SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-20-2021, 01:35 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,043
Nvidia Shield

I am thinking about getting an Nvidia Shield to use for SageTV and other purposes, and I am fine getting a used one off of eBay. I vaguely remember that one of the older versions had functionality that might be preferred, maybe it was IR control. Does that sound familiar to anyone?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-20-2021, 02:36 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,254
That's correct. The original 2015 models are the only ones with built-in IR control. You can buy a USB dongle (FLIRC) for the newer ones that have a USB port.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2021, 02:47 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,043
Is there any downside to teh 2015 models, like an older processor or something else that they lack that the newer models have?
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2021, 03:26 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
Is there any downside to teh 2015 models, like an older processor or something else that they lack that the newer models have?
The newer ones are supposed to have a slightly better CPU even though most users do not even notice it. You can also upscale certain videos.
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2021, 04:43 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,254
The 2019 models also have Dolby Vision support.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2021, 02:48 PM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,319
The 2019 model also has AI upscaling.

It is a minor benefit IMHO. You can see the different between regular upscaling and AI upscaling if you change between them quickly, but I doubt anyone would be able to tell the difference in a blind test.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-22-2021, 03:37 PM
Telecore's Avatar
Telecore Telecore is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 341
I have two 2017's and a 2015 - I think the 2015 has more USB ports but I don't recall the built in IR being much use - and the remotes are not that great for either of them - for a while I used Flircs with all 3 of them, but have since switched to the Logitech Harmony Companion + Hub (bluetooth remote is faster). I read that the 2019's have a slightly better CPU, AI upscaling not worth it, and avoid the tube version of the 2019 - it is 32 bit only.

As a cheaper alternative, the FireTV 4K works extremely well with SageTV. I bought several at $25, a fraction of the Nvidia Shield cost. Menu Navigation is slower on the FireTV due to a slower CPU, but some aspects of video playback are better (in my case) on the FireTV. For some reason, my local NBC station has a decent amount of pixellation or blocking artifacts that pop up on the Nvidia Shield, but they are not present on the FireTV. I am using OpenDCT to remux all tv streams.
__________________
SageTV-V9(64bit): Win10/i3-4370(headless via RD)/OpenDCT/CetonPCIe6/HDHR-Quatro (Frontier FIOS+OTA)
AndroidTV+Miniclient: Nvidia Shield(x3)/FireTV-4K(x8) WMC: Win7/i3-3220(headless)/CetonPCIe6/Xbox360(x4)
Retired: HD-300/Hauppauge QuadHD/HDHR Prime/CetonPCIe4/AvermediaDuet/HD-PVR/USB-UIRT
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miniclient+OTA - firestick looks better than Nvidia Shield? Telecore SageTV Clients Development 10 03-01-2020 05:36 PM
Nvidia Shield on Sale NetworkGuy The SageTV Community 2 08-19-2018 09:43 AM
Comskip and Nvidia Shield benjamintm SageTV Clients Development 9 01-09-2018 03:18 PM
NVidia Shield - non responsive :( stuckless General Discussion 11 08-26-2016 11:15 PM
Nvidia Shield Now can record. nyplayer General Discussion 41 07-07-2016 12:33 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.