SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2009, 06:04 PM
kzawicki kzawicki is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 9
No Sound from SageClient on Vista x64

Got a Brand new Dell Insp 530s with Vista x64 and am trying out SageClient (6.5.9.204) to play media from my XP Sage Server. Everything LOOKS good, but can't get ANY sound from Sage. WMP11 plays the media (SD & HD recordings and MP3s) with the sound just fine.

I have tried all the audio renderers and decoders available in Sage without success. I was able to get the "error rendering audio" when playing MP3 to go away by adding the "videoframe/mp3_audio_decoder_filter=MP3 Decoder DMO" line to my SageClient.Properties file but it didn't help with actually getting sound. Have tried toggling mute both within Sage and in Vista. Have checked volume settings in both Sage and Vista.

Can anyone recommend anything else to try? Could it have anything to do with default install location to "c:\Program Files (x86)\sagetv" instead of "c:\program files\sagetv"?

Thanks,
Kevin

Last edited by kzawicki; 02-13-2009 at 07:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2009, 07:24 PM
kzawicki kzawicki is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 9
Update

UPDATE

1. Got audio to work, but only with volume ALL THE WAY UP (Might not have tried THAT before). Settings: EVG, Sage MPEG Video Decoder, Audio Renderer Speakers (RealTek HD), Sage MPEG Audio Decoder. Volume output is NOT linear to the slider position. Starting new search to solve this.

2. MP3s work but WMAs still give "error rendering audio" Another new search to figure this out.

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2009, 08:16 PM
kzawicki kzawicki is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 9
Update 2

Got better volume/slider correlation by changing the following SageClient.Properties to true:

media_player_uses_system_mute=true
media_player_uses_system_volume=true

With these settings, the Sage mute button doesn't work at all and the Sage and system volume controls are not linked. If I leave the mute value as false, at least the mute in Sage works, but it also moves the volume slider all the way to 0% on mute and 100% on un-mute. Mute doesn't do this when both values are false.

Took out the "videoframe/mp3_audio_decoder_filter=MP3 Decoder DMO" line in properties file and can still play MP3s fine. I must have only been testing WMAs before. Still haven't figured out why my WMAs don't play on this Sage but they do on my XP box.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2009, 04:11 AM
kzawicki kzawicki is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 9
I solved my WMA problem when I solved my ripped DVD playback problem. Turns out that Sage Client needs to have direct file access for some media types. Therefore, I have changed all my media import directories to UNC paths. So instead of V:\MyMedia, it reads \\SageServerName\MyMedia and I have shared the V:\MyMedia folder as "MyMedia". Hope this helps someone else out there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio, sound, vista, x64


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with PVR-500 in Vista x64 chaos215bar2 Hardware Support 7 01-21-2009 11:03 AM
SageMC and Vista x64 dbone1026 SageTV Software 5 12-10-2008 08:12 PM
Best Capture Cards for Vista X64 based system Stuntman Hardware Support 0 11-19-2008 10:19 AM
Intermittent choppy video/sound in Vista x64 SP1 archcommus SageTV Software 10 05-03-2008 12:20 AM
Vista X64 & MCE500 problem vinisz Hardware Support 5 08-27-2007 03:43 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.