SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-11-2021, 08:28 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
Taking the plunge into Unraid/SageTV Docker

So, I have had two separate SageTV Linux Servers at two different houses for a few years now. Sold one of my houses now that I can work from home full time and have settled into the other house. The SageTV Server I have in the current house has been having some issues but I Decided to take the plunge and move from a pure linux install SageTV Server to an Unraid set up in the hopes that all my issues will disappear with the migration. Started reading on Unraid and I have about a million questions on Unraid in Genneral and the process of moving drives from one or both of my old Linux Servers to the new Unraid system when I get it set up. Is there a 101 Document for how to do this on the web. I am sure I am not the first person to move from a physical stand alone Server to an unraid Server while preserving existing data. If anyone has a link that would be great. At over 60 time to yet again learn more new things!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-11-2021, 08:51 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
IMHO, the best place to start is to watch Spaceinvader One videos (https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCZD...N0WeAPvMqTOrtA). An absolute wealth of knowledge, broken down into bite-sized chunks.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2021, 10:57 AM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 410
If you get your Unraid server up and running, you can then install the Community Applications plugin which adds an app store of sorts to the Unraid experience.

From that App Store, you can then install Unassigned Devices. This allows you to connect other drives (USB/Sata/Whatever) to your Unraid box and easily mount them without making them part of the Unraid management system/arrays etc.

You can then move files from your old drives to your new Unraid server.

+1 for Space Invader, several of his videos have helped me figure stuff out.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-11-2021, 11:15 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
Also, if your server is not currently on a UPS, I would strongly recommend one for your Unraid environment. Unraid already has support built-in for many UPS devices, it would just require (very) minor configuration in the webgui. The Unraid server would then gracefully shut down automatically in the event of a power failure.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-15-2021, 07:22 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker:WG View Post
If you get your Unraid server up and running, you can then install the Community Applications plugin which adds an app store of sorts to the Unraid experience.

From that App Store, you can then install Unassigned Devices. This allows you to connect other drives (USB/Sata/Whatever) to your Unraid box and easily mount them without making them part of the Unraid management system/arrays etc.

You can then move files from your old drives to your new Unraid server.

+1 for Space Invader, several of his videos have helped me figure stuff out.
So, started playing with Unraid and I am learning lots. Was planning on connecting my old storage drives with my videos to the new Unraid Server and copying them over. Could not find any details on how to do this. Do you use the command line or do you have a GUI file Manager like Windows File Explorer to do this? Is ther an App or plugin? Let me know please!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-15-2021, 07:40 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomii View Post
So, started playing with Unraid and I am learning lots. Was planning on connecting my old storage drives with my videos to the new Unraid Server and copying them over. Could not find any details on how to do this. Do you use the command line or do you have a GUI file Manager like Windows File Explorer to do this? Is ther an App or plugin? Let me know please!
Unraid comes with Midnight Commander built in, that would allow you to move files from an unassigned drive into the storage array without traveling over the network. See this link: https://wiki.unraid.net/Transferring..._unRAID_Server
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls

Last edited by KeithAbbott; 05-15-2021 at 10:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2021, 11:16 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,682
I installed the CloudCommander docker which gives you a midnight commander (dual pane) like tool for copying and viewing files. It works very well.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-15-2021, 05:40 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 410
Midnight commander or command line, whichever you prefer will work.

The key is to get Community Applications installed, then you can install Unassigned Devices plugin. That makes it easy to mount the drive.

Then you can use your preferred method to copy files around.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2021, 04:43 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
I have just about finished getting drives set up in my Unraid Server so I will move on to loading the SageTV docker soon. For some reason I was under the impression (from a long time back) that everything needed for the most part was included in that Docker Container. However I noticed yesterday that there is a OpenDCT Docker Image available. I do use OpenDCT with my current Linux Physical server. So, do I need to install both containers on the Unraid Server to utilize OpenDCT?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-18-2021, 05:00 AM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomii View Post
I have just about finished getting drives set up in my Unraid Server so I will move on to loading the SageTV docker soon. For some reason I was under the impression (from a long time back) that everything needed for the most part was included in that Docker Container. However I noticed yesterday that there is a OpenDCT Docker Image available. I do use OpenDCT with my current Linux Physical server. So, do I need to install both containers on the Unraid Server to utilize OpenDCT?
Yes.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, unRAID 6.9.2, SageTV (java11) & OpenDCT Dockers
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-20-2021, 05:53 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
So I started attempting to load the OpenDCT and SageTV Docker containers after spending a week learning about Unraid. Neither seems to work. For OpenDCT the Log file shows a few things including:

Connecting to dl.bintray.com (dl.bintray.com)|52.42.240.241|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 403 Forbidden

And the SageTV Log file shows:

Connecting to bintray.com (bintray.com)|75.126.118.184|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found
2021-05-20 11:43:20 ERROR 404: Not Found.

And I get "Error: Could not find or load main class sage.Sage" when starting the container

I tried to go to Bintray but is looks shut down? Am I doing something wrong or not understanding, or is there any way around this?

Last edited by phantomii; 05-20-2021 at 05:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-20-2021, 07:48 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 410
You're doing nothing wrong.

Bintray shut down their hosting of these resources.

There are a few people working on trying to migrate this to Github but until that is completed, it's not going to work.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-28-2021, 03:18 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,196
Watch this thread: https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=66727
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-06-2021, 08:41 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
So, time for an update on my progress and a few questions. Got an unraid server set up and have installed several Plugins as well as a few Dockers. Last one to install was the updated version of Stuckless's SageTV Java 11 container. I have all my data files ported to the new unraid server and everything appears to be working well.

I have a work around for my HDHR Primes and Cable TV. I am currently pointing to my old SageTV Server (Which I do need to repurpose) which still has OpenDCT running on it. So, I assume once there is a new usable docker for OpenDCT I will simply be able to change to those tuners.

Questions:

1. Can I copy the full contents of the appdata/sagetv/server directory to an old SageTV Linux Server I have around which has a problem plagued version of SageTV Install which I have not been able to get working correctly? I am thinking a full overwrite might fix it??? Thoughts???

2. Since I need to repurpose my old physical Server, could OpenDCT be loaded to a Linux VM on docker??? Is this ever possible???

Thanks for all everyone has done in keeping Sage TV alive. Still love it!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-07-2021, 04:15 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,682
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomii View Post
So, time for an update on my progress and a few questions. Got an unraid server set up and have installed several Plugins as well as a few Dockers. Last one to install was the updated version of Stuckless's SageTV Java 11 container. I have all my data files ported to the new unraid server and everything appears to be working well.

I have a work around for my HDHR Primes and Cable TV. I am currently pointing to my old SageTV Server (Which I do need to repurpose) which still has OpenDCT running on it. So, I assume once there is a new usable docker for OpenDCT I will simply be able to change to those tuners.

Questions:

1. Can I copy the full contents of the appdata/sagetv/server directory to an old SageTV Linux Server I have around which has a problem plagued version of SageTV Install which I have not been able to get working correctly? I am thinking a full overwrite might fix it??? Thoughts???

2. Since I need to repurpose my old physical Server, could OpenDCT be loaded to a Linux VM on docker??? Is this ever possible???

Thanks for all everyone has done in keeping Sage TV alive. Still love it!
1. Yeah, you should be able able to just copy/overwrite.
2. I thought there was already an opendct docker container... but, not sure if it's been updated in a while.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-07-2021, 05:20 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
Thanks for the reply Stuckless. Was pretty sure I had read that OpenDCT Docker was not working, maybe due to BinTray??? I did however attempt to install it using the default settings and it appeared to install successfully. However, it will not auto start (when I set it to) and if I manually start it then it stops a short while later. Could not find any way to run a setup if that is necessary??? Any other thoughts on why this will not run now that it is installed?

EDIT: I pulled up the Log and am pretty sure this will not install (though it said it was successful) as there are references to bintray: Here is the log file...

% Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed
Installing OpenDCT ...
--2021-06-07 05:06:45-- https://dl.bintray.com/opendct/Relea...t_-1_amd64.deb
Resolving dl.bintray.com (dl.bintray.com)... 52.42.38.157, 52.42.240.241, 35.155.196.247, ...
Connecting to dl.bintray.com (dl.bintray.com)|52.42.38.157|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 403 Forbidden
2021-06-07 05:06:46 ERROR 403: Forbidden.


dpkg-deb: error: 'opendct_-1_amd64.deb' is not a debian format archive

dpkg: error processing archive opendct_-1_amd64.deb (--install):

subprocess dpkg-deb --control returned error exit status 2

Errors were encountered while processing:
opendct_-1_amd64.deb
changed ownership of '/opt/opendct' from 99:users to sagetv:sagetv
changed ownership of '/etc/opendct' from 99:users to 99:sagetv
changed ownership of '/var/log/opendct' from 99:users to 99:sagetv
changed ownership of '/var/run' from root:root to root:sagetv
mkdir: cannot create directory '/var/run': File exists
OpenDCT Install Complete :-)
/usr/bin/install-opendct.sh: line 41: /etc/opendct/conf/opendct.properties: No such file or directory

Last edited by phantomii; 06-07-2021 at 06:12 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-07-2021, 07:33 AM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 410
if you take a look at this thread:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...62774&page=144

EnterNoEscape has posted the latest OpenDCT to Github.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-07-2021, 07:57 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker:WG View Post
if you take a look at this thread:

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/sho...62774&page=144

EnterNoEscape has posted the latest OpenDCT to Github.
Thanks so much for the quick reply but I am looking for the Docker Version which is for Unraid not just the .deb file. I have not seen the Docker to pull from Github vs. bintray being made available and trying to rework that myself seems a bit beyond my capabilities at this point.... I have just started using (and learning) unraid but building docker images or templates (or what ever the proper terminology is) is not something I am any where near ready to tackle today.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-07-2021, 10:43 AM
UgaData's Avatar
UgaData UgaData is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 414
I think Fuzzy put OpenDCT into a docker. Unfortunately, Fuzzy isn't around much anymore (if at all).

I know it probably isn't what you want to do, but maybe setup OpenDCT in separate VM under UnRaid, at least everything would be running under UnRaid.
__________________
"Unencumbered by the thought process"

The only constant in the Universe is change.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-07-2021, 11:11 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
I kinda figured Fuzzy was not really around anymore as I had not seen any posts by him forever. Was hoping this would be updated to look at Github. The failures I got basically look to me like it is looking for the deb file to load so I assume the Docker image might only need to be pointed to Github instead of Bintray. I would be willing to give it a shot (though I know very little about how docker images are built) but I don't even know where to find the current as a starting point.

With respect to setting up a VM, I asked that a few post up as I assumed that was a possibility. But being new to Unraid I have not yet set up a VM so just another things to learn!

Anyway, thanks for your response! I will continue to poke around and look for best options.....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV docker on unRAID 6.4 wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 37 02-22-2018 06:28 PM
SageTV - unRAID docker HW requirments? SomeWhatLost Hardware Support 21 01-10-2017 05:02 PM
SageTV Docker/unRAID now has a sub-forum stuckless SageTV for unRAID/Docker 0 10-10-2016 07:20 AM
Taking a plunge into the Freesat pool... Flatstanly SageTV United Kingdom 2 01-07-2009 06:53 AM
A couple questions before taking the plunge Donny Bahama SageTV Software 1 10-11-2007 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.