SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Clients Development

Notices

SageTV Clients Development This forum is for discussions relating to SageTV Open Source Clients Development.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #241  
Old 02-14-2016, 12:20 PM
cncb cncb is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I honestly don't know. I assume by the question that it is NOT doing the passthrough, correct? I'll do some research to see if IJKPlayer supports audio passthrough.
Yes, everything seems to be decoded to stereo PCM.
__________________
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 02-14-2016, 12:28 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,050
Stuckless,


Ignore my previous comments it appears that it definitely the way OpenDCT is muxing H.264 ts files as it even freezes in Kodi and breaks up.

Everything else plays fine. MPEG2-PS MPEG2-TS and MP4 etc...
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 02-14-2016, 02:03 PM
kklee kklee is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by cncb View Post
Yes, everything seems to be decoded to stereo PCM.
Updated to 1.0RC1.

Same thing here with ijk, everything else seems to be working with ijk except the audio, mostly H.264 recordings as TS files, with comskip.

Exo passes the audio through correctly, but can't seem to handle commercial skips, it keep jumpings back and forth to 1st skip point and beginning of video. It also does something weird to my Shield TV where it kills the audio for good when I exit the mini player while it's skipping around. I have to reboot the Shield TV to get the audio back.
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 02-14-2016, 03:44 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,050
Here is an Image of the mini Client playing OPENDCT H.264 TS created files.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20160214_131756.jpg (346.8 KB, 157 views)
__________________
Windows 10 I3 Dual Core 3.0 Server, SageTV9... OpenDCT with 2 HDHRPrimes and 4 HDHRconnects for a total of 14 Tuners.
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 02-14-2016, 04:53 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyplayer View Post
Here is an Image of the mini Client playing OPENDCT H.264 TS created files.
I would definately have noticed that Your file look good on my phone and ShieldTV.
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 02-14-2016, 05:57 PM
EnterNoEscape's Avatar
EnterNoEscape EnterNoEscape is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 2,491
That's good to see that this is probably only going to be a problem on some devices. I noticed that Comcast does some strange things involving frame ordering and some decoders probably don't like it.
__________________
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 8x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.3.0-rc6 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).
Capture: 1x Ceton InfiniTV 4 (ClearQAM), 2x Ceton InfiniTV 6, 1x BM1000-HDMI, 1x BM3500-HDMI.

Clients: 1x HD300 (Living Room), 1x HD200 (Master Bedroom).
Software: OpenDCT :: WMC Live TV Tuner :: Schedules Direct EPG
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 02-15-2016, 07:39 AM
Bucsfan2008 Bucsfan2008 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29
I appreciate all of the work that has been done so far! I have Amazon Fire TV's first generation all hooked up via ethernet and the IJK player playes everything but does not pass through the audio and converts it to PCM, it also is not deinterlacing 1080i and you get lines from programming. Kodi had the same issue but the created a deinteracer tha uses BOB inverted that fixed the problems with the AFTV and I didn't know if that is a fix that could be implemented.

Also the EXOPLAYER doesn't play any video at all. TS MKV, nothing, Live, backed up to hard drive, nothing.

I am currently using version 7 with a license, should I be using the open source version to correct any of this? I am using Windows 7 Home Premium OS....

Thank you for your help!!
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 02-15-2016, 10:14 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucsfan2008 View Post
I appreciate all of the work that has been done so far! I have Amazon Fire TV's first generation all hooked up via ethernet and the IJK player playes everything but does not pass through the audio and converts it to PCM, it also is not deinterlacing 1080i and you get lines from programming. Kodi had the same issue but the created a deinteracer tha uses BOB inverted that fixed the problems with the AFTV and I didn't know if that is a fix that could be implemented.

Also the EXOPLAYER doesn't play any video at all. TS MKV, nothing, Live, backed up to hard drive, nothing.

I am currently using version 7 with a license, should I be using the open source version to correct any of this? I am using Windows 7 Home Premium OS....

Thank you for your help!!
I don't think that upgrading to v9 is going get it working any better

Odd that ExoPlayer doesn't play anything... since it should at least play the MKV files (assuming they are H264).

IJK player passthrough is not implemented (I'm having a discussing with the maintainer).
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 02-15-2016, 01:13 PM
Bucsfan2008 Bucsfan2008 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I don't think that upgrading to v9 is going get it working any better

Odd that ExoPlayer doesn't play anything... since it should at least play the MKV files (assuming they are H264).

IJK player passthrough is not implemented (I'm having a discussing with the maintainer).
Thank you so much for all of your hard work and quick response!! I will make sure that they are H264 and get back to you. Are you still taking donations?
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 02-15-2016, 01:47 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucsfan2008 View Post
Thank you so much for all of your hard work and quick response!! I will make sure that they are H264 and get back to you. Are you still taking donations?
Thx. The Indiegogo Campaign was setup to remain open, even after the 60 day deadline.
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old 02-16-2016, 08:26 AM
Bucsfan2008 Bucsfan2008 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I don't think that upgrading to v9 is going get it working any better

Odd that ExoPlayer doesn't play anything... since it should at least play the MKV files (assuming they are H264).

IJK player passthrough is not implemented (I'm having a discussing with the maintainer).
I did test a few mkv's that were H264 with ExoPlayer and they don't play, it skips right to the end. Tried backing up and I get nothing except a black screen.
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 02-16-2016, 06:33 PM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
Hi Sean...On my Shield TV with RC1, the video for both MPEG-TS and MPEG-PS play slow motion in IJK, while the audio plays fine. MPEG-PS still freezes in Exo. PS files are from HDHR/Sage V9 and TS are from HDHR/OpenDCT. Wired ethernet. Apologies if this is old news. Thanks again for all you do!!!
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 02-17-2016, 08:39 AM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
Oh wow mpeg2 hw decoding support in ijkplayer! I remember last you mentioned that the developer hadn't enabled it yet, so you guys must have worked something out...

Having audio Passthrough on Nvidia shield will be huge also Nvidia shield has very good hardware Deinterlacing as well, is it possible to add that in? I know Plex and Kodi had to change their code in order to enable Both audio Passthrough and hardware Deinterlacing for the shield.

Once full audio pass through is enabled we can then talk about converting dts/dtshd to AC3 (client side)for those receivers that don't support dts decoding.

Last edited by Gustovier; 02-17-2016 at 08:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 02-17-2016, 09:04 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucsfan2008 View Post
I did test a few mkv's that were H264 with ExoPlayer and they don't play, it skips right to the end. Tried backing up and I get nothing except a black screen.
That is odd. I do know that some MKV/MP4 files will skip to the end, and then start again from the beginning (because the metadata is at the end of the file). So I've seen this happen, but it resets to the beginning by itself. I actually haven't found a MKV that doesn't play, yet. If you want to share a file, I'd be happy to test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyDing View Post
Hi Sean...On my Shield TV with RC1, the video for both MPEG-TS and MPEG-PS play slow motion in IJK, while the audio plays fine. MPEG-PS still freezes in Exo. PS files are from HDHR/Sage V9 and TS are from HDHR/OpenDCT. Wired ethernet. Apologies if this is old news. Thanks again for all you do!!!
I see TS files will sometimes start in slow motion, but usually only lasts a 1 second and then the stream is fine. Maybe you can share a .ts file and I can test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustovier View Post
Oh wow mpeg2 hw decoding support in ijkplayer! I remember last you mentioned that the developer hadn't enabled it yet, so you guys must have worked something out...

Having audio Passthrough on Nvidia shield will be huge also Nvidia shield has very good hardware Deinterlacing as well, is it possible to add that in? I know Plex and Kodi had to change their code in order to enable Both audio Passthrough and hardware Deinterlacing for the shield.

Once full audio pass through is enabled we can then talk about converting dts/dtshd to AC3 (client side)for those receivers that don't support dts decoding.
So, the audio passthrough doesn't look like it's going to be easy. But, in the past, the dev for ijkplayer has usually responded with "this is going to take some effort and I don't have time"... but then then he finds time So maybe he'll find time for this as well. As for mpeg2, after the dev added hardware support for h264 and hevc, I looked at what he did and submitted a patch for mpeg2. Unfortunately, i don't think I have the experise to do the audio passthrough. I have no idea how to enable hardware deinterlacing (wouldn't the hardware decoder do this??)
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 02-17-2016, 10:29 AM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
I see TS files will sometimes start in slow motion, but usually only lasts a 1 second and then the stream is fine. Maybe you can share a .ts file and I can test.
Just wondering if it's something in my encoder settings? vlc shows a lot of streams within each file (video/audio/cc+others). Maybe the extra streams in the encoding(s) are causing the player(s) grief? Presently I only use SageTV extenders, which playback perfectly, so that's what I compare playback to. Here's a couple quick grabs from this morning:
.
.
[https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...e-9738832-0.ts
(101mb)


https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...-9744778-0.mpg
(63mb)
.
.
As always, thanks so much.

Bobby
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #256  
Old 02-17-2016, 05:16 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyDing View Post
Just wondering if it's something in my encoder settings? vlc shows a lot of streams within each file (video/audio/cc+others). Maybe the extra streams in the encoding(s) are causing the player(s) grief? Presently I only use SageTV extenders, which playback perfectly, so that's what I compare playback to. Here's a couple quick grabs from this morning:
.
.
[https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...e-9738832-0.ts
(101mb)


https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...-9744778-0.mpg
(63mb)
.
.
As always, thanks so much.

Bobby
That's interesting... I downloaded both videos, imported them, and I play them both on phone and Shield TV (phone uses software mpeg decoder, but no slo mo on either device)
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 02-17-2016, 07:22 PM
BobbyDing's Avatar
BobbyDing BobbyDing is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central-West Florida
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
That's interesting... I downloaded both videos, imported them, and I play them both on phone and Shield TV (phone uses software mpeg decoder, but no slo mo on either device)
That is interesting. I'm pretty sure the network is OK since it plays HDHR View live TV straight from the tuners (full mpeg2) without issues. It may be time for a factory reset. Thank you Sean.

P.S. I'm currious..... Is Exo the stock ATV player? And is it in the road map to add a tick in the preferences for using an external player?
.
__________________
Athlon II Quad Core 3Ghz, 8GB Ram. 12GB Storage. 3 (x4) HDHR for OTA Across 2 Cities, HD200, 2x HD300.
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 02-17-2016, 08:20 PM
Gustovier Gustovier is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post

So, the audio passthrough doesn't look like it's going to be easy. But, in the past, the dev for ijkplayer has usually responded with "this is going to take some effort and I don't have time"... but then then he finds time So maybe he'll find time for this as well. As for mpeg2, after the dev added hardware support for h264 and hevc, I looked at what he did and submitted a patch for mpeg2. Unfortunately, i don't think I have the experise to do the audio passthrough. I have no idea how to enable hardware deinterlacing (wouldn't the hardware decoder do this??)
I wonder if I can ask the Kodi guys or plex folks how they did it for audio. In the meantime would it be possibly easier to have ijkplayer decode ac3/dts to 5.1 channel PCM and output that. If IJK iS based on ffmpeg I'm thinking this should be possible. Every receiver will then be able to handle the pcm output.
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 02-17-2016, 08:32 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyDing View Post
That is interesting. I'm pretty sure the network is OK since it plays HDHR View live TV straight from the tuners (full mpeg2) without issues. It may be time for a factory reset. Thank you Sean.

P.S. I'm currious..... Is Exo the stock ATV player? And is it in the road map to add a tick in the preferences for using an external player?
.
Exo is Google's player... it's not really stock, but it's a player framework that they have built. It's generally a good player, for a single purpse stream, like youtube, where all the files are encoded the same way. It's more of a challenge here because of the diversity of the video formats. ExoPlayer works quite well for me because all my media is H264 media. I haven't tried your files with ExoPlayer, but on my setup, both ExoPlayer and IJPlayer handle mkvs, mp4s, ts and ps files fairly well. Just IJKPlayer seems a little more reliable.

If by external player, you mean, hand off the playback to another player like xmbc, etc, I doubt that will happen. Those players will require a URL and none of the media that I'm playing is URL based. I've had to add custom datasource to both IJK and Exo for sagetv.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gustovier View Post
I wonder if I can ask the Kodi guys or plex folks how they did it for audio. In the meantime would it be possibly easier to have ijkplayer decode ac3/dts to 5.1 channel PCM and output that. If IJK iS based on ffmpeg I'm thinking this should be possible. Every receiver will then be able to handle the pcm output.
Much of that is well beyond my capabilities... I can "tweak" stuff at the player level, but, to be honest, much of it well beyond my expertise
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 02-18-2016, 07:01 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,146
This question is probably a bit simplistic, but maybe it ought to be - what exactly is the reason that Android is so incapable of successfully playing the array of video file types (and accompanying surround sound audio) in the year 2016?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MiniClient Information Taddeusz SageTV Github Development 5 09-10-2015 11:11 AM
Miniclient? BobbyDing General Discussion 3 09-08-2015 11:53 AM
OSD doesn't work in Linux miniclient 6.6 Grant.Edwards SageTV Linux 1 08-27-2011 04:37 PM
Linux Placeshifter/Miniclient Fails scsever SageTV Linux 1 08-23-2011 10:20 PM
Does miniclient work with SageTV 7? bkbonner SageTV Beta Test Software 1 09-10-2010 12:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.