SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-17-2020, 12:26 PM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 694
Dabby - Streaming Services Integration

It appears the race is on to build a device that integrates all streaming services.

https://www.techhive.com/article/351...ide-is-on.html

https://www.heydabby.com/
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-17-2020, 01:19 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,075
It's almost like people on this forum are 5-10 years ahead of the tech curve.

I have an LG OLED TV which comes with webOS and the "magic remote". I can speak any show or movie name and it pulls up all the various streaming services where it's available (Amazon, Netflix, Google Play, etc.). It doesn't know which you have, but if you have any of them and click on it, it opens the show or movie in that app. A little bit of the same thing discussed here, but not a "guide", more of a smart search. I guess the difference is that it shows you where it's located and opens it; whereas what people dream of is a guide where all the various services you have are hidden within it, and when you pick a show, it just plays it from a service (without telling you which, because you don't care).
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2020, 01:22 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,681
I wonder how much the services will push back and not allow this to happen. From the article it sounds like Netflix is one of the companies pushing back on this idea.

It doesn't mention it but I think Roku does something like this as well.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2020, 01:24 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,681
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
It's almost like people on this forum are 5-10 years ahead of the tech curve.
And some of this was implemented in SageTV many years ago with integration of RecordedTV, ripped content, plus Netflix, Hulu etc via PlayOn.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2020, 06:16 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,075
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
And some of this was implemented in SageTV many years ago with integration of RecordedTV, ripped content, plus Netflix, Hulu etc via PlayOn.
Wait, it was? I know you can combine recorded TV and your other media (ripped movies, etc.) but where, when, and how could you get PlayOn stuff to show up in "listings"? Was that a plugin I missed somehow?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 8.1 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2020, 07:35 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,681
I thought that there was a unified search, but I could be wrong. Certainly after you recorded something with PlayOn it was integrated into Sage.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2020, 06:34 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjpjpjpj View Post
It's almost like people on this forum are 5-10 years ahead of the tech curve.
I think the developers and plugin creators are probably way ahead, yeah. I just stumbled in and rode the light.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-20-2020, 09:06 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,681
To be using devices like extenders was ahead of its time.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-21-2020, 05:31 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,580
I think I'd be happy if an app like plex/emby could allow me to search/browse across services and track what I've watched and have these shows show up in my "unwatched" list and have the ability to "play next".

AndroidTV can do this a little provided the service integrates with android's play next bar.

Services like https://www.justwatch.com/ do a great job in aggregating what is available on all services by country, and Trakt can track what you watch... so there might be hope that someday some service will provide a unified search and watched status. Plex is starting to push in this area with the addition now of streaming it's own tv/movies. I wonder if over time plex will make deals to offer in-plex ability to search/play from different providers.

My bet is that just how "cable" came along and started bundling channels and networks, we'll see someday the online equivalant of that for 150/month you'll pick your bundles and we'll come full circle back to the cable/sat, except with streaming services instead of signals and wires.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-21-2020, 11:21 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by wayner View Post
To be using devices like extenders was ahead of its time.
For sure!

It seems that most providers now have a system that includes "extenders" but back in the day SageTV was certainly alone in this regard. At best you could have multiple DVR boxes provided by your service provider, but there wasn't any way to get recordings from one device to another, and you had a rental fee for each box.

Actually this is the main reason I'm still on cable. I don't rent or pay for a single cable box. I only pay a $2 monthly cable card rental fee and use SageTV and extenders to watch content on all my TVs. I probably save $40-75 a month compared to my neighbors who have to rent boxes for each TV and pay for their DVR service. Obviously I have to pay for the standard service, but not paying box rentals definitely makes it more affordable.
__________________
i5 quad core server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-100 HD Extenders
HD-300 HD Extenders
Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-22-2020, 05:26 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post
I don't rent or pay for a single cable box. I only pay a $2 monthly cable card rental fee and use SageTV and extenders to watch content on all my TVs.
I wish it was that easy with Comcast. They REQUIRE you to have at least one cable box. Typical monthly fee:

$5.00 Cable Box
$9.50 2 Cablecards
$11.90 Broadcast TV Fee
$8.75 Regional Sports Fee

For a grand total of $35.55 on top of your monthly subscription fee.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-22-2020, 08:33 AM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I wish it was that easy with Comcast. They REQUIRE you to have at least one cable box. Typical monthly fee:

$5.00 Cable Box
$9.50 2 Cablecards
$11.90 Broadcast TV Fee
$8.75 Regional Sports Fee

For a grand total of $35.55 on top of your monthly subscription fee.
Yeah, we all pay that (except I don't need a cable box). The thing that's frustrating is that the costs they advertise don't include one penny of those costs you mention, so they always appear competitive, until you get the first bill.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-23-2020, 05:16 AM
NetworkGuy NetworkGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
Yeah, we all pay that (except I don't need a cable box). The thing that's frustrating is that the costs they advertise don't include one penny of those costs you mention, so they always appear competitive, until you get the first bill.
I have been playing with OTA so I can drop their cable TV, but have not found an antenna that will pull in all the channels unless I want to have it mounted on the roof.
__________________
Server: Intel Core i5-3330 CPU @3.00GHz; 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3-12800 DDR3 1600MHz; 3-1TB WD Blue SATA 6.0Gb/s 64 MB Cache 7200RPM HDD; Windows 7; SageTV 9
Tuner: (2) HDHomeRun Prime
Client: HD300; Onkyo TX-SR607; Sony XBR-65X850D
Client: HD300; Samsung UN46B7000
Client: Nexus Player / Mini-Client; Sony KDL-32L4000
Client: SageTV Placeshifter 7
Client: SageTV Client 9
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-23-2020, 04:56 PM
farscapesg1 farscapesg1 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 202
Interesting. Caavo does some similar integration (Netflix, Amazon, Plex, etc.) but not as far reaching as Dabby is suggesting.

Unfortunately... I'm too old The big reason I bought a Caavo wasn't for integration but for a single remote. When I sit down to watch TV, the last thing I want to to have to grab a tablet/phone/etc. to control what I watch. There's a special place in my heart and a warm feeling I get sitting back in my recliner with a remote in my hand, LOL. Not to mention, with two kids in the house that love to watch Youtube and Netflix.. it wouldn't be a week before I found that tablet in the bathroom (I've already had to make them "no laptop" zones).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-23-2020, 06:39 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I have been playing with OTA so I can drop their cable TV, but have not found an antenna that will pull in all the channels unless I want to have it mounted on the roof.
SHS keeps pointing us towards those Clearstream antennas. I may have to get one of those and try it in the attic. The one I have in the attic right now pulls in channels okay, as long as the weather is just right. Well, that and I couldn't resist the Chinese name they branded it with:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0748KYTZN/
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-24-2020, 06:00 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
SHS keeps pointing us towards those Clearstream antennas. I may have to get one of those and try it in the attic. The one I have in the attic right now pulls in channels okay, as long as the weather is just right. Well, that and I couldn't resist the Chinese name they branded it with:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0748KYTZN/
HaHa very funny
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-25-2020, 01:08 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 3,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetworkGuy View Post
I wish it was that easy with Comcast. They REQUIRE you to have at least one cable box. Typical monthly fee:

$5.00 Cable Box
$9.50 2 Cablecards
$11.90 Broadcast TV Fee
$8.75 Regional Sports Fee

For a grand total of $35.55 on top of your monthly subscription fee.
I called my Cox folks this week and asked they explain the ‘regional’ Sports fee of $9. They couldn’t. All i asked was “which channel triggers the charge”. They couldn’t even tell me that. Complete and utter cash-grab.
__________________
Sage 7 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 2 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - Seagate/Hitachi Deskstar - HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200 networked. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV and Streaming Services NetworkGuy General Discussion 40 08-21-2019 09:32 AM
recording from streaming services (Hulu etc.) tvmaster2 SageTV Software 23 04-27-2019 06:08 AM
Streaming Services Recreating Cable TV NetworkGuy General Discussion 0 08-17-2018 01:45 PM
Android and streaming media services (on the rise) stuckless General Discussion 0 04-22-2010 01:28 PM
TV Users Demand Improved UIs and Web Services Integration lotusvball General Discussion 0 02-05-2010 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.