SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2007, 09:11 AM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 442
New MCE HD Media Extenders

Looks like Microsoft has beat Sage to market on this one...

Here are some previews of the new Linksys, Dlink, and Niveus Media designs:

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/media-cen...eta-304219.php

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/periphera...oys-304216.php

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/d_link/d+...ild-304191.php

Edit: I wonder if this is the real reason Narflex preemptively gave us an update on the Sage-branded device...

Last edited by mdnttoker; 09-27-2007 at 09:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2007, 09:19 AM
chrisc16's Avatar
chrisc16 chrisc16 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdnttoker View Post
Looks like Microsoft has beat Sage to market on this one...
Well, not really. The article says that the units will be available by the end of the year. Sage has tentatively announced their availability for mid-November. And I bet Sage's will be cheaper to boot...

-Chris
__________________
Win7, HDHomeRun, HD200
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2007, 10:14 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,760
The DLink units start at 300 bucks. I think where Sage will have an issue competing is in the high end setups. MS has also announced a 4 cablecard capable platform. If that ever ends up working right, watch out.

B
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2007, 11:12 AM
bhyman1 bhyman1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 347
Can it play ripped DVD's off the server?

If not, it's a waste of money.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2007, 11:42 AM
GbrNole GbrNole is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjenkins View Post
The DLink units start at 300 bucks. I think where Sage will have an issue competing is in the high end setups. MS has also announced a 4 cablecard capable platform. If that ever ends up working right, watch out.

B
$300 for the dlink? that's an incredible ripoff, i mean shoot, you can buy hd-dvd players for less than that now and i only paid 50 bucks more than that for my ps3!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2007, 01:47 PM
stevech stevech is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,643
Volume = low price
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2007, 02:02 PM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 442
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhyman1 View Post
Can it play ripped DVD's off the server?

If not, it's a waste of money.
The linksys media extender HAS an integrated DVD player...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-28-2007, 07:48 AM
heffe2001's Avatar
heffe2001 heffe2001 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Conover, NC
Posts: 1,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdnttoker View Post
The linksys media extender HAS an integrated DVD player...
One model does, one model doesn't, guess it depends on if you need it or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GbrNole
$300 for the dlink? that's an incredible ripoff, i mean shoot, you can buy hd-dvd players for less than that now and i only paid 50 bucks more than that for my ps3!
BUT your PS3 doesn't control a MCE box, nor let you use the plugins for MCE either. Same for the HD DVD player. $300 is a damn good price, especially if this is the price for the dvd-model.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc16
Well, not really. The article says that the units will be available by the end of the year. Sage has tentatively announced their availability for mid-November. And I bet Sage's will be cheaper to boot...
I hope they get their out first, or even at the same time, and at a lower price point (I seem to recall somewhere someone saying the Sage boxes would come in at around 200, if that's correct, I'll definitely replace my TV PC's with those). If they come out around the same price as the MCE ones, I'll be hard-pressed as to which I go with, Sage or MCE at that point. I've been using Sage for a long time, since 2003 I think, and MCE about the same length of time (beta'd MCE2005, and the original MCE extenders, just liked Sage more). It'd be a tough choice to switch, but I think my server hardware would be Vista Premium capable, just kind of scary thinking about the transition .
__________________
Server: AMD Phenom 2 920 2.8ghz Quad, 16gb Ram, 4tb Storage, 1xHVR-2250, 1 Ceton Cable Card adapter, Windows 7 SP1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-28-2007, 11:27 PM
Diginerd Diginerd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 173
Send a message via AIM to Diginerd Send a message via Yahoo to Diginerd
And what do the extenders give you that an XBox 360 Doesn't? Apart from RSI and quite possibly an improved social life?

Looking forward to the forthcoming Sage Extender. Now If I can just get this dual Firewire STB, Dual HD HomeRun setup running too then I'm going to be giggling like a schoolgirl over the holiday season!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-29-2007, 07:37 AM
eobiont eobiont is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver
Posts: 130
I wonder if they will let you stream CCI 0x02 (copy once) content. Tivo2Go won't. Why would cablelabs treat these any differently?

The true (dis)advantage this system and MCE in general is that it is cablelabs certified and so you can record any program you subscribe to with the cable company's blessing. With this system you are also at the mercy of DRM and the cable company will decide what you can do with the content once it is recorded.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-29-2007, 08:33 AM
Diginerd Diginerd is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 173
Send a message via AIM to Diginerd Send a message via Yahoo to Diginerd
I know the X-Box 360 handles that. It's considered one closed system. The copy prohibitions are if you cross the Demarc betewwen encrypted, CableLabs / Provider controlled space and the rest of the world.

In short you don't own your computer any more the content providers do.

With that sorry state of affairs and MythTv now having to charge for an EPG due to the whole Zap2It/Schedules direct fun Sage it looking more attractive by the minute...

Let's see:-

No recurring EPG fee

Record Multiple Permium HD streams from STBs via Firewire (In my case, touch wood none of the HD content is locked down, although that could change at any second)

Record Multiple Clear QAM feeds

Commercial Skip the lot of it

Just add a HD Media extender and it gets even more compelling. If you can't wait a Dell Vostro 200 tower and a graphics card enough to handle HD can be had for about $300 too...

|The UI enhancements once fully leveraged will go a long way to elevating Sage into a very serious contender.

I didn't realize how big a deal the recurring fee would be to sentiment in the MythTV community. A commercial product that works out ablut the same as a year of EPG data might actually stand a chance of swaying a few folks over.

I'm still not understanding the pricing of the MCE extenders though. I'll fess up. I bought a 360 to act as an HD extender for Vista MCE when I had a funny turn and decided to experiment. In the same ballpark as the new extenders, can even be augmented with HD-DVD if you feel that way inclined, and ultimately you can waste hours playing games on it too.

Conclustion with MCE: Very very pretty but really really annoying to loose much of the flexability of Sage. Also at the same time that it is attempting to be mass market it really isn't...

The only 2 devices that I feel have truly acheived a decent level of "Open The Box" usability are the TiVo and early Replay TV.

Sorry for the somewhat rambling post..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sony PS3 Ver 1.80 as HD media extender petertgreen SageTV Media Extender 18 09-26-2007 06:12 AM
Got sick of waiting for HD extenders. Went back to MCE and.. mohanman SageTV Software 13 06-09-2007 05:06 PM
HD Media Extender - Exactly When ? daz19 SageTV Media Extender 46 05-23-2007 01:51 AM
Multiple HD recording issue ptaylor Hardware Support 0 02-23-2007 11:10 PM
SageTV Announces Support for AMD LIVE!(TM) Home Cinema and Home Media Server Narflex Announcements 0 01-10-2007 09:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.