SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v9 Customizations > Gemstone for v9

Notices

Gemstone for v9 This forum is for discussing the user-created Gemstone custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-18-2021, 08:50 AM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 346
Weather fix & data update

The free weather api provided by Yahoo was retired in Febuary & turned off on June 1,2021. That is why everyone is getting the 0 display. As far as I can determine our best option is to fix the darksky integration to use openweathermap.org instead. They offer instructions on their website for this very instance. It would mean getting a free api license similar to what we did with darksky.

https://openweathermap.org/darksky-openweather#match

I am not a coder or I would do the fix myself. I hope someone that can do so will see this.

I am not ready to give up on Sagetv yet!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-18-2021, 09:31 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
This also may require different tweaks depending on the UI. I use Gemstone and I think it has separate coding for weather.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-18-2021, 11:05 AM
Galaxysurfer Galaxysurfer is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB CANADA
Posts: 346
I figured it wouldn't be that simple. I am just hoping the respective codes can be reconfigured for replacement api.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-18-2021, 03:59 PM
garbageman garbageman is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tillsonburg Canada
Posts: 48
Is there a way I can disable the weather feature in Gemstone until there is a solution? Gemstone trying to get darksky information is severely slowing down startup and menu navigation. Once I change to yahoo weather in the widget everything is fine although the weather info is incorrect. The widget keeps reverting back to darksky on a sagetv service restart.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2021, 10:43 AM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 930
Any more thoughts on this? Is there a way to disable it or get darksky to work?
It's been so long I forgot how everything works!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2021, 11:33 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
Changing the weather site to Yahoo gives me 0 as the temperature and thunderstorms but at least it doesn't cause slowness.

You can go into the Widget Manager and turn off the Weather Widget. You can also turn off Weather backgrounds, which I have done, but I still have a weather background. Maybe I need to go into the main Settings menu to turn on another background set.

I think I have turned everything off, but I still see a weather icon and temperature in the top bar of my menu.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-30-2021, 11:41 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
After moving around the menu a bit the weather background has gone away but now I have no backgrounds. I will have to figure out how to add some sort of backgrounds into the system. If you go into Theme Settings - Background Manager you can add Custom Backgrounds and assign them to menus. I think that there should be some backgrounds on a SageTV install, if only from the default UI, but I haven't bothered to look for them yet.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-30-2021, 12:25 PM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 930
Thanks for the info...

I killed the widget. Now, like you, I have it in the top bar. I can probably live with that. It will be accurate a couple times a year in the winter!! :-)

I do like the weather background images.. So I'll keep those... Until they cause me to have delays...

I wish we could get some sort of weather back on gemstone!
I assume most the developers have gone away... We still use sage a lot... but it is a lot less than a couple years ago!

Jim
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-30-2021, 12:29 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
I sent a PM to jusjoken who wrote Gemstone. I think he is still around - maybe he can get around to making a change to the openweather api. Going by that link posted in post 1 it shouldn't be too hard to make the change.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-02-2021, 01:47 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,258
As a number of people are affected I will carve out some time to take a look at what is involved and work to resolve. No promises on how long it might take but at some time will need testers.

As I no longer use Sagetv I will need to setup a development and test environment

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-02-2021, 06:08 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
Thanks Ken, that's awesome. We really appreciate it.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-02-2021, 06:54 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,497
Maybe you could set up a donation page so that you aren't doing this for nothing. Of course 50 or 60 bux a month is probably equivalent to nothing, but ... you know.

I love Gemstone, I'd be in.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-02-2021, 10:11 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,258
I am always open to any small donation to the cause through my PayPal account... Feel free either way.

jusjoken.us@gmail.com

I plan to update the gemstone weather and then possibly see what can be done in the default stv for getting weather back...but I cannot guarantee a quick turnaround, but I did make some progress today in reviewing the api amd getting my server vm running again.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-03-2021, 06:19 AM
deanm deanm is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North East, UK
Posts: 306
Quick question. Is there a weather API for SageTV. Not really looked.

Just I have been playing around with the openweather api and it seams easy to get data out. Just never looked to see how I get that data into STV.

Deanm
__________________
Darkside: DVB-C x4 DVB-T2 x2 HD-300 x4
Lightside: DVB-C x2 DVB-T2 x4 HD-300 x3
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-03-2021, 08:53 AM
jbuszkie's Avatar
jbuszkie jbuszkie is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westminster, MA
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by jusjoken View Post
I am always open to any small donation to the cause through my PayPal account... Feel free either way.

jusjoken.us@gmail.com

I plan to update the gemstone weather and then possibly see what can be done in the default stv for getting weather back...but I cannot guarantee a quick turnaround, but I did make some progress today in reviewing the api amd getting my server vm running again.

Ken
Thanks so much for this!!!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-03-2021, 09:50 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,258
I have also started a Patreon page for those that want to follow along a provide any support for my efforts...see my signature below.

I will post some details hopefully tomorrow

Ken
__________________
If you wish to see what I am up to and support my efforts visit my Patreon page
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-05-2021, 07:30 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
Can I suggest that those of us still using SageTV give Ken (aka jusjoken) "a little something for the effort" on his Patreon page. We can't all grant total consciousness on one's deathbed.

__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-05-2021, 07:46 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 442
Big hitter, the jusjoken. Long.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-06-2021, 11:27 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by trk2 View Post
Big hitter, the jusjoken. Long.
Gunga galunga... gunga, gunga-lagunga
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-20-2021, 12:13 PM
mdnttoker mdnttoker is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 445
Added on Patron. Thanks Ken.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageMC weather update? BigSwifty SageMC Custom Interface 14 04-03-2013 10:19 AM
Weather doesn't update. mike015pgh SageTV Software 3 12-06-2012 06:53 AM
The Weather Channel eliminating free weather data feed iolaus SageTV Software 69 08-26-2012 11:17 AM
Downloaded Google Weather Update, No weather? symgryph SageTV v7 Customizations 3 11-18-2011 08:55 AM
24-Hour Weather Update Only Beaker SageTV Software 6 06-16-2008 04:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.