SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV BETA Release Products > SageTV Beta Test Software

Notices

SageTV Beta Test Software Discussion related to BETA Releases of the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. regarding SageTV Beta Releases should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2010, 12:01 PM
jimbo67 jimbo67 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 53
Windows 7 wake from S3 sleep and record

I am using Windows 7, 64bit

I can put my computer into S3 sleep but it will not wake up and record shows. I thought SageTv would automatically do this but I must be missing some setting.

See signature for hardware software setting.
__________________
SageTv 7 latest updates, Motherboard Gigabyte GAMA790GP-DS4H Bios v.f6, CPU AMD Phenom II x4 Black Edition 550, Video ATI 4670, 8 gig memory, Windows 7 64 bit, Usb Uirt driver 20601 firmware 5.9, Motherboard Gig Nic, OTA Tuners: HDHomeRun with 20100213 firmware and software, Avermedia PCIe m780 with latest drivers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2010, 12:53 PM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo67 View Post
I am using Windows 7, 64bit

I can put my computer into S3 sleep but it will not wake up and record shows. I thought SageTv would automatically do this but I must be missing some setting.

See signature for hardware software setting.
Did you configure the Sage TV service, or did you just ran the client application?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-29-2010, 12:57 PM
jimbo67 jimbo67 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 53
It is running as a service
__________________
SageTv 7 latest updates, Motherboard Gigabyte GAMA790GP-DS4H Bios v.f6, CPU AMD Phenom II x4 Black Edition 550, Video ATI 4670, 8 gig memory, Windows 7 64 bit, Usb Uirt driver 20601 firmware 5.9, Motherboard Gig Nic, OTA Tuners: HDHomeRun with 20100213 firmware and software, Avermedia PCIe m780 with latest drivers
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2010, 04:41 AM
fac13 fac13 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 199
Do you have other tasks which *do" manage to wake your pc from S3? If not, perhaps you could try using the Windows Task Scheduler to create one to test this? You might also want you check your bios settings to see if there is anything relevant there.

I run Windows 7 x64 and Sage wakes from S3 ok. As far as I know this behaviour is hard-wired, and the only thing you can control is how many minutes before the recording is due to start you want this to happen.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2010, 12:02 PM
jimbo67 jimbo67 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 53
I ran a little test with the Windows Schedule manager.

the machine will not wake up and perform a non SageTv task. It will wake up when I press a keyboard key.

I can see this is not a SageTv problem but, do you have any ideas?
__________________
SageTv 7 latest updates, Motherboard Gigabyte GAMA790GP-DS4H Bios v.f6, CPU AMD Phenom II x4 Black Edition 550, Video ATI 4670, 8 gig memory, Windows 7 64 bit, Usb Uirt driver 20601 firmware 5.9, Motherboard Gig Nic, OTA Tuners: HDHomeRun with 20100213 firmware and software, Avermedia PCIe m780 with latest drivers
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2010, 12:43 PM
fac13 fac13 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 199
I'm afraid this isn't my specialist subject and I'm sure you realise you're not posting in the best place.

If you've already checked your bios settings for anything relevant perhaps you could have a look through the Windows Event Viewer logs? Windows->System Events would be the place to start.

Other than that I suggest you try the forums for your motherboard manufacturer; it's unlikely you're the only one to have hit this problem.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-30-2010, 01:03 PM
teedublu's Avatar
teedublu teedublu is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 198
you probably have to enable the wake timers, which is under the Advanced link on the power settings page per control panel.

At least that was true for me in Win 7.

I'm not sure if it defaults that way or if was inherited from an existing power profile.

TW
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-01-2010, 08:34 AM
jimbo67 jimbo67 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 53
thanks for the suggestions

the wake timers are enabled

it may be a problem with my usb-uirt driver, this is known to cause problems
__________________
SageTv 7 latest updates, Motherboard Gigabyte GAMA790GP-DS4H Bios v.f6, CPU AMD Phenom II x4 Black Edition 550, Video ATI 4670, 8 gig memory, Windows 7 64 bit, Usb Uirt driver 20601 firmware 5.9, Motherboard Gig Nic, OTA Tuners: HDHomeRun with 20100213 firmware and software, Avermedia PCIe m780 with latest drivers
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-01-2010, 08:18 PM
Diego Garcia Diego Garcia is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 264
I had a similar problem with my system, which I "solved" by changing the BIOS settings so that only S1 was enabled (i.e., the mobo won't let the OS attempt to put the system into the S3 state).

This doesn't save as much power. But it does let Sage reliably wake up the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-02-2010, 01:32 AM
rtengvad rtengvad is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 425
Hmm, Gigabyte is usually quite reliable with its wake up and resume procedures. I’ve had 3 mobos and use S3 with no issues.

Try to unplug as much as possible to see if it 3’rd party related.


Rasmus
__________________
Server: Win7 • SageTV v7.1.9 • GA-MA785GM-US2H • Athlon 64 X2 BE-2350 • 2 Gb RAM • 4x 1Tb WD RE-2 GP in RAID5, Adaptec 5405 Raid controller • 2x firewire DVB-C FloppyDTV C/CI, 1x TechnoTrend CT-3650 CI via the LM Smart DVB Recorder plug-in.

Clients: HD300 to a Samsung PS50C7705 (PN50C8000) via a DVDO Edge • HD200 • Placeshifter

Remote: Universal Remote Control MX-980
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-02-2010, 05:32 PM
notverysage notverysage is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 70
Hi - I had similar problems on my Windows 7 32 bit box. After some research here's some advice based on what I did:
1. Go to Control Panel / Power Options. Under Preferred Plans, select High Performance (Sage wouldn't wake the plan called Power Saver, so I switched to this). Next to High Performance click on Change Plan settings. Set times for monitor to shut off and computer to sleep. Click Change Advanced Power Settings, expand sleep, expand Allow Wake Timers and make sure this is enabled.
2. Go to Control Panel / Device Manager. Expand Mice and other pointing devices. Highlight mouse, right click on it, click on Properties, click on Power Management tab. Uncheck box for "Allow this device to wake the computer".
3. Do same as the above (#2) for your Network Adapters and USB Root hubs (expand Universal Serial Bus Controllers to find these). I didn't do this for the keyboard. Since I'm not allowing the mouse to wake the computer (mice sometimes cause problems) the only way to wake it is by hitting a key on the keyboard.
4. Get to a command prompt as follows: click Start, type CMD, right click on CMD.exe, click on Run as Administrator. At the command prompt, type in this:
powercfg -devicequery wake_armed
This will tell you which devices can wake the computer and can help with your troubleshooting. Next, type this command:
powercfg -energy
This generates a report which it puts in C:\Windows\System32\energy-report.html. You can double click on this file and it will open in a browser. On mine the error section highlighted a driver that was making a request that prevented the computer from going to sleep. The driver name was \FileSystem\srvnet. I think this driver is for my wireless router. After doing some more research I typed in this command to override the driver's request to keep the computer awake:
powercfg -requestsoverride DRIVER srvnet System.
To verify that the command worked I typed in this command:
powercfg -requestsoverride
This generated the following result:
[SERVICE]
[PROCESS]
[DRIVER]
srvnet SYSTEM

This verified that the offending driver is being overridden. You don't have to keep entering this command every time you boot the machine; it stays in effect.

I did all this several days ago. My machine now goes to sleep automatically and Sage wakes it to record OTA TV. As you can see, those brilliant programmers at Microsoft have made this really easy.

BTW in the BIOS of my machine (Dell Precision 380) under the power management section there is a Suspend Mode with choice of S1 and S3 - I have it set to S3. Also I turned on Remote Wake Up to allow integrated NIC to wake the machine. I did this because I'm hoping the HD300 I have on order will be able to wake the machine over the network (Wake on LAN or WOL) but we'll see.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-05-2010, 08:46 PM
notverysage notverysage is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 70
Update - HD300 arrived today. In order to get the HD300 to wake up the server (Wake on LAN or WOL) I had to go into Control Panel / Device Manager, highlight and right click on the network adapter, click the power management tab, and click allow device to wake the computer. Having done this, I put the computer back to sleep and was able to get the HD300 to wake it up, although it took a little while. Now I'll have to see whether with this changed setting the server is able to go to sleep automatically as it was before.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-06-2010, 05:14 AM
notverysage notverysage is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 70
OK one more tweak and it seems to be working. Last night when Leno started to record not only did the PC wake up but the monitor came on and didn't want to shut itself back off, so I said uh oh and went back into Control Panel / Device Manager per my last post. On the power management tab for the network adapter, I had already checked the box for "Allow this device to wake the computer". Under that is another box that says "Only allow a magic packet to wake the computer". I checked that, and now the monitor shut itself off like it's supposed to and the computer went to sleep automatically after Leno and Fallon had recorded. Then this morning the HD300 was able to wake it up so it looks like "magic packet" = WOL.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-06-2010, 04:37 PM
jimbo67 jimbo67 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 53
Thanks for your suggestions.

Sorry I took some time to get back. I have been doing some testing with all of your ideas.

What I finally got to work was a combination of notverysage's ideas and S1 sleep mode.

I have never used S1 sleep mode before. It just seems to make the computer a little groggy and not really sleep but it is better than nothing.

thanks for all your help
__________________
SageTv 7 latest updates, Motherboard Gigabyte GAMA790GP-DS4H Bios v.f6, CPU AMD Phenom II x4 Black Edition 550, Video ATI 4670, 8 gig memory, Windows 7 64 bit, Usb Uirt driver 20601 firmware 5.9, Motherboard Gig Nic, OTA Tuners: HDHomeRun with 20100213 firmware and software, Avermedia PCIe m780 with latest drivers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
s3 sleep and wake, sleep


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV wake a sleeping computer to record? cnr1089 SageTV Mac Edition 9 03-19-2011 08:41 AM
Can SageTV wake itself up to record a show then return to sleep/standby? blueroom SageTV Software 16 05-20-2009 04:18 PM
SageMC ...Wake Server/PC to Record... joelinkup SageTV Software 4 01-10-2009 02:49 PM
Can the HD extender wake the server from sleep? DFranch SageTV Media Extender 4 11-29-2007 11:28 AM
Ctrl-z to sleep, what to wake? Todd33 SageTV Beta Test Software 15 04-02-2004 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.