SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-27-2013, 11:07 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
New SageTv install on Win7 64bit - VM

I am trying to install a fresh copy of sage to a Hyper-V VM. Flat install went fine, extenders no issue ...

Except one, no video, black screen on all extenders on all video - live tv, ripped dvd, mkv, avi, mpg - all!

I am trying to do the minimum install for this. So the basic SageTv 7.1.9 install should be able to watch live TV (TS Stream) and native DVD rips?

Or do I need to install codecs for this? And if so what is the best? ffDshow, Shark, Divx mf etc? I have my own favorites but what is deemed to be the best with Sage at this point?

I have not had to mess with any of this with Sage in many years, and well I have forgoten more then I remember at this point.

Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-27-2013, 12:19 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 1,870
If you are using one of the Sage Extenders (as opposed to the old Hauppauge extenders), it shouldn't matter what codecs you have on the server. Almost everything should be decoded by the hardware inside the extender and the server should not have to do any transcoding or anything.

My guess is that you have a firewall problem. The extenders require several ports to be open on the firewall (you'll have to check the manual to see which ones). Try disabling your firewall temporarily to see if it works.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2013, 08:13 PM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Thank you for that advice, I had forgotten about the ports needed.

But it is the worst possible cause, my HD300 will not play back anything. I switched to another 300 and it worked just fine. Very strange as it will display the UI just fine. I guess I need to try the Beta firmware and see if that fixes anything. I was running the last stable build FW release.

It figures, I was going to resurect my Sage server in to a VM. I guess I have some work ahead of me to try an resurect my HD300 instead ...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-28-2013, 09:42 AM
Skybolt's Avatar
Skybolt Skybolt is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,027
Man did I get lucky! I reloaded the last beta FW and the HD300 started working again!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP (32bit) to Win7 (64bit) with Sage 6.6.2.218? bellyman SageTV Software 1 12-07-2011 09:13 AM
Best non-PVR tuner card for 64bit Win7 / Comcast box?? kkelley929 Hardware Support 14 10-21-2010 06:08 PM
converting from win7 32bit to 2008 64bit rdefino SageTV Beta Test Software 6 09-28-2010 02:26 PM
Win7 64bit - unsigned drivers QueOnda Hardware Support 7 05-26-2010 08:34 AM
Problem when running in Win7 64bit rdefino SageTV Software 1 11-30-2009 12:47 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.