SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2011, 08:07 AM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
MKV Subs?

Not sure if this is a SageTV, HD200 or Phoenix issue...

I can't reliably get subtitles to work on my HD200. Sometimes I can get it to work but if I seek in the file they go away. They seem really flaky... Plus, I can't figure out the specific button combination that makes it work in the first place.

This is a file built with MakeMKV from a DVD. I tried taking the MKV into MKVMerge and setting the forced flag and that made no difference.

Is there a sure fire way to making Sage/Phoenix read the subs? Is it better to not have them embedded? If that's the case, I need some direction on how best to handle subs for the future. If that means extracting them, so be it...

Any direction or advice is greatly appreciated. This subtitle stuff is driving me nuts!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-11-2012, 04:45 PM
mauifritz mauifritz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Parttime Maui HI/Germany
Posts: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to mauifritz
mkv subs

Hi,
did you ever solve your problem. I have some mkv files that HD200 does not show the subs that are there, internal and external, idx,sub,srt.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-11-2012, 05:34 PM
trk2 trk2 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 341
Are either of you running Phoenix? I had an issue with Phoenix where I could not select alternate audio tracks in MKVs. I followed the directions in this post to fix the problem. The reason I bring this up is that before I made the menu change, I don't remember being able to select subtitles in MKVs either. Could just be my memory, or it could solve your problem. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-15-2012, 04:03 PM
RocKKer RocKKer is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 191
I don't use MKV just for that reason, I never had good luck with subs using MKV.

I keep mine either DVD or BRD file structure and I have not had a problem.

I think (not sure about this because it's been awhile) you can use tsmuxer GUI to demux the subtitles from the MKV into an srt file. Place that srt file in the same subdirectory as the MKV and SageTV will display.

This method only works for DVD's, BRD use PGP which is a whole different animal. You also may be able to find the srt file using google.

.....might be easier just to re-rip and leave it as a DVD structure.
__________________
SageTV Server v9.0.4, Ubuntu Server 14.04 LTS Trusty Tahr x64, Java 1.8.0_77 - Xeon E5-2670, 16GB, 6X6TB WD Red - Software Raid 6, Antec 300, 2X HDHR3 (OTA), 3X HD-200
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-15-2012, 09:20 PM
wrems's Avatar
wrems wrems is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 1,332
I never did resolve it. I just re-ripped it into native folder structure and then it works. I gave up on getting the MKV with subs to work for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-16-2012, 01:39 AM
mauifritz mauifritz is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Parttime Maui HI/Germany
Posts: 10
Send a message via Skype™ to mauifritz
Hi,
thanks for your input, I gave up and converted the mkv inside SageTv into HD avi and suddenly the external subfiles worked.
Aloha
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SUBs: After text expires, it flashes till next sentence AWS SageTV v7 Customizations 1 07-04-2011 02:48 AM
HD300 - How do turn on forced subs? Oddwunn SageTV HD Theater - Media Player 1 01-02-2011 10:02 AM
Issues with DVD subs in and MKV file... jbuszkie SageTV Beta Test Software 6 08-26-2010 07:30 AM
Do these subs work in latest beta? dvd_maniac SageTV Beta Test Software 2 04-27-2009 09:17 PM
Sage6 Media playback multi audio/subs? No Dshow? justme SageTV Beta Test Software 5 10-20-2006 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.