SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2008, 03:15 PM
bbig119 bbig119 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 158
recordings location optimization

I've got a Sage server on my HTPC with 1TB recording space which is running Vista. Recently, I wanted more space so I threw in a couple more terrabytes into a linux fileserver connected on a gigabit network. Because my local drive(HTPC) was nearly full, sage immediately started recording everything to the fileserver. I'm a little worried about the ability of my network, the fileserver and the software raid-5 array being able to handle multiple HD streams recording and possibly accessing one simultaneously.

To alleviate my fear, I manually most of my recordings over to the fileserver recordings directory one night and now Sage is happily recording new things primarily locally which I like.

Now to my question: Is there a way within sage to automate this? Shuffle recordings(possibly the older ones) to the fileserver so that the local drive always stays more free for fresh recordings?

I suppose I could also easily write up some script and load it up with cron to do this, but I'm sure others have run into this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2008, 03:20 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
My SJQ plugin should be able to do this task quite easily. You can script the copy so it only copies shows that are so many days old and/or have been watched, etc., etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-03-2008, 07:44 AM
bbig119 bbig119 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
My SJQ plugin should be able to do this task quite easily. You can script the copy so it only copies shows that are so many days old and/or have been watched, etc., etc.
Excellent! I'll take a look at this when I get home tonight. Sounds like what I'm looking for, thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
recording, server, space


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV FAQ Narflex SageTV Software 45 04-15-2011 08:34 AM
Windows Client - No Recordings ntk2 SageTV Beta Test Software 1 08-01-2008 11:26 AM
SageTV Recordings Are Suddenly Renamed chrisc16 SageTV Software 4 05-21-2008 01:42 PM
Recordings missing jjstok SageTV Software 2 04-02-2007 12:35 PM
STV: Cayars17 Ultimate STV (Release 17 - Jan 18) Cayars SageTV Customizations 3664 12-13-2005 05:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.