SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2008, 07:39 PM
christianwoodwa christianwoodwa is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Unhappy PlaybackException -4 Problem Rendering Video Portion

I have just recently installed SageTV and am now attempting to setup my video input. The card is working properly and I can use TVTime to view the video (coming in on S-Video). Here is my logfile:


Tue 11/11 17:35:24.023 V4L: Set encoding property audiooutputmode to 0
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.023 V4L: Set encoding property audiocrc to 0
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property gopsize to 15
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property videobitrate to 3800000
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property inversetelecine to 0
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property closedgop to 0
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property vbr to 0
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property outputstreamtype to 10
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property width to 720
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property height to 480
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property audiobitrate to 384
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property audiosampling to 48000
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property disablefilter to 1
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property medianfilter to 3
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property fps to 30
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property ipb to 0
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property deinterlace to 0
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: Set encoding property aspectratio to 1
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: ioctl: failed to set VIDEO_BITRATE_MODE to 1.
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: ioctl: failed to set VIDEO_BITRATE to 3800000.
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.024 V4L: ioctl: failed to set VIDEO_BITRATE_PEAK to 5000000.
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.025 V4L: setEncoding0NewInterface
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.025 V4L: ioctl: failed to set MPEG_STREAM_TYPE to 3.
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.025 V4L: ioctl: failed to set AUDIO_SAMPLING_FREQ to 1.
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.025 V4L: ioctl: failed to set AUDIO_L2_BITRATE to 13.
Tue 11/11 17:35:24.026 V4L: setup encoding /var/media/tv/video0SVideo-0.mpgbuf

I can tell that the "failed to set" messages are most likely my issue, but I couldn't find any reference to it anywhere. This is a ubuntu 8.10 system.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:57 AM
cenwesi cenwesi is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 311
i am also getting this....any luck getting it working again...
PS: i have pvr-500mce
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2008, 11:49 AM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,761
Are you both running 64-bit? Running as root? Which version of Java?

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-05-2008, 12:13 PM
cenwesi cenwesi is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 311
Hi,

Yes, i am running 64bit Intrepid, yes the service ran as root and the client as a user. I am running java:

java version "1.6.0_0"
IcedTea6 1.3.1 (6b12-0ubuntu6) Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_0-b12)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 1.6.0_0-b12, mixed mode)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2008, 02:46 PM
cenwesi cenwesi is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 311
I am now 100% sure this is a SageTV problem... Just tried MythTV and the PVR 500mce worked....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2008, 04:08 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,761
Do you have all the 32-bit libs installed? I think while the errors are annoying, they aren't causing issues. However, the other thing I think I would try is setting the card up before launching SageTV using the v4l tools. Are you building your own drivers or using the ones from Ubuntu?

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2008, 08:26 PM
cenwesi cenwesi is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 311
Hi, can you list all the 32-bit libs let me see if i have them installed. How do you setup the card using v4l tools.... i have looked at v4l2-ctl, but there are no examples anywhere on how to set things up.

thanks

Quote:
Do you have all the 32-bit libs installed? I think while the errors are annoying, they aren't causing issues. However, the other thing I think I would try is setting the card up before launching SageTV using the v4l tools. Are you building your own drivers or using the ones from Ubuntu?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-05-2008, 08:37 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,761
do a ldd |grep not\ found

anything not found?
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-05-2008, 09:24 PM
cenwesi cenwesi is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 311
i did:
root@svr:/opt/sagetv/server# ldd *.so | grep not\ found
libTSnative.so => not found
libiec61883.so.0 => not found
libraw1394.so.8 => not found
libavc1394.so.0 => not found
librom1394.so.0 => not found
libTSnative.so => not found
libavformat-minimal.so.52 => not found
libavcodec-minimal.so.52 => not found
libavutil-minimal.so.49 => not found
libTSnative.so => not found
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-06-2008, 12:32 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,761
These should be addressed: libavformat-minimal.so.52 => not found
libavcodec-minimal.so.52 => not found
libavutil-minimal.so.49 => not found

TSnative is in the SageTV directory and is added at launch. The others are related to firewire drivers.

I would google for the lib name and ubuntu to find what package they are in.

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-06-2008, 03:43 PM
cenwesi cenwesi is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 311
nothing so far on google. i was under the impresion you had sagetv working on ubuntu 64bit. I know you currently run ArchLinux 64bit and have it working there. I really don't want to run 32bit ubuntu when i have a 64bit cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-06-2008, 08:21 PM
bcjenkins bcjenkins is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,761
Looking through an older thread came upon this:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...1&postcount=27

And read down more info in the thread. I use server only playback is extender. The missing libs above are in the 6.5.3 install which version are you running?

B
__________________
Running SageTV on unRAID via Docker
Tuning handled by HDHR3-6CC-3X2 using OpenDCT
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-08-2008, 08:14 AM
cenwesi cenwesi is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 311
hmmm...looks like i have these installed
g++ install
g++-4.3 install
gcc install
gcc-4.2-base install
gcc-4.3 install
gcc-4.3-base install
lib32gcc1 install
libgcc1 install
ia32-libs install

NOT installed...
================
mercurial
gcc-4.2-multilib
gcc-multilib

Note quite sure if the mercurial is the problem... I thought it as included in kernel 2.6.27?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-09-2008, 01:22 PM
drewg drewg is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by cenwesi View Post
Hi,

Yes, i am running 64bit Intrepid, yes the service ran as root and the client as a user. I am running java:

java version "1.6.0_0"
IcedTea6 1.3.1 (6b12-0ubuntu6) Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_0-b12)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 1.6.0_0-b12, mixed mode)
I'm not sure I've ever heard reports of the OpenJDK java working with SageTV. Maybe this is the problem?

Using the wrong Java can cause you a world of pain. Try the Sun Java Runtime Environment (jre) 1.5. Install it in its own location (I put mine in /opt/jre1.5.0_16/) and add that to the beginning of the PATH variable for the user running SageTV so that it is picked up prior to the system java.

BTW, has anybody tried the latest Sun 1.6 JRE on Linux? People over in "general" seem to like it for Windows use.

Drew
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video problems with ATI fglrx driver svemuri SageTV Linux 4 01-22-2008 03:57 PM
Problem Adding New Video Source - Locks Up EChodun Hardware Support 1 01-12-2008 12:13 PM
No Video but Audio...Decoder Problem, Maybe? geogecko General Discussion 5 11-12-2007 11:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.