SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2008, 07:45 AM
RandyJohnson RandyJohnson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 122
Suggestions please...

Which is the best way to access Sage content across a WAN Internet connection between two physical locations?

What would be the minimum required Internet/network upload speed from the server's location and download speed to the client's location?

Does the HD extender work across a WAN connection?

Thanks in advance.

Any suggestions and/or thoughts are appreciated.

Randy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2008, 08:02 AM
paulbeers paulbeers is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyJohnson View Post
Which is the best way to access Sage content across a WAN Internet connection between two physical locations?

What would be the minimum required Internet/network upload speed from the server's location and download speed to the client's location?

Does the HD extender work across a WAN connection?

Thanks in advance.

Any suggestions and/or thoughts are appreciated.

Randy

The Placeshifter app was created for this very purpose. Your Sage server sits at your house and you load up the Placeshifter client app on your laptop at a hotel somewhere and waaalllaaaa...you have instant access to your files.

FYI: Most High speed access (cable broadband especially) limits your upload speed. I know my access regularly tests downloads at over 4mb/s, but my upload is about a quarter of that speed. The video then has to be transcoded to a lower bit rate by your sage server in order to meet the confines of your internet connection.

The HD Extender would not work for this. Even if it could, it couldn't display a true high def image due to the downconverting of the video.
__________________
Sage Server: AMD Athlon II 630, Asrock 785G motherboard, 3GB of RAM, 500GB OS HD in RAID 1 and 2 - 750GB Recording Drives, HDHomerun, Avermedia HD Duet & 2-HDPVRs, and 9.0TB storage in RAID 5 via Dell Perc 5i for DVD storage
Source: Clear QAM and OTA for locals, 2-DishNetwork VIP211's
Clients: 2 Sage HD300's, 2 Sage HD200's, 2 Sage HD100's, 1 MediaMVP, and 1 Placeshifter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:30 PM
RandyJohnson RandyJohnson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 122
I have played with the Placeshifter as I have travelled.

I was able to get recorded TV show to playback.

I was not able to get any ripped DVDs to playback. Anything that I need to do to make this work?

Does anybody have any idea what the minimum upload speed needs to be from the server for good quality playback?

Thanks again...

Randy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:50 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyJohnson View Post
I was not able to get any ripped DVDs to playback. Anything that I need to do to make this work?
Placeshifter does not support DVD playback. You could try importing the VOB files separately (outside a DVD folder structure), then play them via a playlist.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2008, 01:14 PM
RandyJohnson RandyJohnson is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wichita Kansas
Posts: 122
Thanks...

Then are there any solutions that would give me complete access to the existing Sage infrastructure?

How much bandwidth is required to use an HD extender across a WAN interface?

How much bandwidth is required to use a SageClient across a WAN interface?

Is it even possible?

Randy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2008, 01:53 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
No transcoding happens with SageTVClient, so to use that over a WAN you'd need bandwidth comfortably larger than the bitrate of the media you're trying to play. SD media run about 3-5 Mbps or more, HD about three times that. Then double those numbers (at least) to get an idea of the WAN bandwidth required for acceptable playback.

I don't own an HD extender but I assume similar considerations apply, i.e. for the formats it can decode directly, the server is going to stream the raw data at its native bitrate without transcoding.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2008, 04:56 PM
mayamaniac's Avatar
mayamaniac mayamaniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,177
The SageTV Client and HD Extender is not meant to work over WAN. Heck, they don't work that well over wireless LAN, nevermind the limited bandwidth of most WAN services. They won't even connect to the server over WAN unless you use some sort of VPN solution. Do what Opus4 said, extract the vob to a folder and make a playlist to play DVDs over WAN with the Placeshifter.
__________________
Mayamaniac

- SageTV 7.1.9 Server. Win7 32bit in VMWare Fusion. HDHR (FiOS Coax). HDHR Prime 3 Tuners (FiOS Cable Card). Gemstone theme.
- SageTV HD300 - HDMI 1080p Samsung 75" LED.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dedicated tuner for LiveTV - suggestions? wado1971 SageTV Software 6 04-20-2008 10:33 PM
nvidia 8600GT vs ati 2600Pro AND TV Card suggestions alijiwani Hardware Support 14 11-17-2007 06:26 PM
Hardware suggestions needed sleonard Hardware Support 6 11-27-2006 11:13 PM
Imported Video Suggestions Necro SageTV Beta Test Software 0 10-11-2006 08:55 PM
Computer suggestions bmcraig Hardware Support 4 09-04-2006 11:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.