SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2008, 10:39 PM
olyar15 olyar15 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bowser, BC, Canada
Posts: 240
SageTV media extender review on Extremetech

Extremetech just posted a review of the HD media extender. Having never used this device, I'm not sure how accurate the review is, but they say that you require a placeshifter license to use this device. I thought that placeshifter was to access your sagetv media across the web?

Also, they mention that WMA lossless is not supported. I believe that SageTV itself plays that format fine, since I have many of my CDs ripped in WMA lossless. Again, don't know if that is a limitation of the hardware.

Any comments?

Link:
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...2331054,00.asp
__________________
Charles Lee
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:07 PM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Setup Time: They say setup took several hours. The review was of the extender which does not take several hours unless they are including time to walk the dog and such. They're probably talking about the time to get SageTV set up & configured on their PC. Then the time (20 minutes tops) to plug in SageTV, go through the setup screens and start using the extender.

Lossless: The extender does not support WMA Lossless as the review says. It does support FLAC Lossess though.

Placeshifter License: The extender ships with a license so you don't need a separate one to use it. And as you said, the placeshifter license is totally unrelated (it's like Sling for SageTV) so the reviewer was obviously confused there.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:19 PM
Fluffdaddy Fluffdaddy is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Philly, Pa
Posts: 1,004
Several hours to install Sage's media extender???? What was he smoking?
__________________
We’re doomed. It will never work
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-24-2008, 06:58 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,682
Quote:
* Install a TV tuner, plus SageTV and Placeshifter software on your PC.
* Configure SageTV to work with the TV tuner
* Register the extender with the SageTV server
* Set up Placeshifter so it sees the networked HD extender

All this took several hours, but once done, there's not really a lot of tweaking you need to do
It would appear that he's talking about the full "package" which includes SageTV, so I think several hours is probably a fair and resonable estimate.

Either that or he's factoring the time it takes Vista to boot for the first time on a OEM install
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2008, 07:03 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
* Set up Placeshifter so it sees the networked HD extender
WTF?

Nice to see Sage getting some press, would be nicer if the reviewers had a clue.

Last edited by stanger89; 09-24-2008 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-24-2008, 07:07 AM
Serra's Avatar
Serra Serra is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
Setup Time: They say setup took several hours. The review was of the extender which does not take several hours unless they are including time to walk the dog and such.
It is fairly obvious that the author intended to say "several minutes" and accidentally typed "several hours".

EDIT: 3 of 5 stars? I don't know anyone who doesn't give it 7 out of 5 stars.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-2008, 07:16 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Truth is, what we are seeing with most HD Extender reviews is this. A personthinks they are reviewing the extender, but instead they review the install and setup of SageTV AND the extender as an all-in-one setup.

This is not how they (the big-shop tech blogs) are reviewing VMC extenders so I say its very biased, but that is what we have to deal with here.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2008, 07:44 AM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent View Post
Setup Time: They say setup took several hours. The review was of the extender which does not take several hours unless they are including time to walk the dog and such. They're probably talking about the time to get SageTV set up & configured on their PC. Then the time (20 minutes tops) to plug in SageTV, go through the setup screens and start using the extender.
The article says they are including SageTV setup time. From the article:

Quote:
To summarize, here's what you need to do to get the SageTV HD Media Extender working:

* Install a TV tuner, plus SageTV and Placeshifter software on your PC.
* Configure SageTV to work with the TV tuner
* Register the extender with the SageTV server
* Set up Placeshifter so it sees the networked HD extender

All this took several hours, but once done, there's not really a lot of tweaking you need to do.
Ignoring that step #4 doesn't make sense, it doesn't surprise me that it would take someone a couple hours to do all of that, particularly when they haven't done it before. It would probably take me close to a couple hours to do that. Setup is quite daunting, particularly when any kind digital TV is involved.

But, it is true that this was really a review of SageTV, not just the extender. At least this guy seemed to understand that SageTV and the media extender were more about creating a DVR than streaming downloaded videos. If I remember correctly, the PC Magazine review from a while back missed that entirely.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2008, 08:01 AM
lotusvball's Avatar
lotusvball lotusvball is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 476
My questions is, Where did he get the extender. They haven't been in stock for a while.
__________________
Intel Core Duo 2.5mhz, 2gb RAM
Windows Home Server, Sage 7 beta
2 Hauppauge PVR-250, 1 PVR-500 MCE
1 HDHomeRun
4TB Storage, GB Network
2 MVPs, 1 HD100 & 1 HD300
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2008, 09:01 PM
Steve52 Steve52 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by lotusvball View Post
My questions is, Where did he get the extender. They haven't been in stock for a while.
Yes. I sent an e-mail to sage a few days ago asking about when they were going to have them in stock. The reply was "We hope to have some of them in a month or two". "Hope"? 1 to 2 months is a long time and it sounds like they really are not sure when they will be getting more.
__________________

Central Sage Server Win 10 64 Bit, Two HD200, Three HD300, & One PC Client 21 TB storage. SageTv 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-24-2008, 10:07 PM
reggie14 reggie14 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,760
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve52 View Post
The reply was "We hope to have some of them in a month or two". "Hope"? 1 to 2 months is a long time and it sounds like they really are not sure when they will be getting more.
Actually, what ought to make you concerned is that someone else got the exact same response to that question about 3 weeks earlier.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-25-2008, 02:18 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,142
While I agree that the reviewer was probably meaning to say that it took hours for the whole thing... the firmware update (which you are instructed to do when you first install the extender) does take a while. I think my first one took at least 45 minutes.

But nonetheless, this guy has a lot of errors in his review that could scare away potential buyers. Is there any feedback link that someone could straighten him out (I would think the Sage reps themselves would want to!)? I admittedly did not read the article ().
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-25-2008, 02:43 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,612
There's a small discussion link right above the article.

He's already changed the part about requiring Placeshifter to be installed & configured on the server in order to use the HD extender based on my email to him yesterday. But, I still think there are other issues with the entire review.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:28 PM
jakep_82 jakep_82 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 30
It amuses me that he makes a point of noting that newer Media Center Extenders have gigabit ethernet. He apparently doesn't realize that broadcast HD tops out around 19Mbps. Heck, even 1080p blu-ray with uncompressed audio tops out around 50Mbps.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:29 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
And they don't have GigE do they?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-25-2008, 06:12 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 373
The Microsoft Mediaroom announcement said that the Sigma SMP8654 supported gigabit, but I think that turned out to be wrong.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-26-2008, 06:08 AM
sainswor99's Avatar
sainswor99 sainswor99 is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
There's a small discussion link right above the article.

He's already changed the part about requiring Placeshifter to be installed & configured on the server in order to use the HD extender based on my email to him yesterday. But, I still think there are other issues with the entire review.

- Andy
I added a couple of comments to his discussion chain myself; hopefully others here will do the same.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-26-2008, 09:28 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
I put in my 10 cents worth in the comments also.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-26-2008, 09:39 AM
lobosrul's Avatar
lobosrul lobosrul is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 573
Added some comments myself. We should flood their board (by that I just mean 1 message from everyone not a bunch of spam).

Last edited by lobosrul; 09-26-2008 at 09:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-26-2008, 09:44 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Oh Crap.

DL.TV even had Loyd Case (the reviewer in this article) talk about his review on the DL.TV podcast. Haven't watched it yet, but expecting it to be at least as inaccurate as the review he did....
http://dl.tv/2008/09/dltv_ep_251_our...f_tech_l_1.php
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV+HD Media Extender: 1st Impressions jamma SageTV Media Extender 7 12-20-2007 03:49 PM
SageTV V6.3.1 Beta is Available Narflex SageTV Beta Test Software 1 11-09-2007 05:17 PM
Media Extender support DTV signals? Generalg SageTV Media Extender 8 06-12-2006 06:30 PM
Questions about using Media Extender royphil345 SageTV Media Extender 5 12-23-2005 09:42 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.