SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-2007, 07:13 AM
PhillJones PhillJones is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 270
How to fix ripped DVD playback issues

I've been experimenting with copying DVDs to the HDD and playing them back and I've run into a problem.

The only DVD I've tried gets to a certain point and just hangs. Sage is totally unrecoverable and I have to turn the PC off to regain control. The issue seems to be that purevideo is balking at this file at a specific place. I've tried the file in WMP and it hang in the same place each time. It plays fine in vlc so obviously the file isn't totally borked.

The problem is that I need purevideo as it's the only decoder that'll playback HD recordings without stuttering.

Hos do you deal with issues like this? I've heard about an mpeg cleanup programme, maybe that'll help?
__________________
AMD Athalon 2400-M (2200MHz) 1Gb memory, nVIDIA 6600GT fanless, 1x300Gb pata, 1x500Gb sata, PVR-150MCE, Motorola cable box: firewire recording, MCE 2005 remote (OEM), Windows MCE2005, Sage v5.0.4, SageMC v6.13a, Pioneer PDP503-CMX 50" Plasma, HK630 HT receiver

Wish List: BBC radio player, AR correction in photo viewer, Netflix Watch Now
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2007, 12:41 PM
popechild popechild is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 725
Since it sounds like you've only tried one and it's hanging at the same place, why don't you just try to re-rip that particular dvd?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2007, 12:47 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,842
You could also look into running the VOBs through VideoReDo's "quick stream fix" function. That program works wonders for me, it fixes everything from sync issues to broken GOPs. My wife quipped that she was thinking about asking the authors of VideReDo to make "HusbandReDo". I told her that was asking way too much of them and her only hope was to reauthor her spouse
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2007, 04:54 PM
PhillJones PhillJones is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
You could also look into running the VOBs through VideoReDo's "quick stream fix" function. That program works wonders for me, it fixes everything from sync issues to broken GOPs. My wife quipped that she was thinking about asking the authors of VideReDo to make "HusbandReDo". I told her that was asking way too much of them and her only hope was to reauthor her spouse
VideoReDo, that was what I was thinking of. I'll take a look at it.
__________________
AMD Athalon 2400-M (2200MHz) 1Gb memory, nVIDIA 6600GT fanless, 1x300Gb pata, 1x500Gb sata, PVR-150MCE, Motorola cable box: firewire recording, MCE 2005 remote (OEM), Windows MCE2005, Sage v5.0.4, SageMC v6.13a, Pioneer PDP503-CMX 50" Plasma, HK630 HT receiver

Wish List: BBC radio player, AR correction in photo viewer, Netflix Watch Now
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2007, 05:07 PM
PhillJones PhillJones is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by popechild View Post
Since it sounds like you've only tried one and it's hanging at the same place, why don't you just try to re-rip that particular dvd?
This is more than a technical excercise to proove it can be done in principle. If I have to re-rip mulitple times to get a version that works, it'll be no use to me.
__________________
AMD Athalon 2400-M (2200MHz) 1Gb memory, nVIDIA 6600GT fanless, 1x300Gb pata, 1x500Gb sata, PVR-150MCE, Motorola cable box: firewire recording, MCE 2005 remote (OEM), Windows MCE2005, Sage v5.0.4, SageMC v6.13a, Pioneer PDP503-CMX 50" Plasma, HK630 HT receiver

Wish List: BBC radio player, AR correction in photo viewer, Netflix Watch Now
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-01-2007, 06:18 AM
PhillJones PhillJones is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 270
With the second rip, I get the same hang at the same place. If you leave sage for half an hour or so it finally gives the error message 'Insufficient Memory'.
__________________
AMD Athalon 2400-M (2200MHz) 1Gb memory, nVIDIA 6600GT fanless, 1x300Gb pata, 1x500Gb sata, PVR-150MCE, Motorola cable box: firewire recording, MCE 2005 remote (OEM), Windows MCE2005, Sage v5.0.4, SageMC v6.13a, Pioneer PDP503-CMX 50" Plasma, HK630 HT receiver

Wish List: BBC radio player, AR correction in photo viewer, Netflix Watch Now
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-01-2007, 08:38 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Maybe try FixVTS.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-01-2007, 05:50 PM
PhillJones PhillJones is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Maybe try FixVTS.
Thanks for that pointer, i'll definately try that.
__________________
AMD Athalon 2400-M (2200MHz) 1Gb memory, nVIDIA 6600GT fanless, 1x300Gb pata, 1x500Gb sata, PVR-150MCE, Motorola cable box: firewire recording, MCE 2005 remote (OEM), Windows MCE2005, Sage v5.0.4, SageMC v6.13a, Pioneer PDP503-CMX 50" Plasma, HK630 HT receiver

Wish List: BBC radio player, AR correction in photo viewer, Netflix Watch Now
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV V6.1.7 Release Candidate Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 1 04-05-2007 12:26 PM
DVD Playback is Dark on TV rmbu Hardware Support 2 02-11-2007 10:40 AM
No Audio with Sage dvd playback tsitalon1 SageTV Software 2 11-04-2006 10:50 PM
DVD playback error tasdisr SageTV Software 3 02-26-2006 02:20 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.