SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2005, 03:52 PM
buzzerbee's Avatar
buzzerbee buzzerbee is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 201
is it better to... (re-encode for DVD?)

1) encode at say 2 hrs of video / DVD with no further compression after the fact or encode at some really high setting like a constant 8000000 (or something like 1 hr / DVD) and then use DVD author & DVD shrink and make it compliant for burning?

I will be recording 7 one-hour episodes- using 4 discs leaves about 2.17 GB /file; 3 discs would be about 1.8/file. Can you tell the difference in those quality levels?

I'm just hoping to not recreate the wheel, when you guys are so much saavy about this stuff than me.. hey I didn't even know what VBR and CBR meant 2 days ago!

Right now, the TV isn't so hot but maybe one day I'll have a better setup.

Sorry to keep rehashing all this. I will quietly go away next week after I get this done!
Thanks
__________________
---------------
The Antec = AMD Barton 2500+, 1 GB RAM, Epox 8rda+, WinXP Pro, PVR-250, ATI Radeon 9600XT, SageTV 2.2.8
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-23-2005, 03:59 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzerbee
1) encode at say 2 hrs of video / DVD with no further compression after the fact or encode at some really high setting like a constant 8000000 (or something like 1 hr / DVD) and then use DVD author & DVD shrink and make it compliant for burning?
I'm not sure, if you were truely re-encoding I'd say going really high (like MPEG2 Max Quality) and then recompressing would be the way to go, since the re-compressor can take it's time and do a really good job (ie like Digital cable can get by with 2Mbps where it takes the 250 about 6Mbps). However DVDShrink doesn't really re-encode, it just uses the already compressed file and pars it down.

Quote:
I will be recording 7 one-hour episodes- using 4 discs leaves about 2.17 GB /file; 3 discs would be about 1.8/file. Can you tell the difference in those quality levels?
IIRC the 1.8GB/Hour DVD quality gave pretty good quality, especially if you have a clean source. There probably wouldn't be that much difference between 2.17 and 1.8.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-23-2005, 04:24 PM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
What DVDShrink does is called Transcoding. This is exactly what the Satellite company does.
If you truly want to re-encode something then you are better off using Cinema Craft Encoder (or CCE for short) or TMPGenc.

I found this on Doom9 forum

Quote:
Real transcoders reuse much of the information that was collected during the original encoding -- for example the bit allocation that is normally determined during the first pass of a conventional VBR encode can be simply reused and adjusted when transcoding. Other time consuming actions like motion vector computations, scene change detection, and organizing GOP structures can also be copied from the original.
Either way would take time and CPU cycles without giving you any quality benefit. I would figure out what bitrate to use first, and lower it a little for a safegaurd.

Also, IMHO, I wouldn't burn a disc over 4.1GB either. Sometimes they become unreadable on the edges after a while. Even with high quality blanks...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-23-2005, 05:11 PM
buzzerbee's Avatar
buzzerbee buzzerbee is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 201
ok, maybe I'll just go for the middle 2gb/hr.. I don't think I can tell the difference unless I see massive pixelation in compressed movies, but I've skimped on things in the past then regretted it much later when I decide I want it.
Thanks for the help everyone!
__________________
---------------
The Antec = AMD Barton 2500+, 1 GB RAM, Epox 8rda+, WinXP Pro, PVR-250, ATI Radeon 9600XT, SageTV 2.2.8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-23-2005, 05:47 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,595
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzerbee
I will quietly go away next week after I get this done!
Wait a minute... once you figure it out and know what you're doing, you are supposed to stick around to help the next person who wants to know how to do it.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-23-2005, 06:40 PM
buzzerbee's Avatar
buzzerbee buzzerbee is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4
Wait a minute... once you figure it out and know what you're doing, you are supposed to stick around to help the next person who wants to know how to do it.

- Andy
hehe- you got me there! I guess you're right!

but we're making a big assumption that I'll know what I"m doing!! Actually after this marathon weekend and safe backup to DVD, I'm going to install my first STV.. so I may not be too quiet!
__________________
---------------
The Antec = AMD Barton 2500+, 1 GB RAM, Epox 8rda+, WinXP Pro, PVR-250, ATI Radeon 9600XT, SageTV 2.2.8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-23-2005, 07:26 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
From experience, using a slow high quality reencode can really shrink down large MPEG-2 files with minimal impact on quality.. but be prepared for your computer to be busy for a long time. Overnight is generally a good time to do a reencode.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2005, 09:11 PM
buzzerbee's Avatar
buzzerbee buzzerbee is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 201
I had recorded shows in about 6-8 various settings and just got done viewing them. I've settled on GREAT as a minimum setting. I think it's better to record high and then figure out what to do. I don't mind reencoding overnight. I'll look into CCE & TMPGenc.
__________________
---------------
The Antec = AMD Barton 2500+, 1 GB RAM, Epox 8rda+, WinXP Pro, PVR-250, ATI Radeon 9600XT, SageTV 2.2.8
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-24-2005, 07:54 AM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
think it's better to record high and then figure out what to do
Buzz,
what is it that you want to accomplish? Do you plan on archiving shows to DVD?

A rule of thumb for capturing is to try to get it to the right size the first time. Capturing to high quality mpeg-2 and shrinking to a lower bitrate will cause some quality degradation and also just wastes time.

Reencoding an mpeg-2 2hr movie in CCE or TMPGenc using good settings (4-5 pass) could take more than overnight on some computers. And unless you know how to use filters and settings the quality will not be as good as if you just recorded it to the resulting bitrate anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:03 AM
glbrown's Avatar
glbrown glbrown is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 309
Set the quality to great and just copy the data file to dvd. 90%+ of the movies I have archived fit with no fuss, just a raw copy. My external 4x Plextor copies about 2 hours of content in 15 minutes. They play in sage just fine. I can always spend the time to author a dvd if I need to but why spend the time up front. It's just SDTV.

A 4x DVD-RW+ is 60 cents. Make a mistake and just re-write it. don't want that show anymore, re-write it.

I modified the play DVD button in my STV play both sage and regular dvds seemlessly. My archive function even creates the xml EPG data file that stays with the copy and sage can read it when you play the sage dvd.

The next step is to write a script to read the video directories, write the batch files, and call the CLI in Copy2DVD. Start it up and all you have to do is number the dvd when the tray pops out and stick in a new cookie. The show info for that number dvd on the drive ready to import into MovieLib or create a label or whatever.

it aint prefect but it works for me

-gary-
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:32 AM
buzzerbee's Avatar
buzzerbee buzzerbee is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 201
@dvd_maniac- this is my goal:
record 5 episodes Sat and more to come over the weeks - total 14 I think. I guess 2 or 3 eposides / DVD is the plan. Probably 2 is better. I don't actually ever watch on sage. For most shows, I do burn and erase & I'm not picky. But for these, I want to archive them. So I was wondering if it's better to record on Best then shrink the resulting DVD or just go with Great/DVD_ELP/DVD_LP from the start.

@glbrown -
You say write a script like it's so easy!! I never have and prob never will! Modifying apps is also not something I'd know how to do.

I tried the mpeg2max quality but TMGDVD author rejected it becaise it's 12kbps and the max it accepts w/o errors is 9.6

I won't even open up the can of worms about audio settings ...
__________________
---------------
The Antec = AMD Barton 2500+, 1 GB RAM, Epox 8rda+, WinXP Pro, PVR-250, ATI Radeon 9600XT, SageTV 2.2.8

Last edited by buzzerbee; 03-24-2005 at 10:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-24-2005, 01:51 PM
dvd_maniac's Avatar
dvd_maniac dvd_maniac is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: New England
Posts: 1,899
I would record to the size you ultimately want it to be and do not shrink.
Unless you know alot about encoding with filters, and this would only be if your source was screwed up to begin with. Use VBR to keep file size down if you want and record with a lower setting.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.