SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-08-2009, 03:13 AM
Karen0302's Avatar
Karen0302 Karen0302 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 167
Sage Client won't change to DST time

Has anyone got any ideas as to what might be going on?

I have a Sage Server, a Client and a Media Extender. All of them using the latest software and both server and client running on Windows Vista. The server and the media extender both correctly reflect the time change but for some reason the client only shows regular time instead of DST time. The Vista system it is running on handled the time change correctly but the client refuses to.

Any ideas?

Karen
__________________
Intel Pentium 4@2.4 GHz
Gigabyte GA8-IHXP
768 MB RDRAM
NVidia GeForceX 5700
Hauppage WinTV PVR-350
1 TB Hard Drive space
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-08-2009, 10:21 PM
kamikaze2112 kamikaze2112 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 106
updated java, time is still fubar in Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-08-2009, 11:45 PM
joe0628 joe0628 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Mine is wrong too

Sage server reports time 1 hour ahead. Windows has the time correct. Can't disable "Sync System clock with SageTV server" either which I thought was odd.

Java is Version 6 update 12 (previously 11) neither version worked.

Sage version is 6.5.9.204

My Windows version had SP3 Slipstreamed.

Any Ideas yet?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-09-2009, 02:07 AM
phantomfsoc phantomfsoc is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Mississauga, Ont.
Posts: 227
Hey guys,

Ran into this problem too and just found the solution.

In short what I found is that even if you have the the windows patch for DST sometimes it just doesn't work on all machines.

This link has a tool from Microsoft called TZEdit.exe that fixed my machine.

Super easy to use. Just pick your timezone, then edit... and set the right days for DST (eastern is 2nd Sunday of March to 1st Sunday of November)

Then close the program and go update your clock. Took me a few clicks of Update in my windows Clock to finally get the right time but its now set properly.

Also make sure you have the checkbox checked for Daylight Savings in the Windows Clock setting.

How this helps

TZEDIT
__________________
"JUST WHEN YOU THINK YOU GOT IT...... YOU GET A NEW TOY TO START OVER WITH"
AMD xp 2500, 512m DDR, MSI 6600Gt 128, SageTV Client 6.12, Toshiba 34hf83 HDTV
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-09-2009, 08:46 AM
joe0628 joe0628 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks

When I edited my TZ, sure enough the info in it was wrong. Just goes to show, even if you're careful and do everything right, Microsoft will still ruin your evening. =) Makes me wonder if SageTV will let me trade in my windows license for a linux version...

Thanks again for the links to the editor!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-09-2009, 12:35 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
To all those still having issues, did you use the update software that I linked to in the first post??? I had absolutely no time problem this weekend as a result of installing that patch.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-09-2009, 01:10 PM
lovingHDTV's Avatar
lovingHDTV lovingHDTV is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karen0302 View Post
Has anyone got any ideas as to what might be going on?

I have a Sage Server, a Client and a Media Extender. All of them using the latest software and both server and client running on Windows Vista. The server and the media extender both correctly reflect the time change but for some reason the client only shows regular time instead of DST time. The Vista system it is running on handled the time change correctly but the client refuses to.

Any ideas?

Karen
I have the exact same issue. XP is correct, Sage is incorrect.

Anyone find a way to fix this?

thanks
dave
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-09-2009, 04:38 PM
arpotu arpotu is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Ubuntu 8.10 32-bit Time Problems

Well, I've updated Java, the time on the Ubuntu server is correct, the time on my XP workstation is correct, and all time zones are as they should be, but my Unbuntu SageTV server is still an hour behind.

Windows patching won't help me here.

Suggestions?

Arpotu
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-09-2009, 07:02 PM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingHDTV View Post
I have the exact same issue. XP is correct, Sage is incorrect.

Anyone find a way to fix this?

thanks
dave
Is everybody ignoring me!?!?!? Read the first post!!! At least respond that you tried the software I pointed to.
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-09-2009, 07:07 PM
arpotu arpotu is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Is everybody ignoring me!?!?!? Read the first post!!! At least respond that you tried the software I pointed to.
No, but does that patch need to be laid down on the *Client* side or the *Server* side? If you think I'm having a problem on my XP Client, then I'll apply the patch. If you think it'll fix a *server* problem, then I don't think a Windows patch will do my Ubuntu server any good ;-)

Arpotu
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 03-09-2009, 08:27 PM
lovingHDTV's Avatar
lovingHDTV lovingHDTV is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikejaner View Post
Is everybody ignoring me!?!?!? Read the first post!!! At least respond that you tried the software I pointed to.
I looked at the page and did not see anything with respect to DST. All I see is:

Network Administrator
Remote Control
Remote Control Distribution Tool
Intelliadmin Profile Generator

Which one is supposed to address DST?

thanks,
dave
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-10-2009, 06:39 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovingHDTV View Post
I looked at the page and did not see anything with respect to DST. All I see is:

Network Administrator
Remote Control
Remote Control Distribution Tool
Intelliadmin Profile Generator

Which one is supposed to address DST?

thanks,
dave
http://www.intelliadmin.com/blog/200...-daylight.html
They merged it into their network administrator app. I will look for the standalone version in my software folder.


[Update]
They hid it from plain site...
http://www.intelliadmin.com/daylightsavingfix.exe
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-10-2009, 06:42 AM
mikejaner's Avatar
mikejaner mikejaner is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chantilly VA
Posts: 2,087
Send a message via MSN to mikejaner
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpotu View Post
No, but does that patch need to be laid down on the *Client* side or the *Server* side? If you think I'm having a problem on my XP Client, then I'll apply the patch. If you think it'll fix a *server* problem, then I don't think a Windows patch will do my Ubuntu server any good ;-)

Arpotu
Agreed Ubuntu=not the problem. Run the patch on your client.
http://www.intelliadmin.com/daylightsavingfix.exe
__________________
Mike Janer
SageTV HD300 Extender X2
Sage Server: AMD X4 620,2048MB RAM,SageTV 7.x ,2X HDHR Primes, 2x HDHomerun(original). 80GB OS Drive, Video Drives: Local 2TB Drive GB RAID5
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-10-2009, 07:14 AM
lovingHDTV's Avatar
lovingHDTV lovingHDTV is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,019
Just to update. I was able to get mine all fixed simply by running Windows Update. I had not done that in a couple months and something in there fixed the issues.

I did have to reboot to get it to take. This fixed both my server, where the PC was correct, but Sage was off, and my client where the PC was off by 1 hour and sage was off by two hours.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-10-2009, 06:34 PM
arpotu arpotu is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
The NetworkAdministrator install did *NOTHING* to solve the problem. I've now missed 3 days of recording...awesome. The problem is *NOT* on the client side. The time stamp I see is in the SageTV session, NOT the client.

I assume Ubuntu is still a supported OS for SageTV server??? Is there no-one there who has a suggestion for how to fix this on the *Ubuntu* side of things???

If you can't tell, I'm getting pretty frustrated about this. I spent good money for SageTV and the Media Extender, I *CAN'T* use it, and no-one from the vendor seems to care!!

I'm using version 6.4.6, if that helps at all.

PLEASE HELP, I *PAID* FOR IT!!!

Arpotu.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-10-2009, 06:53 PM
Karen0302's Avatar
Karen0302 Karen0302 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 167
I don't know how the properties file works on ubuntu, but I fixed the time problem I had with Sage Client on Vista x64. I located the time_zone property and set it to GMT-4 which caused the client to show the correct time.

Karen
__________________
Intel Pentium 4@2.4 GHz
Gigabyte GA8-IHXP
768 MB RDRAM
NVidia GeForceX 5700
Hauppage WinTV PVR-350
1 TB Hard Drive space
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-10-2009, 08:29 PM
lovingHDTV's Avatar
lovingHDTV lovingHDTV is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by arpotu View Post
The NetworkAdministrator install did *NOTHING* to solve the problem. I've now missed 3 days of recording...awesome. The problem is *NOT* on the client side. The time stamp I see is in the SageTV session, NOT the client.

I assume Ubuntu is still a supported OS for SageTV server??? Is there no-one there who has a suggestion for how to fix this on the *Ubuntu* side of things???

If you can't tell, I'm getting pretty frustrated about this. I spent good money for SageTV and the Media Extender, I *CAN'T* use it, and no-one from the vendor seems to care!!

I'm using version 6.4.6, if that helps at all.

PLEASE HELP, I *PAID* FOR IT!!!

Arpotu.
You should file a ticket with SageTV Support. That is the official way to get support. They have always been very quick to respond to my issues over the years.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-10-2009, 08:35 PM
jp1982 jp1982 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Thank you to phantomfsoc for the link.

After trying that program out, my time problem now seems to be fixed. My situation in case anyone was wondering, is that windows had the correct time after the 2009 spring time change, but SageTV was off by an extra hour.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-22-2009, 02:31 PM
pseudonym's Avatar
pseudonym pseudonym is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Out of Mind
Posts: 143
I'm using SageTV Media Center 6.5.11 on XP. No client, no server installation, just SageTV running as a tray icon.

After DST my XP machine has the correct time displayed but SageTV is still one hour behind.

I used the TZEDIT tool from the Win2k resource kit to inspect. My time zone information is defined correctly in windows, no changes.

In SageTV setup I enabled the option for SageTV to sync the system with SageTV EPG server. This is not something I normally have enabled.

The time in SageTV did not change until I exited SageTV fully and relaunched it. Now SageTV has the correct time displayed. I have again disabled this option, exited SageTV and relaunched it. The time is still correct in SageTV.

Why didn't SageTV pick up the time from my system clock? The machine has been booted several times since the time change, so no excuse of SageTV not being restarted at least once since the time change.

It's all fixed for now. But I missed several recordings because I didn't know to check on SageTV. I have it on my calendar now to inspect SageTV's clock this fall :-(

--pseudonym
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-15-2010, 08:33 PM
hufnagel hufnagel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Union Cty, NJ
Posts: 163
I think it'd be interesting if people posted up if their 'time_zone' value is set in their Sage.Properties file. mine is currently blank but Sage reports as being in "EDT Eastern Standard Time (America/New_York)"
now as of 10 minutes ago Sage was running an hour fast but I dickered around with my clock and got it and sage to agree again. will it stick after a reboot or when the old EST/EDT changeover happens I don't know. I do know I've had issues with time ever since the change to earlier EDT/later EST switching.
__________________
Setup #7.6 Hyper-V (again!)
Hardware: Comcast Basic Digital Cable, (1) HDHR3-CC 20170815 firmware, 36GB "system" drive, 2TB laptop drives, a buttload of archive drives, HP DL380G6 2x X5660 processors (4 cores to VM), 4GB ram
Software: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64, SageTV v9.1.2.662, Java v1.8.0_131, STV 2017052101, HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DST? melluap SageTV Linux 1 04-13-2008 04:56 PM
I'm having some time issues....not DST related setherd SageTV Software 16 11-19-2007 02:47 PM
DST still has my system jacked, need help aedgington SageTV Software 10 03-18-2007 06:57 AM
Anyone else have a DST issue? Peggysis SageTV Linux 4 03-17-2007 07:11 AM
New DST Rules hmca General Discussion 3 02-27-2007 09:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.