SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux > SageTV for unRAID/Docker

Notices

SageTV for unRAID/Docker Discussion related to SageTV for unRAID/Docker. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to SageTV for unRAID/Docker should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 06-07-2021, 05:51 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 410
I've done a couple of VM's in Unraid. They work well enough. Not too difficult to setup and you can do some direct hardware passthrough to them which has gotten much easier in the latest version of Unraid.

Lots of good info on the Unraid forums about setting up VM's as well.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-09-2021, 06:27 AM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
I now have my SageTV Server set up and running on Unraid along with OpenDCT. Almost everything is working perfectly though I have encountered one anomoly/issue. I was able to add the OpenDCT Docker tuners to my SageTV Docker. I was able to use these and they worked fine after a quick test from a Windows Client. When using the android client there is one minor issue I am not sure I understand. I have multiple Android devices as set top boxes. Where my old physical SageTV linux server with OpenDCT worked fine with these on Live TV, I am receiving an error on all my Android Clients when using the ExoPlayer. I believe it was a "Source Error" which I am not sure what that means.

After setting up the Unraid Server I moved all my recordings and imported media from my old physical server over to the new shares on Unraid and these all appear to play fine from the unraid SageTV Docker on the Android clients with the Exoplayer. But if I record new shows on the docker system (note: The actual process of recording appears to be functioning correctly) and play them on the Android client with the Exoplayer I also receive the "Source Error". So if I watch newly recorded shows or Live TV with the Exoplayer I get the error but old recordings and Imported files work fine.

So, if I change the Android clients to using the IJKplayer and change nothing else on the clients or server everything seems to work fine. Live TV functions and recordings (from the old system or new system) all play fine. Even new recordings that would not play with the Exoplayer play fine with the IJKPlayer. So I am a bit confused as I believe with the exception of moving from a Physical Server to the Unraid Server, everything seems to be the same including versions of SageTV and OpenDCT. So why did the clients stop working with Exoplayer? Is there a difference in the new OpenDCT recording from the old ones from the Physical Server??? If so, I am not sure I understand why???

I could use IJKplayer for now but I was under the impression that the Exo Player was better supported and the prefered option. So looking for any input or suggestions as I am not sure what else to look at to get the Android Clients to work with the Exoplayer.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-09-2021, 10:21 AM
Zogg's Avatar
Zogg Zogg is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomii View Post
I now have my SageTV Server set up and running on Unraid along with OpenDCT. Almost everything is working perfectly though I have encountered one anomoly/issue. I was able to add the OpenDCT Docker tuners to my SageTV Docker. I was able to use these and they worked fine after a quick test from a Windows Client. When using the android client there is one minor issue I am not sure I understand. I have multiple Android devices as set top boxes. Where my old physical SageTV linux server with OpenDCT worked fine with these on Live TV, I am receiving an error on all my Android Clients when using the ExoPlayer. I believe it was a "Source Error" which I am not sure what that means.

After setting up the Unraid Server I moved all my recordings and imported media from my old physical server over to the new shares on Unraid and these all appear to play fine from the unraid SageTV Docker on the Android clients with the Exoplayer. But if I record new shows on the docker system (note: The actual process of recording appears to be functioning correctly) and play them on the Android client with the Exoplayer I also receive the "Source Error". So if I watch newly recorded shows or Live TV with the Exoplayer I get the error but old recordings and Imported files work fine.

So, if I change the Android clients to using the IJKplayer and change nothing else on the clients or server everything seems to work fine. Live TV functions and recordings (from the old system or new system) all play fine. Even new recordings that would not play with the Exoplayer play fine with the IJKPlayer. So I am a bit confused as I believe with the exception of moving from a Physical Server to the Unraid Server, everything seems to be the same including versions of SageTV and OpenDCT. So why did the clients stop working with Exoplayer? Is there a difference in the new OpenDCT recording from the old ones from the Physical Server??? If so, I am not sure I understand why???

I could use IJKplayer for now but I was under the impression that the Exo Player was better supported and the prefered option. So looking for any input or suggestions as I am not sure what else to look at to get the Android Clients to work with the Exoplayer.

Thanks!
I'd post this in the Miniclient thread. Also, IIRC there was an issue with recordings from an HDHomeRun having the .MPG extension vs .TS. I think I had to make a change to a setting to get these to play properly with the miniclient. I think it was in the OpenDCT settings but it's been a few months. I think it's mentioned in that thread though.
__________________
-----
AMD Ryzen 5 3600, B450 m/b, 32Gig, lots of disks, Unraid, 2x HDPVR2 tuners, HDHomeRun Prime, HDHomeRun HDHR4 OTA, Windows Live Tuner, SageTV docker, OpenDCT docker, Win8.1 VM, EventGhost
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-09-2021, 11:00 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,981
You probably need to adjust the OpenDCT configuration to force it to use ffmpeg to re-encode the files. From what I have read one of these settings doesnít stick when you use Unraid. I think OpenDCT has both an overall/general default setting and als individual settings for each tuner - the overall general setting is the one that gets overwritten every tine you restart The docker.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-09-2021, 02:13 PM
phantomii phantomii is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
You probably need to adjust the OpenDCT configuration to force it to use ffmpeg to re-encode the files. From what I have read one of these settings doesnít stick when you use Unraid. I think OpenDCT has both an overall/general default setting and als individual settings for each tuner - the overall general setting is the one that gets overwritten every tine you restart The docker.
I modified the OpenDCT priorities file for each tuner based on what I found and ExoPlayer now appears to function properly. Will continue testing and finishing up my Unraid System. I am quite please how this has turned out!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV docker on unRAID 6.4 wayner SageTV for unRAID/Docker 37 02-22-2018 06:28 PM
SageTV - unRAID docker HW requirments? SomeWhatLost Hardware Support 21 01-10-2017 05:02 PM
SageTV Docker/unRAID now has a sub-forum stuckless SageTV for unRAID/Docker 0 10-10-2016 07:20 AM
Taking a plunge into the Freesat pool... Flatstanly SageTV United Kingdom 2 01-07-2009 06:53 AM
A couple questions before taking the plunge Donny Bahama SageTV Software 1 10-11-2007 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.