SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2017, 02:08 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is online now
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 687
Question MKV's and HD300

I have had this happen a few times, where certain MKV files play fine in the Client or Placeshifter, but all I get is a blank screen on an HD300. I usually just end up converting them to MPEG. But I am getting more and more MKV files that I need to convert.

Is there a way to play MKV files on a HD300?

P.S. I also tried and they do not play on the mini-client.

Thanks,
John
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2017, 02:53 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,571
If they are h265 videos then the HD300 won't play it. The MiniClient can, but, the MiniClient would require a V9 Server. Other than that, not sure why they would not play. I have seen this before, and typically it's because of an audio or video codec that that's not fully supported. I think sagetv will try to transcode on the fly when that happens (I think).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2017, 03:11 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is online now
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 687
This is the media info of a file that will not play.

Code:
General
Unique ID                                : 179688189490607465410086776249805315371 (0x872EAFBD1AF93170ACB36FB39E5E1D2B)
Complete name                            : \\MYNAS\Movies\@PlayLater\Ant-Man (2015).mkv
Format                                   : Matroska
Format version                           : Version 4 / Version 2
File size                                : 6.83 GiB
Duration                                 : 1 h 57 min
Overall bit rate mode                    : Variable
Overall bit rate                         : 8 347 kb/s
Encoded date                             : UTC 2015-11-22 13:11:35
Writing application                      : mkvmerge v8.5.2 ('Crosses') 64bit
Writing library                          : libebml v1.3.3 + libmatroska v1.4.4

Video
ID                                       : 1
Format                                   : HEVC
Format/Info                              : High Efficiency Video Coding
Format profile                           : Main 10@L4@Main
Codec ID                                 : V_MPEGH/ISO/HEVC
Duration                                 : 1 h 57 min
Bit rate                                 : 5 372 kb/s
Width                                    : 1 920 pixels
Height                                   : 1 038 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 1.85:1
Frame rate mode                          : Constant
Frame rate                               : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:0
Bit depth                                : 10 bits
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.112
Stream size                              : 4.39 GiB (64%)
Writing library                          : x265 1.8+109-f722fb55404b:[Windows][MSVC 1900][64 bit] 10bit
Encoding settings                        : wpp / ctu=64 / min-cu-size=8 / max-tu-size=32 / tu-intra-depth=2 / tu-inter-depth=2 / me=3 / subme=3 / merange=57 / rect / amp / max-merge=3 / temporal-mvp / no-early-skip / rdpenalty=0 / no-tskip / no-tskip-fast / strong-intra-smoothing / no-lossless / no-cu-lossless / no-constrained-intra / no-fast-intra / open-gop / no-temporal-layers / interlace=0 / keyint=240 / min-keyint=23 / scenecut=40 / rc-lookahead=30 / lookahead-slices=0 / bframes=8 / bframe-bias=0 / b-adapt=2 / ref=3 / limit-refs=3 / limit-modes / weightp / weightb / aq-mode=3 / qg-size=32 / aq-strength=1.00 / cbqpoffs=0 / crqpoffs=0 / rd=6 / psy-rd=0.50 / rdoq-level=2 / psy-rdoq=10.00 / signhide / deblock / sao / no-sao-non-deblock / b-pyramid / cutree / no-intra-refresh / rc=crf / crf=20.5 / qcomp=0.80 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / ipratio=1.10 / pbratio=1.10
Default                                  : Yes
Forced                                   : No

Audio #1
ID                                       : 2
Format                                   : FLAC
Format/Info                              : Free Lossless Audio Codec
Codec ID                                 : A_FLAC
Duration                                 : 1 h 57 min
Bit rate mode                            : Variable
Bit rate                                 : 2 781 kb/s
Channel(s)                               : 8 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate                               : 10.417 FPS (4608 spf)
Bit depth                                : 24 bits
Stream size                              : 2.27 GiB (33%)
Writing library                          : Lavf57.10.101
Default                                  : Yes
Forced                                   : No

Audio #2
ID                                       : 3
Format                                   : AC-3
Format/Info                              : Audio Coding 3
Format settings, Endianness              : Big
Codec ID                                 : A_AC3
Duration                                 : 1 h 57 min
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 192 kb/s
Channel(s)                               : 2 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L R
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate                               : 31.250 FPS (1536 spf)
Bit depth                                : 16 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 161 MiB (2%)
Title                                    : Commentary
Language                                 : English
Service kind                             : Complete Main
Default                                  : No
Forced                                   : No
I am guessing the problem is caused by the HEVC video codec.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2017, 04:07 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
This is the media info of a file that will not play.

Code:
General
Unique ID                                : 179688189490607465410086776249805315371 (0x872EAFBD1AF93170ACB36FB39E5E1D2B)
Complete name                            : \\MYNAS\Movies\@PlayLater\Ant-Man (2015).mkv
Format                                   : Matroska
Format version                           : Version 4 / Version 2
File size                                : 6.83 GiB
Duration                                 : 1 h 57 min
Overall bit rate mode                    : Variable
Overall bit rate                         : 8 347 kb/s
Encoded date                             : UTC 2015-11-22 13:11:35
Writing application                      : mkvmerge v8.5.2 ('Crosses') 64bit
Writing library                          : libebml v1.3.3 + libmatroska v1.4.4

Video
ID                                       : 1
Format                                   : HEVC
Format/Info                              : High Efficiency Video Coding
Format profile                           : Main 10@L4@Main
Codec ID                                 : V_MPEGH/ISO/HEVC
Duration                                 : 1 h 57 min
Bit rate                                 : 5 372 kb/s
Width                                    : 1 920 pixels
Height                                   : 1 038 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 1.85:1
Frame rate mode                          : Constant
Frame rate                               : 23.976 (24000/1001) FPS
Color space                              : YUV
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:0
Bit depth                                : 10 bits
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.112
Stream size                              : 4.39 GiB (64%)
Writing library                          : x265 1.8+109-f722fb55404b:[Windows][MSVC 1900][64 bit] 10bit
Encoding settings                        : wpp / ctu=64 / min-cu-size=8 / max-tu-size=32 / tu-intra-depth=2 / tu-inter-depth=2 / me=3 / subme=3 / merange=57 / rect / amp / max-merge=3 / temporal-mvp / no-early-skip / rdpenalty=0 / no-tskip / no-tskip-fast / strong-intra-smoothing / no-lossless / no-cu-lossless / no-constrained-intra / no-fast-intra / open-gop / no-temporal-layers / interlace=0 / keyint=240 / min-keyint=23 / scenecut=40 / rc-lookahead=30 / lookahead-slices=0 / bframes=8 / bframe-bias=0 / b-adapt=2 / ref=3 / limit-refs=3 / limit-modes / weightp / weightb / aq-mode=3 / qg-size=32 / aq-strength=1.00 / cbqpoffs=0 / crqpoffs=0 / rd=6 / psy-rd=0.50 / rdoq-level=2 / psy-rdoq=10.00 / signhide / deblock / sao / no-sao-non-deblock / b-pyramid / cutree / no-intra-refresh / rc=crf / crf=20.5 / qcomp=0.80 / qpmin=0 / qpmax=51 / qpstep=4 / ipratio=1.10 / pbratio=1.10
Default                                  : Yes
Forced                                   : No

Audio #1
ID                                       : 2
Format                                   : FLAC
Format/Info                              : Free Lossless Audio Codec
Codec ID                                 : A_FLAC
Duration                                 : 1 h 57 min
Bit rate mode                            : Variable
Bit rate                                 : 2 781 kb/s
Channel(s)                               : 8 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: L R, LFE
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate                               : 10.417 FPS (4608 spf)
Bit depth                                : 24 bits
Stream size                              : 2.27 GiB (33%)
Writing library                          : Lavf57.10.101
Default                                  : Yes
Forced                                   : No

Audio #2
ID                                       : 3
Format                                   : AC-3
Format/Info                              : Audio Coding 3
Format settings, Endianness              : Big
Codec ID                                 : A_AC3
Duration                                 : 1 h 57 min
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 192 kb/s
Channel(s)                               : 2 channels
Channel positions                        : Front: L R
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 kHz
Frame rate                               : 31.250 FPS (1536 spf)
Bit depth                                : 16 bits
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Stream size                              : 161 MiB (2%)
Title                                    : Commentary
Language                                 : English
Service kind                             : Complete Main
Default                                  : No
Forced                                   : No
I am guessing the problem is caused by the HEVC video codec.
That's the problem. Now, the Android MiniClient with V9 server should play this provided the Box has HEVC codec support (NVidia Shield an MiBox2 does). Some phones might have it as well, but not sure all phones/tablet do.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2017, 04:17 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is online now
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 687
So I guess the only answer is to convert it to an mpeg file.

Is there a list of what codecs the HD300 will play?
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2017, 05:14 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,829
I think HEVC is about the only standard video format it doesn't play, since it didn't exist when the HD300 was released.
__________________
Server: Athlon II X4 630 CPU, Gigabyte MA770T-UD3P (AM3) Motherboard, VisionTek Radeon HD4670 PCIe w/ Component output to 50" CRT Rear-Projection HDTV (Mitsubishi), Win7-64Bit (Home Premium), 4GB RAM
Capture Devices (8 tuners): Colossus (x1), HD-PVR (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2017, 06:25 AM
poto poto is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: 29349
Posts: 45
Is there any possibility of SageTV Server v9/HD300 combo ever being able to playback x265 stream via on-the-fly transcode?

I can understand developers targeting efforts on the increasing numbers of miniclient users vs the fixed, or slowly decreasing, HD300 users (myself included).

If, however, a fix were possible, it would certainly extend the HD300/HD200 service life another 4-5 yrs, as cpu cycles have never been cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2017, 08:31 AM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by poto View Post
Is there any possibility of SageTV Server v9/HD300 combo ever being able to playback x265 stream via on-the-fly transcode?

I can understand developers targeting efforts on the increasing numbers of miniclient users vs the fixed, or slowly decreasing, HD300 users (myself included).

If, however, a fix were possible, it would certainly extend the HD300/HD200 service life another 4-5 yrs, as cpu cycles have never been cheaper.
The video would, by necessity, be required to be transcoded in real-time to H.264. The HD200/HD300 extenders are pure hardware decoders. There is no way to augment that functionality to include new video encoding formats. Even if there was we don't have the licensing from Silicon Image to make those changes. As such the SageTV media extenders can no longer receive updates. This is the reason so much focus has been on getting the Android client working.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2017, 12:03 PM
poto poto is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: 29349
Posts: 45
So, understanding that the the HD300 is unable to be modified to accept HEVC, is there any way for h.265 to h.264 transcode to be handled on the server side?

I don't have enough knowledge of how sagetv client/server interacts to know if my request is technically impossible, too much effort for too small a user base, or somewhere in between, but it would be nice to find out either way.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-12-2017, 12:20 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by poto View Post
So, understanding that the the HD300 is unable to be modified to accept HEVC, is there any way for h.265 to h.264 transcode to be handled on the server side?

I don't have enough knowledge of how sagetv client/server interacts to know if my request is technically impossible, too much effort for too small a user base, or somewhere in between, but it would be nice to find out either way.
I'm sure it's possible but it would probably take a lot of work.

To my knowledge SageTV only streams to extenders without transcoding unless they are used as remote clients. Even then the transcoder, FFMPEG, is a rather old version and knows nothing of H.265. I have experimented with H.265 using my Mi Box. Currently only local devices that have native HEVC support using the Android client can play those videos. Even then the codec is unrecognized by SageTV. It doesn't even show the "HEVC" fourcc for those videos.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-12-2017, 12:34 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by poto View Post
So, understanding that the the HD300 is unable to be modified to accept HEVC, is there any way for h.265 to h.264 transcode to be handled on the server side?

I don't have enough knowledge of how sagetv client/server interacts to know if my request is technically impossible, too much effort for too small a user base, or somewhere in between, but it would be nice to find out either way.
That's not completely out of the question, since I believe there is a way to tell the SageTV server to transcode a specific codec. I'm not sure what would need to happen to try this out, but I imagine the experience would be like placeshifting.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-12-2017, 12:38 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnterNoEscape View Post
That's not completely out of the question, since I believe there is a way to tell the SageTV server to transcode a specific codec. I'm not sure what would need to happen to try this out, but I imagine the experience would be like placeshifting.
I thought sagetv did that, today, automatically. When I building out the MiniClient, I had to tell it what codecs I supported, and, anything that I didn't support, I thought that sagetv would try to transcode. Typically when I saw the "black" screen I thought it was sagetv trying to transcode on the fly, but my computer was not fast enough to handle it. Jeff would know for sure
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-12-2017, 01:08 PM
Taddeusz Taddeusz is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 3,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I thought sagetv did that, today, automatically. When I building out the MiniClient, I had to tell it what codecs I supported, and, anything that I didn't support, I thought that sagetv would try to transcode. Typically when I saw the "black" screen I thought it was sagetv trying to transcode on the fly, but my computer was not fast enough to handle it. Jeff would know for sure
If that's the case then it would likely be a matter of modernizing SageTV's FFMPEG so that SageTV can recognize and transcode HEVC video. Also, since that HEVC is more computationally intensive you'd need a more powerful CPU or hardware acceleration for decoding it.
__________________
Server: i5 8400, ASUS Prime H370M-Plus/CSM, 16GB RAM, 15TB drive array + 500GB cache, 2 HDHR's, SageTV 9, unRAID 6.6.3
Client 1: HD300 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia 65" 1080p LCD and optical SPDIF to a Sony Receiver
Client 2: HD200 (latest FW), HDMI to an Insignia NS-LCD42HD-09 1080p LCD
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-12-2017, 01:26 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I thought sagetv did that, today, automatically. When I building out the MiniClient, I had to tell it what codecs I supported, and, anything that I didn't support, I thought that sagetv would try to transcode. Typically when I saw the "black" screen I thought it was sagetv trying to transcode on the fly, but my computer was not fast enough to handle it. Jeff would know for sure
Ah. That's what I was thinking about. I only had faint memories of this being discussed months ago.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 06-13-2017, 01:35 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I thought sagetv did that, today, automatically. When I building out the MiniClient, I had to tell it what codecs I supported, and, anything that I didn't support, I thought that sagetv would try to transcode. Typically when I saw the "black" screen I thought it was sagetv trying to transcode on the fly, but my computer was not fast enough to handle it. Jeff would know for sure
I think it is a combination of things - part of which is probably dependent on sage not even being able to properly detect the codec, so it doesn't know to transcode it, or what it needs to transcode. I've honestly never touched an HEVC file, so I can't attest to what it tries to do, but this would be my first guess. It may not be hard to add in the ability for sage to recognize and pass on the files more appropriately, but I doubt the transcoding experience would be ideal based on the relatively ancient ffmpeg binaries in use.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 06-13-2017, 03:57 PM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
It would be nice to have the video transcode feature for the extenders where a codec is not supported, they added this for audio codecs a long time ago -

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34098

3. Added property 'miniclient/disabled_audio_codecs' which allows disabling of specific audio codecs for an extender/placeshifter which will then require the server to transcode that format (i.e. you want to disable DTS pass-through)
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 06-13-2017, 08:16 PM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by starfire View Post
It would be nice to have the video transcode feature for the extenders where a codec is not supported, they added this for audio codecs a long time ago -

https://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=34098

3. Added property 'miniclient/disabled_audio_codecs' which allows disabling of specific audio codecs for an extender/placeshifter which will then require the server to transcode that format (i.e. you want to disable DTS pass-through)
The capability is there for video as well. The old MediaMVP could only play back SD MPEG-2, and sage will auto-transcode other formats to that for playback. There are two issues though.

1. Sage doesn't know h.265 is a thing, so it's medaiformat detection doesn't really make the connection that it needs to transcode
2. Sage's transcoding engine doesn't contain an h.265 decoder.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room

Last edited by Fuzzy; 06-13-2017 at 08:20 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 06-14-2017, 01:41 AM
starfire starfire is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: England, UK
Posts: 505
OK cheers, I understand.

Can you get those two issues resolved please?
__________________
2 X HD300, 2 X HD100 & KVM unRAID Host with SageTV Docker using TBS 6285 Quad DVB-T2 & TBS 6984 Quad DVB-S2 Tuners
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 06-14-2017, 04:48 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,571
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
The capability is there for video as well. The old MediaMVP could only play back SD MPEG-2, and sage will auto-transcode other formats to that for playback. There are two issues though.

1. Sage doesn't know h.265 is a thing, so it's medaiformat detection doesn't really make the connection that it needs to transcode
2. Sage's transcoding engine doesn't contain an h.265 decoder.
I think that #1 might be solved, though. I know when the Android MiniClient first encountered h265 it could not play it. Jeff showed me how to change the server to allow it to work, it was a small change, if I recall. But I think the server knows about it, it just can't do anything with it, but it will pass to a client, as is, now.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 06-14-2017, 07:26 AM
Fuzzy's Avatar
Fuzzy Fuzzy is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Jurupa Valley, CA
Posts: 9,957
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I think that #1 might be solved, though. I know when the Android MiniClient first encountered h265 it could not play it. Jeff showed me how to change the server to allow it to work, it was a small change, if I recall. But I think the server knows about it, it just can't do anything with it, but it will pass to a client, as is, now.
I think that change was to just pass it on untouched if it didn't know what the codec was... that did not enable sage to actually detect what it was (primarily because as mentioned, SageTVTranscoder, which is what sage uses to fall back on format detection, doesn't have hevc in it). MediaFormat.java, and a couple other files, have a coded in list of formats that sage is aware of - they need to be updated to include h.265, and the detection system needs to be updated accordingly.
__________________
Buy Fuzzy a beer! (Fuzzy likes beer)

unRAID Server: i7-6700, 32GB RAM, Dual 128GB SSD cache and 13TB pool, with SageTVv9, openDCT, Logitech Media Server and Plex Media Server each in Dockers.
Sources: HRHR Prime with Charter CableCard. HDHR-US for OTA.
Primary Client: HD-300 through XBoxOne in Living Room, Samsung HLT-6189S
Other Clients: Mi Box in Master Bedroom, HD-200 in kids room
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hd300, mkv


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD300 LWM4P SageTV Marketplace 0 12-16-2013 06:12 PM
Looking for HD300 LHuisingh SageTV Marketplace 2 12-05-2013 12:13 PM
WTB: 2 HD300's NoodleNT SageTV Marketplace 2 01-06-2013 12:24 PM
Why does the HD300 Remote Control turn on/off HD300 in other room? mkanet Hardware Support 2 09-21-2011 10:55 AM
HD300 and PAL doc SageTV Beta Test Software 4 09-24-2010 05:31 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.