SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2007, 12:29 PM
ron.smythe ron.smythe is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Chessington, UK.
Posts: 92
USB UIRT intermittently stops working till a full system reboot

I'm starting to get really annoyed at this, and it now seems to be happening more and more. I have a usbuirt split into 2 channels, and since I installed Sage 6, and the updates that followed, sage 'loses' the ability to change channel, it's like it can't even see the USB uirt any more. To resolve I have to do a full system boot, which is quite annoying. Has anyone come across this problem before and managed to resolve it. I know the usb subsystem is responding as there are hard drives and a couple of USB-PVR2's attached to it.

Any help would be appreciated!

Ron
__________________
* Central Server: Windows 2003 R2 x64 (Virtualised) | Quad CPU | 4096 MB ram | StorageTek Array | 30TB Storage
* Encoder 1: HP Micro server | Windows 2003 x32 | Dual CPU | 4096 MB ram | 1x Hauppauge PVR 500 | 1x HDPVR
* Encoder 2 HP Micro server | Windows 2003 x32 | Dual CPU | 4096MB ram | 1x Hauppauge PVR 250 (VCR) | 1x Hauppauge Nova-T 500
* 2x Hauppage HD2000 | 2x SageTV Client |SageTV 7.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2007, 08:51 PM
kiromo kiromo is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Columbia, MO
Posts: 1
You are not alone. I am having the same problem. My USB-UIRT is also split into two channels. It worked well initially, but it is losing its ability to change channels much more frequently. I did discover that disabling and re-enabling the USB-UIRT device in device manager caused it to start working again.

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-15-2007, 09:54 AM
bhyman1 bhyman1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 347
I'm having the same issue. I find that unplugging it and plugging it back in makes ot work again.

This getting quite annoying however.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-19-2007, 09:55 AM
soulprops77's Avatar
soulprops77 soulprops77 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 186
I'm suddenly having the same problem. Did anyone get anywhere with this?

Thanks,
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2007, 02:25 PM
bhyman1 bhyman1 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 347
When I updated to the latest release version of Sage the problem went away.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-19-2007, 05:08 PM
akenis akenis is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 135
Had the problem last week. Another hint was that if you're running in service mode to use login as a specific user instead of as system. USBUIRT works great since changing that and latest version of Sage.
__________________
Sage server in service mode..2 MVPs both w/ MCE
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2007, 12:31 PM
soulprops77's Avatar
soulprops77 soulprops77 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 186
I think my issue turned out to be my DIY emitter. I got rid of the emitter and found a spot for the USB UIRT so that I didn't need it and things seem to be okay for the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2007, 01:01 PM
HawgGuy's Avatar
HawgGuy HawgGuy is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: west texas
Posts: 513
I had the same problem when using a long USB extender cable. I switched to a shorter one and the problem went away.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-20-2007, 06:34 PM
jsonnabend jsonnabend is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 301
I had a similar problem, although I'm running Girder along with Sage. I reinstalled the USB-UIRT driver, and that fixed the problem.

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-16-2008, 10:54 PM
jprine01 jprine01 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 93
Ok this is a super old thread but it exactly describes my problem.

I have been using comcast hd box with usb-uirt (seperate location/setup from my R5000 stuff if you remember my name). Worked without any problems for 2 months strait, all the sudden it stops changing channels and we have to delete several days of recordings. Everything looked ok so I just restarted and the everything was fine.

Well that was last weekend, and now less then a week later it stops changing channels again. This time before i reboot i restart sage service, which doesnt do anything, look in device manager and usb-uirt is still listed under usb devices (I didnt try to disable, I just found this thread). Under the sagetv-setup video sources-hd box-channel changing device all the usb-uirt settings are missing or messed up (null, -1 etc). So I restart, and now everything is fine again.

I dont have any usb extension cables, and I'm using a emitter that came with a tivo box. Any ideas?

USB-UIRT's ever go bad? Or could it be something with my computer?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-10-2008, 10:02 PM
jprine01 jprine01 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 93
It took 25days but my usb-uirt stopped functioning again. Lost only 10 recordings this time ..
I've reinstalled the driver, I guess i could try a different emitter. At least I was able to get it working by unplugging and restarting the service.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-10-2008, 11:12 PM
TechBill's Avatar
TechBill TechBill is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 827
If you search my name you will find a post that I had the exact same problem that it would just stop working weekly and I am had to reboot the machine to get UIRT working again.

There been no answer or a way to resolve my problem since I posted over a month ago or so.

Since I now have Direct TV again and started using usb serial changer so I don't have to use URIT anymore the problem still came back so it tell me SageTV is killing USB ports for some reason that I would have to remove the USB driver and let XP reinstall the usb driver it then it would work again.

I run my SageTV in service mode and I think it stopped doing this when I disable the "Enable Service Recovery" in SageTV Service Control and it been more than 2 week so far usb serial have not died on me yet.

Hopefully that what fixes it for me.

Bill
__________________
HTPC System
GIGABYTE GA-MA69GM-S2H AM2 AMD 690G HDMI // AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz // G.SKILL 6GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Hauppauge Colossus HD-PVR // Seagate ST3750640AS 750GB SATA-300 16MB // DVD R/W - SAMSUNG Black
Media Extenders
HD300
HTPC Software
Windows 7 Professional 64bits // SageTV 7.1.x // Java 1.7.x
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-11-2008, 08:30 AM
mskitty666 mskitty666 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Virginia USA
Posts: 116
I have had this happen on occasion as well. I just figured it was a normal pc problem. My SageTV server is always running and I had just assumed this was it's way of asking me to reboot. Does anyone know what exactly causes this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-11-2008, 01:01 PM
CollinR CollinR is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,305
Watch your cable routing both the USB and the emitter cables. Avoid sources of interference whenever possible.

I have had this get me every time I have moved crap around in my rack, but if you take your time to can totally eliminate it.

Power supplies seem ti get me more often then not as my amp/changer and the 4U cases have theirs on opposing sides so I have to go kinda side to side to stay in the clear.

The emitter cables can cause it too they are not that unlike an antenna that has been woven through and around electrical components.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-11-2009, 09:17 AM
disco340 disco340 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
Not sure if this problem has been resolved so I figured I would check. I just strarted using USB-UIRT for over 2 months now with no problems. Since tuesday ive had to unplug the usb cable then plug it back in then stop and restart the sage service at least once every other day. Verry bizzare.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-12-2009, 06:52 AM
jimbo67 jimbo67 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seneca, SC
Posts: 53
Fix for USB Uirt

I had the same problem, it is cause by EMF and is a rather random occurrence.

The solution is to put a ferrite ring on the emitter wire.

I just took an old USB cable and used the ferrite module. Drilled a hole where the old wire was and looped the emitter wire through the hole.

Have no had a problem in 3 months, and it use to occur 1-3 times a week
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-12-2009, 07:20 AM
jsonnabend jsonnabend is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 301
Radioshack also sells ferrite beads, 2 for 3 bucks at my local store.

- Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-13-2009, 08:54 PM
disco340 disco340 is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 60
Thanks for the tips. I will give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-31-2009, 03:02 PM
mbowling mbowling is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cascade Mountains of Oregon
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo67 View Post
I had the same problem, it is cause by EMF and is a rather random occurrence.
I have also been experiencing this problem for a few days. At times, the channel would not change on the SageTV server or PC client. I had recently rerouted some wires behind my computer desk near the SageTV server. Apparently, the USB UIRT emitter wires were too close to other wires and were picking up interference. I rerouted the USB UIRT emitter wires away from the mess of wires behind my desk and the channels are changing normally again. I'm glad I found this thread!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q: How to set the system to automatically reboot every 24 hrs? laurenglenn SageTV Linux 15 04-09-2006 07:04 AM
Successful SageTV Install on Via Epia System with Hauppauge 350 gazer Hardware Support 0 03-23-2006 01:48 PM
Old, slow system works; New, fast system stumbles SteveP Hardware Support 8 01-22-2006 10:29 PM
Usb Uirt doesn´t work in Sagetv Service mode in V4 Nadim Hardware Support 3 12-08-2005 12:32 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.