonight. I may be naive about this, but these are the same drivers I was using with 1.4 before and having no problems. Is it possible that the drivers have become corrupted or that 2.0.14 needs newer hauppauge drivers than 1.4 did to be stable?

Thanks for the comments.
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2004, 10:21 AM
mlbdude's Avatar
mlbdude mlbdude is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Melbourne, Florida
Posts: 4,174
Errors in the MPEG2 stream are generally generated by the Hauppauge card or its drivers itself. There could be lots of reasons but that is the best place to look first. I am using the same drivers from my 1.4 install as well, but they are pretty new.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2004, 12:41 PM
ripple ripple is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 72
I hadn't mentioned this before but I have 2 PVR-250 tuners. What is the latest stable version of the drivers that I should be looking for?

Given that I haven't had to touch the drivers before, what pieces would I need to reinstall... PVR-250 drivers, decoders, Sage, or all of the above?

Thanks,
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2004, 02:25 PM
ripple ripple is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Denver, CO USA
Posts: 72
Well the good news is that I've found the problem with recording errors and it wasn't Sage or Hauppauge.

Last night I rebooted the system and my 120GB Maxtor went through disk check and hung. When I ran the Maxtor diagnostics against the drive it failed the health checks. The "freeze and skip" spots during playback must have been read failures off the drive and now it's fried.

The drive is still under warranty so they're shipping me a new one. Anybody else have issues with Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 drives? Methinks it couldn't handle the constant use...

Thanks for all the help.
Kevin
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.